We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our tenth year visit and still wonderful!”
Review of The Flanders Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Flanders Hotel
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Danbury, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our tenth year visit and still wonderful!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We rent a king room deluxe waterfront suite handicap accessible and it was just beautiful.
The kitchen and bathroom had recently been redone- marble countertops, stainless full size fridge, convection oven.Bedroom and living room had beautiful big screen TV's.

We did not enjoy the cooking from the dining room this year for the first time however.Also, since we were there the first week in june- they were horribly understaffed and their cleaning personnel
constantly had to come back to vacuum to do other things they skipped. They did so with a smile,
however.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MATWOODSTACK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you being a loyal guest of the Flanders and taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I have shared your comments with the Managers; it is only though our guests that we are able to see areas that need improvement. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Have a great day,
Dorothy Derfler
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    112
    45
    33
    27
See reviews for
261
118
3
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I have been going to Ocean City, NJ since I was a child. When we would walk the boardwalk I dreamed that one day I would stay at The Flanders Hotel. I have stayed there twice now and love everything about it. The staff is wonderful, the rooms cozy and the location is perfect. I will return!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear that you are a repeat guest with us. Our staff takes pride in providing a clean, cozy and friendly stay for all our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Ocean City.
Have a great day,
Dorothy Derfler
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Whenever we go to Ocean City, NJ we stay at the Flanders. The rooms are always clean, comfortable and elegant. Also, we like the fact that it's in the heart of the Boardwalk. Yes, it's attached to the amusement park, but with windows shut and the air conditioner on, it makes a hie difference and has never been a bother to our family. In fact the sight and sounds of parents, kids and wedding ceremonies makes you know you're in a very happy place!! A big kudos to Dorothy, Coleen and staff for ALWAYS making our family's stay a special and memorable one. They show that they value my business at all times!! Most especially to Colleen. She's the reason we always keep coming back to stay at this property.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mjjjl04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us and for the kind words about the staff. We are please to hear that you always enjoy your stay with us our goal is to make our guests feel at home! I have shared your comments with the managers and staff. Thank you again and we look forward to see you again soon!
Have a great day,
Dorothy Derfler
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my family and had a horrible experience. The hotel is so close to the rides that all you hear from early in the afternoon until 1130 pm is loud music. For a family with a 2 year old it was the worst. It is a constant barrage of thump thump thump. Secondly, the staff is not very courteous or attentive. I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alex k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We would like to discuss the concerns you had during your stay, please call me at your convenience; 609-399-1000 extension 7195.
Have a wonderful day,
Dorothy Derfler
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We will always return to the Flanders. Our room was very clean and the friendly staff always makes the vacation fun! We enjoy staying at the Flanders because they are located at the heart of the Ocean City Boardwalk.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your vacation with us and you are planning to return again. It is convenient and a lot of fun being in the heart of the boardwalk fun! We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to The Flanders Hotel.
Have a great day,
Dorothy Derfler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
412 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I just had a conference for several days here. The location is great, right in the heart of the boardwalk. The facility is fine. But the meals were very uneven, some great and some not so good. The cost is not cheap for what you get either.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Proclaimer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We enjoyed hosting your conference. Our central location make it convenient for walking on the boardwalk and enjoying all that Ocean City has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you on your next trip to Ocean City.
Have a wonderful day,
Dorothy Derfler
609-399-1000
TheFlandersHotel com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exton, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed at The Flanders a few weeks before the official tourist season began, so Ocean City was not overly crowded. Nice time to go!
The front desk staff could not be more helpful, friendly and resourceful! The first room we were given had been freshly painted, and the smell was not good so we requested another room which were were given immediately with no problem. The room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. One of the unique features of the Flanders is that the rooms are owned by individuals (a condo hotel), so the rooms are not cookie-cutter.
We loved the ambiance of the place: they play music from the 30's and 40''s in the common areas and restaurant, and the decor reflects that time as well.
We had breakfast two times in the restaurant and found the food good and and not over-priced as some hotels do. Very courteous and responsive wait staff as well.
The hotel is a short walk to the board walk.
All in all, a lovely place. We plan to be back!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scrumdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and had a relaxing time. We are a condo-hotel so you do have that wonderful warm home feel in each room. I will share your comments with the staff and we look forward to your return visit.
Have a wonderful day,
Dorothy Derfler
609-399-1000
TheFlandersHotel com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.5 mi away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#3 of 32 in Ocean City
355 reviews
0.2 mi away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#9 of 32 in Ocean City
244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#5 of 32 in Ocean City
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Blue Water Inn
Blue Water Inn
#31 of 32 in Ocean City
76 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Breeze Hotel
Ocean Breeze Hotel
#22 of 32 in Ocean City
63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harris House Motel
Harris House Motel
#8 of 32 in Ocean City
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Flanders Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Flanders Hotel

Property: The Flanders Hotel
Address: 719 11th St, Ocean City, NJ 08226-3327
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#12 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Flanders Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms at the Flanders have private bedrooms, fully equipped kitchens with refrigerators, dishwashers, microwaves, stovetops and daily housekeeping services. The hotel features a Heated Pool, Restaurant with Room Service, Coffee Shop, Business Center, Coin-Op Laundry, Unique Shops, Complimentary Parking (1 car per room) and Beach Tags (in season). Located on the Boardwalk just steps from the beach. The Flanders also features elegant ballrooms that are perfect for business meetings, social gatherings and wedding receptions. Our wedding professionals specialize in destination weddings and beach ceremonies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Flanders Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flanders Hotel Ocean City
Flanders Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing