We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location, but keep your shoes on!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pavilion Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pavilion Motor Lodge
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Ocean City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“great location, but keep your shoes on!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Overall, a great value for the cost and the location, especially if travelling with children. A restaurant attached to the main motel building, the food was decent. Room and bed was comfortable, but you had to turn sideways to get past second bed to get to the bathroom, sink or fridge. Pool is not heated as many of the others in the area are, and you don't realize how much of a difference that can make until you have a cloudy day. Overall, the place was nice and in prime location....the biggest concern....it appears the carpet at least in this room had not been cleaned since it as put down. After walking around the room for about ten minutes....no exaggeration, the bottoms of you feet were filthy. Socks were destroyed. We never had enough towels, either. There were four of us for three days, and we would only receive two wash cloths and three towels. When the front desk was called and more towels requested, the wait was less that 5 minutes though. Overall, reasonable price but a couple of issues.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoPhillytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    53
    41
    12
    21
See reviews for
114
26
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

The hotel is in a great location....The rooms are dated & bathrooms need upgrades...It did have a flat screen tv & many channels to choose from....The little fridge was very cold & useful...The carpet seem to have been updated...The beds need new mattresses....I mean the room served its purpose, but by no means was it a 5 star hotel....@ most maybe 2 1/2 stars...Ocean City is a beautiful shore town & my family & I loved it...If you come here for the hotel, then don't bother...Its a good place to sleep & shower & it was quiet...nobody bothered you...Again OC is a family shore town & its a lot of fun. Definitely will be back here....

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CGMLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

The hotel is in a great location but the rooms are very old especially the bedspreads. They must have been at least 15 yrs old. I also didn't think it was that clean considering there was an open bag of Doritos under the bureau with some crumbs under there too. We had to pick them up. A half size fridge in the room but no microwave. I think I would try to find somewhere else to stay next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamenow, General Manager at Pavilion Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We appreciate your feedback and apologize for the inconvenience. As a small independantly run hotel, we must keep costs in mind, especially the expenses brought by Superstorm Sandy . As a cost savings measure, the Welcome Book in each room mentions the availabliy of amenities upon request. Shampoo, razors, shower caps, toothbrushes, hair dryers, irons etc are all available at the front desk. We hope you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ne, PA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

The hotel is decent. It's very clean, and the location is great. However, make sure you bring all of your own toiletries, including shampoo and a hair dryer. Not even a microwave in our room. Overall, however, the place was really clean, quiet, and in close proximity to the best part of the boardwalk.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmyeArcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

It's not really fancy but it is clean and a great value. The location is great and I like how the rooms have a mini fridge. The pool area is small but nice and the staff is always accommodating and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jujukeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Terrible experience,much too expensive for the terrible experience. Bugs smashed on the wall above the bed, 4 registered guests only 3 towels, rock hard beds that meant very little sleep for everyone, location was good but parking was horrible. Would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RBShover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seamenow, General Manager at Pavilion Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Thank you so much for your review and we appreciate your feedback. Feedback is always more effective when we have the ability to act on your needs immediately. I would have been happy to address the issues you sited as we care deeply that you and your family enjoy your stay with us. We are not a chain hotel - each peron on my staff personally work to make sure our guests are happy and will do whatever it takes to correct a problem. While we are proactive about maintenance, sometimes things happen before we become aware of it.

Regarding the number of towels in a room, the number of people registered to a room directly correlates with the number of towels received. Perhaps you did not reserve in advance so that we could set your room up properly prior to your arrival? But always, extra towels are available at the Front Desk.

Guests are entitled to free parking! Being so close to the Boardwalk, parking is always at a premium however we have 2 lots (one behind the hotel and 1 across the street) to amply accomodate our guests. Our Office Staff & Lot Attendant are here to assure that our guests are always accomodated. I hope you will try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Waterford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

We showed up in Ocean City late afternoon on Friday without a reservation. We didn't expect to get a room at all, so we were pleasantly surprised to find a room as close to the beach as this motel is. The lobby is small and cute and the staff was pleasant and helpful. We were assigned room 100, first floor by the road and next to the lobby. the room has two queen beds, a small table with two chairs, A dresser, a mini fridge and air conditioning. The room looks to have had some updates, such as new light fixtures, carpet and flat screen tv. The bathroom, beds, sheets and mattress were clean, but the blankets and bedspreads have seen better days. Tiny bathroom...tiny. There was no hair dryer in the room...bummer for me!

The pool is ok, looks clean but we didn't go in. The lounge chairs were dated.

The location for this hotel was ideal for us. Parking is free and very convenient. The boardwalk was a very short walk from the hotel.. maybe 4 minutes. Overall, this was a typical beach hotel. If you are spending your time at the each and boardwalk, the room will suit you fine for sleep and a shower.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JDandkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.1 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#12 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sifting Sands Motel
Sifting Sands Motel
#26 of 32 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean 7
Ocean 7
#5 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#8 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.8 mi away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#3 of 32 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean Front Motel
Ocean Front Motel
#11 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavilion Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilion Motor Lodge

Property: Pavilion Motor Lodge
Address: 801 Atlantic Ave, Ocean City, NJ 08226-3679
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ocean City
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pavilion Motor Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Ocean City - on the beachblock of 8th Street. Heated Pool, Restaurant, free internet and free parking. 26 foot rooms with 2 queen beds or a king and a double bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Pavilion Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pavilion Motor Hotel Ocean City
Pavilion Hotel Ocean City
Pavilion Motel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing