We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“restful relaxing comfortable cozy quiet clean friendly accomodating”
Review of Northwood Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocean City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Northwood Inn
Ranked #2 of 20 Ocean City B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed in the Magnolia (again) our favorite room. Jacuzzi tub, cozy bed. Breakfast was excellent as always. The Inn is always so quiet you could nap all day if you want to. Great place to cuddle, read, watch movies. Twinings Tea, fridg, ice bucket, ice. Towels, bikes, and of course Coakley!
Get away from it ALLLLL, go here.
Marj & John will help you with anything you need, but also have the grace to allow you a quiet weekend get away if you are just there to be alone with your spouse. We have been going here since appx 1992 & you just cant beat it in Ocean City. Every restaurant they ever suggested has been awesome.

Room Tip: Rose Room has great light Magnolia has Jacuzzi tub Tower Suite has deep jacuzzi tub The smaller r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gpsjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

John and Marj are wonderful hosts! The comfortable room and peaceful ambiance gave us the perfect relaxing getaway:) The food was incredibly delectable! It feels like you are in your own beach home as you have everything you need at your fingertips. My husband and I loved watching a movie by the fireplace, rocking in the chairs on the porch as well as taking a morning bike ride:)

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beachloversusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cosmo1234, Owner at Northwood Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thanks so much for visiting! Looking forward to seeing you again. Coakley too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We were taken extra good care of... with wonderful breakfasts and other extra, since we were the only guests. Very nice people who run a very professional operation and foster a warm environment. They were helpful in orienting us to some of our interests (food and nature) in the area.

Room Tip: Rose room was large and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

We were the only guests in the dead of winter to this shore Inn. It was lovely, clean and quiet. The breakfast was wonderful. A few too many decorations around, we couldn't play pool and it is not my style but it is a Victorian! Rose room was large and bright. Nice location near ocean and between forsyth wildlife refuge where we saw a snowy owl and much more, and Cape May.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank PhillyRobyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I spent 4 days at Northwood Inn and felt like I was visiting family with the owners, Marj and John Loeper. The room was very clean and comfortable: big bed with soft sheets and a cozy blanket, jacuzzi big enough to actually feel like I was in hot springs without the sulfur scent ;) and plenty of quality of towels. Id wake up to church bells, fall asleep to ocean waves and gentle breezes outside my window. I went in December and had the pleasure of lounging around by the fireplace. Amazing food, very nourishing- John is a great cook!! I played a round of pool on a rainy day and had a library of books and puzzles to choose from. The inn is located 2 blocks from the beach which I adore! Plenty of parking and quick access to everything on the island mid-town. I will book a room here again for sure. I left feeling rejuvenated, calm, and ready. I highly recommend this Inn. Plenty of well-sized winsome rooms, hot tub on the top floor, a seating area filled with the most beautiful orchids, and the energy of a place you are sad to leave!

Room Tip: Call in avance to book your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 360grivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We have stayed in a variety of B and B's over the years. The Northwood was one of the better ones. The room was large, clean and comfortable. Actually, we were upgraded to that room since the inn wasn't full. We looked at the room we would have stayed in and that also looked clean and comfortable. Bikes were available for us to use whenever and we enjoyed riding on the boardwalk. The hottub was perfect both evenings. The breakfasts were very good. We tend to get up a little earlier than they were ready but we walked to the boardwalk until breakfast was ready. The boardwalk was about four blocks east and the Northwood is two blocks north of many of the boardwalk sites but the distance wasn't too far to be bothersome. We have already talked about going back next year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lets_Go72008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

My wife and I spent a weekend here this month and had a great time. The room was clean and very comfortable. The owners (John and Marj) were pleasant and very helpful. Even though the B&B was full for the weekend, we found our room to be very quiet. The breakfasts included fruit, juices, coffee / tea, homemade muffins, and a great entree. We had crustless quiche and orange croissant french toast. The trip was worth it just to pick up the recipe book of the breakfasts made here! They had a stable of bikes to borrow which we used on the boardwalk each morning. The hotel is several blocks to the beach but not so far as to be a nuisance. It was a short walk to the shopping district downtown. We'd be happy to go again!

Room Tip: Check out the prices on the rooms; they vary quite a bit depending on size and amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.2 mi away
Atlantis Inn Luxury B&B
Atlantis Inn Luxury B&B
#1 of 20 in Ocean City
284 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bayberry Inn - Ocean City
Bayberry Inn - Ocean City
#3 of 20 in Ocean City
115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean City Mansion
Ocean City Mansion
#8 of 20 in Ocean City
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#3 of 31 in Ocean City
365 reviews
0.6 mi away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#9 of 31 in Ocean City
248 reviews
0.5 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#5 of 31 in Ocean City
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northwood Inn

Address: 401 Wesley Ave, Ocean City, NJ 08226-3961
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean City
Price Range: £98 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificently restored Victorian has 19th century charm and 21st??? century comforts including all private baths (two with Jacuzzis for two),??? central air-conditioning, complimentary beach tags, bicycles and roof top whirlpool spa. The Inn is conveniently located 3 blocks from the beach, boardwalk, shops and restaurants. 30 miles north of Cape May and 8 miles south of Atlantic City. Bountiful breakfasts, cool porches and Carolina rockers. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing