We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful! Exceeded my expectations.”
Review of Northwood Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocean City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Northwood Inn
Ranked #3 of 20 Ocean City B&B and Inns
Harrisburg, PA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful! Exceeded my expectations.”
Reviewed 25 June 2007

I just returned from a weekend at the NORTHWOOD INN
Bed & Breakfast. What a wonderful place. I typically prefer B&B's because they offer more personal service and charm. This one was excellent! The daily breakfast was out of this world and the owners/staff were helpful and welcoming. Also, the facility was very clean and convenient. I would highly recommend it.

p.s. Livia & Ed ... thanks again for the great restaurant suggestion! Marj & John ... we had a wonderful time.

  • Liked — The great homemade breakfasts.
  • Disliked — Very little; the 4 block walk to the beach.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RayJayGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
107
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2006

The Northwood has been my home at the Beach for nine years. It is wonderful. I come from a big family, and we have vacationed in Ocean City for over 20 years. I watched this property being renovated and admired its results. So, when the family grew too big for the beach house, I decided to book a room for the week at the Northwood. That was 1999 and I've been back ever since. It is a wonderful way to stay in Ocean City. As a matter of fact, I often come throughout the year, dropping family members at the casinos in Atlantic City. It's only 20 minutes from the slots, but I like this atmosphere much better. The rooms are spotless, beautiful and comfortable. I just love sitting on the porch in the mornings, and coming home at night to the twinkling, welcoming lights. Marj and John are wonderful people, and they open their homes and hearts to visitors. I'd like to get down sometime for the New Year's Eve festivities, and I have already booked my room for two weeks in 2007. Stay at the Northwood ... with Marj and John ... you will love it.

  • Liked — cleanliness, comfortable
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbertsville, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2006

The Northwood Inn has been our favorite getaway for over 10 years! We love the charming decor, impeccably clean rooms and nice variety of amenities. Marj & John Loeper are wonderful innkeepers, and offer lots of great suggestions for restaurants and current activities in the Ocean City / Atlantic City areas - they'll even help you get reservations! The delicious breakfasts and Marj & John's warm hospitality will keep us coming back again and again!

Helpful?
1 Thank BAMoyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsburg,PA
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2006

We have stayed at the Northwood Inn every year for about 10 years now. My husband & I take a quiet 3-4 day weekend & recharge our "romantic side" of life. The Inn is beautifu, quiet, private, clean & extremely accomodating. Marj & John are as friendly & helpful as ever. but also give you complete privacy!
They go out of their way to be available to answer questions about local eateries, attractions etc. They have a long history in the area & know it all! The rooms are just incredible, fresh smelling, clean & quiet. Any little extra you need is there, from DVDs,wine bucket,bicycles,local menus etc! The breakfasts are varied, clever & delicious! Breakfast tables are set for couples or a bigger table if you bring friends. We like to privacy of a table for 2, with the morning sun pouring in over the breakfast porch!
It's cozy, clean, modern, romantic, comfortable & well located! We have given gift certificates to friends from here several times & NO ONE has been disappointed! You should go or send someone you LOVE it's a TREAT!

Helpful?
1 Thank gpsjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2005

This is a great b&b in Ocean City and Marj Loeper takes great care of her guests. She bought us a NY Times every day and made arrangements for us to take great subs on our trip home to Seattle! The Inn provides bikes, beach chairs and beach towels and has an outdoor shower, so it's very easy to have a great beach vacation withouth lugging the country store with you.

My only criticisms are that the rooms are small and the breakfasts are carb heavy although when I mentioned this to Marj at the end of our stay, she said she would have been happy to provide yogurt, cottage cheese, etc. had we asked.

I've stayed here twice, separated by 10 years, and it was exactly the same (with the addition of a hot tub) this July as it was on my last visit.

Helpful?
6 Thank crisispro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 15 September 2004

This past summer my husband and I had at the good fortune of staying at the Northwood Inn in Ocean City, NJ. From the moment we were greeted by Marj, the innkeeper we knew we had come to the right place for a relaxing, enjoyable few days. The Northwood is a beautifully restored home with all the amenities and comforts one could ask for... central ac, impecably decorated guest rooms with private baths, rooftop spa, butler pantry for guests convenience, and delightful common areas to enjoy. We enjoyed delicious self serve, continental-plus breakfasts during the week and on the weekend we were served a fabulous, full breakfast. Both included assorted cereals, teas, coffees, melons, fruits, and freshly made baked goods. The Northwood cookbook is a great keepsake to try Marj's wonderful recipes once we were at home. It was great chatting with Marj and John and to see photos and hear stories of how John restored the Inn while learning interesting facts about the history of Ocean City.
An added bonus was making an appointment with Rebeca, the onsight massage therapist, truly a royal way to treat oneself and soothe away muscle aches and pains. We enjoyed great places to dine on and off the island thanks to Marj and John's helpful suggestions and making our reservations. Having beach bikes to use whenever we liked was another added treat.
Our visit to the Northwood was truly a memorable one, we look forward to returning to the lovely Northwood Inn this fall and to enjoying Marj and John's warm hospitality.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Canaan, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2004

We were greated with such warmth that is was no wonder so many people had recommended this bed and breakfast. The innkeepers were friendly, funny and great to talk to about the area we were about to explore. Each morning the breakfast was fresh and delicious. We especially loved the lemon muffins!! When it came time to find a place for dinner we were able to go through numerous menus to find what felt right for that night. We look forward to making this a yearly adventure and will be sure to share the Northwood Inn with our friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BethSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
1.2 mi away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#3 of 32 in Ocean City
355 reviews
0.4 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#5 of 32 in Ocean City
158 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bayberry Inn - Ocean City
Bayberry Inn - Ocean City
#2 of 20 in Ocean City
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Atlantis Inn Luxury B&B
Atlantis Inn Luxury B&B
#1 of 20 in Ocean City
283 reviews
0.4 mi away
Scarborough Inn
Scarborough Inn
#4 of 20 in Ocean City
174 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harris House Motel
Harris House Motel
#8 of 32 in Ocean City
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northwood Inn

Property: Northwood Inn
Address: 401 Wesley Ave, Ocean City, NJ 08226-3961
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificently restored Victorian has 19th century charm and 21st??? century comforts including all private baths (two with Jacuzzis for two),??? central air-conditioning, complimentary beach tags, bicycles and roof top whirlpool spa. The Inn is conveniently located 3 blocks from the beach, boardwalk, shops and restaurants. 30 miles north of Cape May and 8 miles south of Atlantic City. Bountiful breakfasts, cool porches and Carolina rockers. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing