We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room, great ocean views.”
Review of The Flanders Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Flanders Hotel
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This was my 3rd stay @ The Flanders. Each stay is better than the last. We stayed in the Penthouse Ocean front (unit 902)...what a view!! Beautiful room, warm & friendly Staff...doesn't get much better when traveling. All the bedrooms were comfortable. Each had a cozy fireplace & ocean views. The entire penthouse suite was tastefully decorated. The hotel is a nice mix of old & new. Very charming overall.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glg0019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are so happy to hear you and your family are return guests. I agree with you the Oceanfront Penthouse has amazing views and provides a lot of charm. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Ocean City.
Have a wonderful day,
Dorothy Derfler
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (534)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 534 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

What a gem! Beautiful hotel. Accommodating and friendly staff. Clean comfortable rooms. We had an ocean view this time, which only added to the relaxing, refreshing weekend experience we had at the Flanders. Best in the off season!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickn32058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your ocean view room and had a relaxing weekend with us. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Have a wonderful day,
Dorothy Derfler
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

There is a grouping of suites on the first floor that used to be retail space and were converted to condos. They are very spacious and have beautiful interiors. We stayed in the one bedroom last year and it was wonderful! Steps (literally) to the beach/boardwalk. The pool is the view out the window. The one bedroom (on VRBO) is the quietest of them all. And, the prices are better than the hotel "suites". Much nicer too. Check it out, for sure.

Room Tip: Choose the one bedroom. The two bedroom and three are too close to the amusements and are loud. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beachgalxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for your nice comments about the Lanai Suites at the Flanders Hotel. I will pass your nice comments on to the Property Management Company that handles the bookings for these suites.

Have a wonderful day,
Dorothy Derfler
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

My family stayed in the Lanai Condos (Unit 109), and my brother and sister were staying in other condo units with their families at the same time. The layout of these units is very good, and all are quiet roomy. The amenities and provisions were for the most part adequate.

On the downside, all of us had problems with uneven beds, which had 6" foam mattresses that sloped significantly to both sides -- you had to climb up the "hill" in order to stay on it! My family also encountered several minor maintenance items; however, the maintenance person was very cordial and able to remedy most of our concerns; only a couple of items were not resolved due to his need to search out the missing parts. Although our condo rental contact was trying to help, I got the impression that she wasn't really concerned about the bed issue in particular, claiming that in 7 years, nobody had complained about the beds until we showed up.

Other items of concern: Our clothes dryer would not work properly – a load of towels was run for 3 1-hour cycles and were still damp; we finally resorted to hanging half-dried towels on the backs of chairs outside, etc. Also, the wi-fi service was mediocre at best – poor to fair reception in our unit was all we could get, and it dropped out several times without warning. Another comfort issue: Having the thermostat set at a fixed 72 degrees made the unit too cold for the most part.

The Flanders is a great historical landmark with lots of Ocean City history to take in, and its proximity to the Boardwalk is hard to beat. However, with all of the disappointments we encountered with the condo, we'll be staying somewhere else the next time.

Footnote: The Lanai Condos are owned and managed separately from the hotel itself, although they are physically part of the building. Staying in the hotel may be a better option.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KenB1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay in the Lanai Suites. I will share your comments and concerns with the Property Management Company that handles the bookings in these suites.
Have a wonderful day,
Dorothy Derfler
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This has been my 5th weekend spent at the Flanders for a scrapbooking event. Our room was decorated very nice but the bed's were uncomfortable & the refridgerator was making a lot of noise. The rest of the hotel was very nice, the shops were unique, the food was the BEST we have had in the past 5 years. The staff was extremely helpful and very pleasant.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssnow58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you for your wonderful comments about The Flanders Hotel. We always enjoy hosting the Scrap Booking events. Our staff takes pride in providing our guests with a clean room, friendly service and great food! Please let us know if you need anything during your stay, we will do everything possible to make your stay comfortable and relaxing.

We look forward to welcoming you and your group back next year!
Have a wonderful day,
Dorothy Derfler
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I just spent the weekend there for a Scrapbooking event and it was truly a wonderful experience. It brings the past into the present with its history and lovely collection of memorabilia. The elevators are the older ones and do not hold as many people, but they functioned well and got me where I needed to go. The room was modern, beautiful, well maintained and clean. There were more than 100 of us and the staff could not have been nicer or more accommodating. The meals were presented beautifully, very delicious and the wait staff was excellent. Our events were held in the grand ballroom and as I sat there looking around, I could just envision the beautiful, well dressed people who might have vacationed, dined or attended functions there when it was the "IT" place to be. It's convenience to the beach and boardwalk doesn't get any better. You must go, and I will definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Texphilly2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. We enjoy hosting your annual Scrap Booking Event. Our professional and friendly staff take pride in providing our guests with a clean, comfortable and relaxing experience. I will share your review with the staff and management. We look forward to seeing you again next year or sooner!

Have a great day,
Dorothy Derfler
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

I'm in room 612 watching the sunrise as I write this review. Very nice! There amusement rides are right outside so I'm not sure how that would be during the summer. I will say that regardless it is very quiet and I can not hear any outside noise. The staff at the front desk, afternoon, later evening and morning, three separate people I have encountered have been very friendly and helpful. I rang the front desk this morning and asked for a later check out. No problem at all. The suite is very clean. The bed was comfortable and I slept very well. The only issue with the room is that the toilet runs long after a flush and a jiggle is needed to make it stop. Could be because it's a slightly older toilet. I would recommend it to be replaced. The kitchen is well stocked and the heating system works well. I would return for another stay. Possibly in the summer! It's the perfect location for beach/boardwalk summer fun!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenn6786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us. I agree with you the view from our ocean front suites are amazing. We are pleased that you found your room to be comfortable and the staff was able to give you a late check out. I have shared your comments with the staff and they will address the maintenance issue. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Ocean City.
Have a wonderful day,
Dorothy Derfler
609.399.1000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.5 mi away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#3 of 31 in Ocean City
361 reviews
0.2 mi away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#9 of 31 in Ocean City
244 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean 7
Ocean 7
#5 of 31 in Ocean City
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#7 of 31 in Ocean City
168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Water Inn
Blue Water Inn
#30 of 31 in Ocean City
80 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harris House Motel
Harris House Motel
#8 of 31 in Ocean City
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Flanders Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Flanders Hotel

Address: 719 11th St, Ocean City, NJ 08226-3327
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#12 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: £56 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Flanders Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms at the Flanders have private bedrooms, fully equipped kitchens with refrigerators, dishwashers, microwaves, stovetops and daily housekeeping services. The hotel features a Heated Pool, Restaurant with Room Service, Coffee Shop, Business Center, Coin-Op Laundry, Unique Shops, Complimentary Parking (1 car per room) and Beach Tags (in season). Located on the Boardwalk just steps from the beach. The Flanders also features elegant ballrooms that are perfect for business meetings, social gatherings and wedding receptions. Our wedding professionals specialize in destination weddings and beach ceremonies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Flanders Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flanders Hotel Ocean City
Flanders Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing