We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another wonderful stay!”
Review of Northwood Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocean City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Northwood Inn
Ranked #2 of 20 Ocean City B&B and Inns
New Castle, Delaware
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Another wonderful stay!”
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We've been visiting the Northwood for years and just had another great stay. We've stayed in several of the lovely and comfortable rooms/suites over the years. This time we stayed again in the Rose Room. Very comfy bed. Marj and John are great hosts! Great breakfasts, whether it's the full breakfast on the weekend or the continental breakfast on the weekday. Love the fresh baked goods. The Northwood has the best location -- a nice walk to the boardwalk and beach, but a few blocks away from the noise of the first amusement park. Another plus is the wonderful massages and therapeutic treatments you can book in the Body Balance Day Spa - right downstairs. Love, love the Northwood!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jakoczak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
103
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coronado, California
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2010

The Northwood Inn is one of those lovely jewels that was saved from the wrecking ball and restored to its original ambiance. The owners have created a beautiful opportunity to experience life in Ocean City in the 1890's complete with all the furnishings and amenities. Owner's Marj and John Loeper make you feel at home and are a bottomless pit of local history and information. There is plenty of room to spread out on the main floor where you can read a good book from their library or shoot some pool or just plain relax. The rooms are well maintained and clean and the freshly baked pastries accompanying breakfast are more than ample to get you started for the day. I've stayed here many times over the past 15 years on vacation and am happy to have found this beautiful gem. If you go you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDCWRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2010

This was our first time staying at Northwood. We stayed in the Magnolia suite with a jacuzzi tub which worked perfectly. The room was extremely clean and there were plenty of towels (which is always nice) The location is great it's only four blocks from the boardwalk which can be walked to or ridden by using one of the many bikes they have in their fleet (free of charge) We flew down so we were unable to bring any beach chairs and the Innkeeper was nice enough to let us use hers for the weekend. Ocean City itself is a wonderful place it is clean and family friendly. It is a dry town which in my opinion is nice because you don't have to worry about people being drunk and crazy when your walking the boardwalk with your family. Overall the trip was wonderful. We will defiantly be back.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rconigliaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dillsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2010

We have been staying in the O.C. NJ for the past 10 years. Of those, we have settled into the Northwood Inn for the last 5. John, Marj and Harry are fantastic. From the personal attention, the beautiful rooms, the delicious breakfasts and the advice from John all the way to visits from Harry, there's not a more relaxing place on the island!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chuckjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philly
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

We had a wonderful weekend in Ocean City, NJ thanks to the Northwood Inn Bed and Breakfast. Weekend breakfast was delicious. The rooms were tidy, clean and comfortable. The Inn Keepers were hospitable and knowledgable. I would highly recommened this B & B to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gallagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford Lakes, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2010

I agree with both the poor comments and the excellent comments (more of the excellent). The first time we stayed I expected when checking into a bed and breakfast that we would get a great unique breakfast, but it is just light muffins unless you stay the weekend, then you get breakfast! However, I am somewhat happy about that because of all the great places to get breakfast in Ocean City like Uncle Bill’s Pancakes, McMillan’s, etc. The rooms are very clean and well maintained. In the past we have stayed in the room without the adjoining bathroom, making for two (2) embarrassing moments, we now stay in the rooms with attached bathrooms. Overall, we will continue to stay there each year, and really do enjoy spending time with Marj and John. They are friendly and warm people who work very hard to make your stay nice. I have high standards and have traveled a lot, and I am very pleased with this bed and breakfast and will continue to stay for hopefully many years to come!

Also, I like that there are not any children, I’m not sure if they don’t take families or if that was a coincidence, but it is a nice touch and keeps things quiet, relaxing, and romantic!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristenanddean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2010

Me and my fiancee enjoyed this wonderful place during the Memorial Day weekend. Marj and John were extremely friendly-they were able to accomodate a place for us even on a short notice- the place was exceptionally clean and wonderful. The room we stayed was nicely decorated. In short words-otherwise I might keep going on and on how wonderful this place is- Northwood Inn is the place to stay in Ocean City. We will visit Marj and John very soon!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elifemrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.4 mi away
Ocean 7
Ocean 7
#4 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.4 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#12 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
1.2 mi away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#3 of 32 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Atlantis Inn Luxury B&B
Atlantis Inn Luxury B&B
#1 of 20 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bayberry Inn - Ocean City
Bayberry Inn - Ocean City
#4 of 20 in Ocean City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.4 mi away
Scarborough Inn
Scarborough Inn
#5 of 20 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northwood Inn

Property: Northwood Inn
Address: 401 Wesley Ave, Ocean City, NJ 08226-3961
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificently restored Victorian has 19th century charm and 21st??? century comforts including all private baths (two with Jacuzzis for two),??? central air-conditioning, complimentary beach tags, bicycles and roof top whirlpool spa. The Inn is conveniently located 3 blocks from the beach, boardwalk, shops and restaurants. 30 miles north of Cape May and 8 miles south of Atlantic City. Bountiful breakfasts, cool porches and Carolina rockers. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing