We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost a 4! Great location makes it a loud location.”
Review of The Flanders Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Flanders Hotel
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This is our second stay here. A week last summer and again this summer.
Pro: Located off the boardwalk. Don't have to cross any streets.
Con:Hotel abuts a late night amusement park.
Pro: nice antiquated hotel.
Con: only 2 elevators.
Pro: heated outdoor pool.
Con: can run out of towels.
Super Pro: extended a night but had to switch rooms. Housekeeping turned over new room to us by 11 am. Much earlier than expected.
Con: smoke alarm and/or c/o detector started chirping late night. This woke up wife and kids. Took hotel staff 90 minutes and three trips to finally solve issue by removing units from room. Fortunately there was no fire or excess c/o that night. I did ask for an "accommodation" for our troubles. I was given some tickets to the amusement park. I was hoping for a $100 credit or a comp night. We were here for 7. Wouldn't even pick up parking for a few extra hours on checkout day.
Pro: there are bell boys.
Con: they are not permitted to stand outside front door. Didn't know they were there until I unloaded car and schlepped bags inside. Also-they use the passenger elevators instead of the freight elevator. Their cart fills the elevator.
Pro: coffee shop inside hotel.

Bottom line: if visiting ocean city, would stay here again.
Rooms are nice and the kitchenette is useful. Would be nice if there was something to hang wet suits on.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 536 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2013

This property was conveniently located on the boardwalk. Customer service was very helpful. Plenty of room in the fridge and a nice table for eating if you want to prepare a simple meal. The pool was nice but way too crowded. Impossible to find a seat. I would consider staying there again because of how helpful the staff was and the location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueSteel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We spent one night in August with two grand-children in a bed-room suite. It was spotless, large and totally functional with a full kitchen and two flat screen TV's. Pool was well-maintained with easy access to the beach. Staff was efficient and courteous with paid parking across the street. In short, the total experience far exceeded our expectations!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The Flander's Hotel was right in the heart of the boardwalk... salt water taffy...mini-golf... ice cream... amusement park.. beach... and gift shops galore... yet when I was at the hotel I felt like a was brought back in time and experiencing what it was like to visit the hotel in the 1930's. The antiques were charming ... the ballroom exquisite.. I loved the Frescoes, especially the one with the three girls and a bride on her wedding day. I also was intrigued by the mystery surrounding the ghost of Emily, a red haired woman seen in paintings by the fireplace. Our room was bright and comfortable. It was our private getaway, that felt more like a home than a hotel. We had a lovely stay in this unique, historic hotel on the boardwalk, and plan on coming again.

Room Tip: face the beach side the rooms are bright and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

My grandson and I wanted a nice dinner; we did not get it. We got there at 5:00 when it was supposed to open but had to wait until 5:20 because they were not ready. So, along with others, we had to stand in the hall. We went on their seafood buffet night but wanted steak so ordered off of the prefixed limited menu. We ordered filet that was just awful. In addition to not being cooked as ordered, it was flavorless and dry. The salad at the salad bar was old like it had been there all day. The dinner, obviously with no alcohol, was a whopping $80.00. We were both hungry when we left so had to go on the boardwalk and get something to eat. The service was not terrible but definitely not friendly. Just an awful experience. Do not go.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 103kathy103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I have stayed in Hotels all over the World and I would never pay the high room rates at the Flanders again. My family stayed in a suite on the fifth floor and had nothing but trouble with our toilet the entire stay. The previous occupants had flushed a bar of soap down the toilet and when we checked in late in the afternoon we noticed the toilet was flushing slowly. After returning from a family dinner late in the evening I called the front desk and they sent someone up. The young man was very nice and explained that the toilet needed to be snaked, which he did. After leaving our room around 10:30 pm we used the bathroom before going to bed. The toilet overflowed all the way out to the kitchen and the carpet. This was cleaned up and happened again the next morning. The toilet was full of feces and urine. We were forced to use the public restrooms for half of our stay. Management refused to reimburse us for our trouble because we had already received an aarp discount. I have to say they were not very apologetic.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank D K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

One can't beat it. The set up is perfect. The parking is ideal, the view this year (9th floor bayside) was spectacular. The rooms are clean, neatly decorated and smell night. The staff was cheerful and efficient. Proximity to beach and boardwalk are amazing. Price is fine for a suite type arrangement and helpful when you have teens. Kitchenette is a plus, though coffee shop downstairs is a Godsend. NOT in love with how crowded OCNJ is these days, but it's still hard to beat. Looking forward to year five.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBBBTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.5 mi away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#3 of 31 in Ocean City
368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#5 of 31 in Ocean City
172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#9 of 31 in Ocean City
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ocean 7
Ocean 7
#6 of 31 in Ocean City
312 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean Breeze Hotel
Ocean Breeze Hotel
#28 of 31 in Ocean City
73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Manor Hotel
Ocean Manor Hotel
#22 of 31 in Ocean City
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Flanders Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Flanders Hotel

Address: 719 11th St, Ocean City, NJ 08226-3327
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#10 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: £54 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Flanders Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms at the Flanders have private bedrooms, fully equipped kitchens with refrigerators, dishwashers, microwaves, stovetops and daily housekeeping services. The hotel features a Heated Pool, Restaurant with Room Service, Coffee Shop, Business Center, Coin-Op Laundry, Unique Shops, Complimentary Parking (1 car per room) and Beach Tags (in season). Located on the Boardwalk just steps from the beach. The Flanders also features elegant ballrooms that are perfect for business meetings, social gatherings and wedding receptions. Our wedding professionals specialize in destination weddings and beach ceremonies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Flanders Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flanders Hotel Ocean City
Flanders Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing