We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value in OC, NJ”
Review of Ocean 7

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean 7
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2010

We returned for our second stay at the Ocean 7 in late Sept 2010. We arrived about 5 hours before check in time used the pool until our room was ready. Knowing that we arrived early, the staff got our room ready and allowed us to check in about 2 hours early. I'm sure they cannot do this for every guest, but it is great that they go out of their way for their customers.
This trip we stayed in one of the suites, but not a "decorator" suite. It was a little cheaper and was basically the same but less decorated - pretty much like their web site says. It has the convenience of a small kitchette with refrigerator, microwave, range, dishes and utensils. It definitely makes is easier to save some money on the trip by eating some meals in.
All in all, this motel is the best value in Ocean City and we probably will not stay at any other Ocean City motel or hotel in future (might consider one of the area B&Bs when our kids are older, though). You won't find a better combination of location, price, and service.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harleysville_Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2010

We stayed at this motel in mid-Sept for a week. Great location, friendly staff, nice pool.
Liked the idea of numbered parking places. However, there are some drawbacks which can be easily corrected.
The housekeeping staff needs to improve. They need to leard how to make a bed.
Everyday the sheet on one side of the bad was down to the floor and the other side barely covered the mattress. Needless to say the sheet never stayed on the entire night.
You cannot make up a bed from one side of it. Since this was mid-Sept. it was nice and cool at night. Unfortunately, the window and air conditioner are blocked by the drapes.
In order to enjoy the fresh cool night air or the air conditioner, you must leave the drapes
open all the way, allowing anyone to see into your room and it allows the morning sun
to shine directly into your eyes at daybreak. This can be easily corrected by reversing the direction the drapes open.
I also did not like the idea of a rotating housekeeping staff. No wonder they are not up to the task. No one seems to take responsibility. I like to know who is cleaning my room everyday and tip them accordingly. With this method you never know who is doing what.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nasty95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

this motel is literally at the boardwalk in Ocean City NJ, at 7th st. VERY convenient location. Clean room, fully equipped with stove, microwave, fridge, sink, plates, cups....and it was $20 cheaper than another motel we stayed in 2 weeks before, that was only a room and bath [no kitchen or table]!!
The staff [especially Felicia] were really friendly, and accommodating, and also really funny! Quirky in the best sense, they were a lot of fun, and made the paperwork go painlessly! You get an assigned parking spot, which saves a lot of looking if you come back late.
And they were very accommodating with a special need we had on the last day - they went above and beyond what most motels do to help.
We will go back to this place often! And the restaurant recommendation we got was also most excellent! The Ocean Cafe, just about 200 feet from the motel, had really outstanding food, nicely prepared and fresh, good northern Italian fare. And the host Joe [or Giuseppe] was excellent, friendly ,accommodating, and funny as all get out. A real Italian guy in the best sense. Loved it.
and there are many stores and amusements near the Ocean 7, so we didn't get in the car the whole weekend!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhillyDancer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

We had gone to Ocean City, MD many times and decided this year to try the "other" Ocean City for a change. We were looking for a hotel with a good location that offered efficiencies for less than a full week. Ocean 7 fit that description.

The plus of Ocean 7 is the location - a half block from the beach off the middle of the boardwalk. It also was clean and had a very friendly and helpful staff. Each room gets its own numbered parking space so no searching for a space.

The downside is "small" as in small rooms, small lobby, small parking places, and small pool. We have two boys ages 9 & 11, and thought the efficiency's promised trundle bed would work for them. But Room 424 did not have a trundle bed - instead it had a modified couch that was not big enough for the two of them. One of them had to sleep on a blanket on the floor each night. Bottom line: the efficiency only works for a family of four if the kids are about ages 6 and under.

The pool was okay but nothing exceptional. No restaurant onsite, but a breakfast place less than 100 feet away. The motel has only 73 units and they are trying to sell some off as condo units, so you may not have much of a choice.

Even though we have loyalties to Ocean City, MD, we liked Ocean City, NJ very much. It is smaller but has its charms and is closer for us. We suggest that Ocean City, NJ is especially good for younger kids and shorter stays, while Ocean CIty, MD has more things to do for a longer stay and/or with older kids. We gave Maryland the edge on the beach (and no tags! and more observant life guards) but New Jersey the edge on the boardwalk.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dad-With-Two-Kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

We had the best time at Ocean 7 this past week. Our family was on a tight budget when we decided to take a small shore trip for the summer. We booked the First Floor Large because the price was right. Next year we will definitely get one of the suites so we have a little bit more space for our family of 4 but we had no complaints about the room just our own short sightedness about what our space needs are. The location is seriously amazing, I have two small children (7 and 3) and being less than a 1/2 block from the beach was a life saver as far as having to lug gear and rammy children back and forth. At night while the kids settled we would pick a game from the book shelf (or game shelf?) from the lobby to play while they got ready for bed.The sweetest touch at the end of our trip was a personalized mug gifted from the hotel with our last name, the dates of our stay and our room number. We're excited to get our mug next year to continue our collection. Thank you Steven and Marke and the rest of the staff for a fantastic minivacation (and especially Rose Mary for the restaurant suggestions!)

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herechic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

The best thing about this hotel is the location. The boardwalk, beach and amusement park is within walking distance. If you are going with your family you must stay in a suite. Their standard rooms are way too small to accomodate a family. We had to upgrade when we checked in. The rooms overlook the pool area and parking lot. The balcony (if you want to call it that) is very small. The kitchen area is very tight and the bathroom is extremely small. I would consider this place more like a motel rather than a Hotel. The pool is heated but just a standard inground pool. There is only one elevator which is extremely tight and the lobby is not very attractive and/or welcoming. As far as the service, the staff was pleasant but the cleaning service was terrible. Our maid never even made our bed and did the bare minimum in our room. I was extremely disappointed and for what we paid I expected a whole lot more. Overall, we made the best of it but we would never choose to stay at this hotel again if we go back to ocean city.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank baby48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

We chose this place because of the daily rates available with no minimum nights required which we didn't know existed during the summer months. The employees we met were all extremely friendly and really went out of their way to be helpful and accommodating. The location was fantastic. The rooms are actually little suites and were clean though for 3-4 people it was a little tight. The bathroom was barely big enough to turn around in and I thought the beds were uncomfortable. We were there while the place wasn't very crowded (mid-June) and there was one day when we didn't even get the room cleaned. We were out all morning up until about 1:30, there was a storm so we headed back to the room. At about 3:30, the young man showed up to clean the room and we told him to forget it. We asked that he only provide us clean towels in exchange for our used ones. It was only for a few nights so it was a decent enough place to stay. You really don't spend a whole lot of time in your rooms anyway!

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherylpd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.9 mi away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#3 of 31 in Ocean City
365 reviews
0.3 mi away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#9 of 31 in Ocean City
247 reviews
0.3 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#5 of 31 in Ocean City
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Forum Motor Inn
Forum Motor Inn
#10 of 31 in Ocean City
151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Breeze Hotel
Ocean Breeze Hotel
#28 of 31 in Ocean City
73 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ocean Front Motel
Ocean Front Motel
#12 of 31 in Ocean City
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean 7

Address: 870 E 7th St, Ocean City, NJ 08226-3843 (Formerly Days Inn Ocean City)
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#3 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: £41 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Non-smoking rooms· daily & weekly rates· 73 units with kitchens· sizes to accommodate from 2-7· 200 ft to the sand· 1 block from 2 amusement parks· Beachtags for all from check in AM to checkout PM ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ocean 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean 7 Hotel Ocean City
Hotel Ocean City
Ocean City 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing