We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for an old, old place”
Review of The Flanders Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Flanders Hotel
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
158 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great location for an old, old place”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We had a wonderful experience at this old time gem of a hotel that's right on the boardwalk. They've done a nice job maintaining the property while leaving the feel way back in time. I jokingly told my wife that my long-deceased great-grandmother might walk out of one of the shops at any time. We loved the place. The staff was extremely polite and very helpful. Only negative is the price which is definitely at the highest end for that part of the world.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJCjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Flanders Hotel. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the historic hotel and found our staff to be polite and friendly. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Ocean City; America's Greatest Family Resort!
Have a wonderful day,
Dorothy Derfler
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    110
    43
    33
    26
See reviews for
255
117
3
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I attended a wedding at the Flanders on July 12, and I must say I am used to expecting mediocre food at wedding receptions, but I was not only surprised, I was blown away by the delicious food, excellent service, the beautiful cocktail area at the top of the stairs on the second floor, and the reception room! I had filet mignon that was cooked perfectly, was served hot, and was so large our dog was one happy camper for that doggie bag! My husband had the Chilean sea bass which he said was excellent and he devoured, so it was not a surf and turf doggie bag!
I can not rate the rooms as we did not stay at the Flanders, but as a wedding venue for a beach wedding in the south New Jersey area, I can not imagine a better venue!

My special thanks to Karen who handles the beach wedding ceremonies and receptions at the Flanders! I know we drove you crazy with moving the ceremony closer to the water edge so the bride and groom could have their special sand castle wedding ceremony, but you did accommodate the bride and groom after speaking with sand sculpture master, John Gowdy, and it made for a very special wedding ceremony they will always cherish!
Not only the bride and groom and wedding guests enjoyed the sand castle ceremony, it made an ordinary beach day a bit more magical for many of the beach goer's who enjoyed watching the sand castle sculpture being built, watching the wedding ceremony, and taking pictures of their children and each other with the sand castle after the ceremony!

The beach wedding and reception at the Flanders was exceptional, and thank you Karen for making the changes the bride and groom wanted for their beach wedding ceremony! It was the talk and highlight of the 11th street Ocean City beach the entire day!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review about the wedding you attended at our hotel. Karen and her team take pride in the events they have the pleasure of organizing. Beach weddings are their specialty and I have to agree the are amazing. Your comments have been shared with the entire staff. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Flanders on your next trip to Ocean City.
Have a wonderful day,
Dorothy Derfler
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellmawr, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2014

While preparing to check into the hotel - staff members where almost shouting at each other because a hotel worker did not follow certain rules. I thought this to be very unprofessional to share this detail information in the lobby. I was not to thrilled to see the bright lights and noise from the amusement park right outside of our window. In general the staff responsible for our luggage and taking care of our room where excellent, polite and friendly. Hbe252@verizon.net

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hbe252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for your recent stay at the Flanders Hotel. We apologize that you overheard our staff. We are pleased that the remaining staff was polite and friendly. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Ocean City.
Have a great day,
Dorothy Derfler
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hope, PA
Level Contributor
297 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I have stayed at the Flanders three times and this was by far the most disappointing visit. We stayed on the fourth floor in room 409 over the Fourth of July weekend. Check in was quick and easy got there at 3pm and up to the room by 3:15. The location of the Flanders is perfect. Right on the boardwalk, near rides, the beach, close to Asbury Ave and not too far from the bridge for the arrival/departure.

Had a King Suite (no water view) and we needed to use both the fold out chair and couch for the three kids to sleep comfortably. The room was not organized in a manner to allow the couch and chair to be open at the same time. Not a big deal we just moved the furniture around just annoying. I also requested a blanket and was given a fitted sheet which was presented in a sealed bag so I did not notice the error until it was too late.

Also, the room was not thoroughly cleaned after our first night. They gave us clean towels and made the beds, that's it. Dishes in sink not done, tub - not rinsed, toilet not wiped down and not even given a new set of toiletries. Oh and the air conditioning was not consistent in the two rooms - meat locker in living room area and still kind of warm in the bedroom. This might sound trivial but when you pay over $400/night you expect a little more and don't want to have to ask for a second set of micro shampoo & conditioner.

The real buzz kill was the stench that hit you like a punch in the face as soon as the elevator doors opened. How can I describe it...um... cat urine it smelled like cat urine. I know this because I have previously had cats. I did mention this to the front desk and the next morning the smell was improved however the stench of cat urine was back by the afternoon.

Will we return? We will definitely go back to OC as we have an annual trip there to meet friends. I am not sure if we will stay at the Flanders again. Maybe if we got a good deal on one of the upgraded rooms we would consider it. The primary staff was good (bell hop, front desk) housekeeping, not so much. But the location and physical space (not sharing bed with kids) is very favorable. They just need to straighten out a few areas. Also, had breakfast at Emily's which took so long it could have turned into brunch.....saving that for another review.

Room Tip: Stay off the fourth floor until they resolve the stench in the hallways - I suspect they need new ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brice2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for staying at the Flanders Hotel and taking the time to write a detailed review of your recent stay with us. Your comments have been shared with the management team. We apologize for the unexpected leak that occurred on the fourth floor during your stay, we did immediately contact a professional company to handle the clean up. We value your business and hope you will return to the Flanders Hotel in the future. Please contact me to assist you with your next reservation.
Have a great day,
Dorothy Derfler
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed for 4 nights on a long weekend at the shore.

Really nice location for hotel, right next to boardwalk and with a parking lot across the street and bikes/surreys across the street as well.

We went to the pool one day. Had some snacks from the poolside service. I thought they were quite good considering the venue and quite decently priced.

We had some coffee and pastry from the coffee express one morning, nothing fancy but filled the bill.

Room was kind of cute and decently furnished.

Bed had a lousy mattress however, very thin, worn out, not comfortable at all.

Inadequate windows shades let nearby light shine into room at night making room very bright and hard to sleep in. Some windows had no covering and light control at all.

Our room faced away from the boardwalk. Someone else we were staying with had a room facing the boardwalk and apparently there was noise during the evening and night from the amusement park and roller coaster including loud music and screaming which made it hard to sleep.

So... ok but not great...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FastEddddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of your stay with us. We are please to hear that you enjoyed the pool, coffee shop and location. Your comments have been shared with the management staff. Please contact me on your next visit to the Flanders Hotel.
Have a great day,
Dorothy Derfler
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Had a great weekend in OC, the Flanders is a terrific hotel, we had a 2 bedroom suite on the promendae level.

Pros- Location, Clean, friendly customer service

Cons- Very loud, walked through two weddings, Price

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank brady d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for writing a review about your stay at the Flanders Hotel. We are pleased to hear you had a great weekend in Ocean City and found our location convenient. Our staff takes pride in providing friendly service and we hope you will come back and visit us again.
Have a great day,
Dorothy Derfler
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyde Park, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Hotel is all suites, clean, close to ocean, boardwalk and restaurants. Staff was friendly . Restaurant on site, although we did not eat there. Bike rentals across the street. Full kitchen in room with dishes ,pans everything you need. Beach badges included with room. Had a great meal at Clancy's on boardwalk.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucille362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorothy D, Front Office Manager at The Flanders Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Flanders Hotel. We are please that you found your room clean and comfortable and all the fun things to do in Ocean City close by. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Ocean City.
Have a great day,
Dorothy Derfler
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean City
0.5 mi away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#3 of 32 in Ocean City
343 reviews
0.3 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#7 of 32 in Ocean City
138 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean 7
Ocean 7
#4 of 32 in Ocean City
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#9 of 32 in Ocean City
234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Breeze Hotel
Ocean Breeze Hotel
#19 of 32 in Ocean City
53 reviews
17.2 mi away
Icona Golden Inn
Icona Golden Inn
#1 of 5 in Avalon
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Flanders Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Flanders Hotel

Property: The Flanders Hotel
Address: 719 11th St, Ocean City, NJ 08226-3327
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#12 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Flanders Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms at the Flanders have private bedrooms, fully equipped kitchens with refrigerators, dishwashers, microwaves, stovetops and daily housekeeping services. The hotel features a Heated Pool, Restaurant with Room Service, Coffee Shop, Business Center, Coin-Op Laundry, Unique Shops, Complimentary Parking (1 car per room) and Beach Tags (in season). Located on the Boardwalk just steps from the beach. The Flanders also features elegant ballrooms that are perfect for business meetings, social gatherings and wedding receptions. Our wedding professionals specialize in destination weddings and beach ceremonies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Flanders Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flanders Hotel Ocean City
Flanders Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing