We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reliably comfortable and convenient” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shawmont Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocean Grove
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shawmont Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ocean Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Reliably comfortable and convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We are regular visitors to the Shawmont Hotel in Ocean Grove NJ. My mother has been a regular there since the early 1970s, and we drive nearly 350 miles every year to spend a week there. Okay, so it's NOT elegant, and the wireless can be spotty throughout the hotel. But the wireless works fine in the living room, although not in most of the bedrooms. The rooms are airconditioned, the beds are reasonably comfortable. They are cleaned daily by a very cheerful set of maids, several of which have been there for donkey's years. It's not the Taj Mahal, and it isn't intended to be. The rooms are small, but who spends time in the room when you're at the beach? Not my mother and me. We sit on the spacious front porch and chat with other guests. We go to the beach, which is across the street. Literally across the street! The television is one of the satellite services, and it has limited channels, but again, who watches tv while at the beach? The continental breakfast is included: fruit (watermelon and bananas), yogurt, buns, bagels, OJ, and instant oatmeal and coffee is available all day. If you want a more substantial breakfast, there are several restaurants nearby that can serve your needs. There is also a guest fridge, to stash things, a microwave, and a toaster. One of the rooms is an efficiency, and at least one of the beach front rooms has a small fridge in it.

Room Tip: we typically chose a room with a terrace. Rooms 1 and 2 can be noisy because they are next to the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AuntRuth001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    34
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
25
41
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Other than the spotty wireless internet in the common area, the television we couldn't get to work in our small room (if one pushed hard enough, she could open the door fully past the tip of the bed jutting into the path of the door), the broken ice machine, and the skimpy, unhealthy continental breakfast (apart from apples and bananas, only pastries and other fat or junk carbs), it has a great beachfront location with a wonderful porch.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
102 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

My husband surprised me with an overnight stay in Ocean Grove for my birthday. There are many lovely and quaint B&B's and hotels in Ocean Grove but the Shawmont is hands down one of the best if you've craving a room with a view. It sits directly across the street from the Atlantic Ocean (as close as you can get in Ocean Grove) with perfect beach views. I highly recommend splurging and getting a room that faces the ocean directly. You'll have to pay more for the upgrade - but you won't be disappointed. If you can't book a room that's oceanfront, you will still be able to enjoy the ocean view since the Shawmont has a lovely front port with comfortable rockers and tables for two or four. Many of the guests sit in the shade of the awning and just relax on the porch throughout the day. It's a great place to people watch and perfect for guests who may want to feel like they're on the beach without being in the sand or sun. Our stay was only one night, but the hotel will do their best to accommodate early arrivals, so that you can make the most of your stay. We were in Room 101 which was very clean, crisp, freshly painted, bright and cheery (you'll have to walk up a slightly narrow flight of stairs) Not very large but adequate. There is a thermostat that allows you to adjust the temperature to your own liking, but a ceiling fan over the bed keeps the room even more comfortable. Better yet, put the screens in the windows and feel the cool ocean breeze if it's not too warm outside. The small fridge in the room was a nice convenience and we stocked it with some snacks upon our arrival. The best part of all, though, was the full view glass door in the room that led to a private balcony facing the ocean. (There is another balcony attached to the left but it is divided with lattice for privacy.) The balcony had 2 chairs, a chaise lounge chair, and a small square table. It was very relaxing to just sit and watch the people go by or listen to the sound of the waves at night. In the morning, we were able to see the sunrise from our balcony as well (actually I could see a good part of it without even getting out of bed!) There is a continental breakfast included with the room rate but, by the time we arrived (about 9:40) there were only two small pieces of danish left that tasted packaged and weren't that great. But we did get to bring them up to our balcony with coffee and added some of our own cheese, crackers, and fruit to the meal to round it out while watching the spectacular ocean waves. Apples and bananas are complimentary at the Shawmont, too, and in baskets in the lobby. At all times, there is also complimentary coffee in an insulated thermos and hot water for tea in the kitchen in the back of the lobby.Guests can go into the kitchen at any time for coffee, ice, or to use the microwave on premises. Cold bottled water is also available for $1 and sold on the honor system. When my husband went down for the danish and coffee, he requested a late checkout (by about an hour) but the woman at the front desk said she could not accommodate the request as she was not the owner and there was a $50 fee for staying late and she didn't know if that pertained to overstaying by an hour or longer. She was kind enough to keep our luggage behind the front desk, though, so we could enjoy the rest of our day and also use the porch, lobby, bathroom, and kitchen for as long as we wanted. The Shawmont sells beach passes for $5 each (a $3 savings on each pass than if you buy them on the beach) and also has fresh towels in the lobby that you can use, as long as you sign for them and return them. We checked out, rented two chairs and an umbrella for $20 and enjoyed a lovely afternoon on the beach. When rain threatened, we retreated back to the front porch for an afternoon snack and drink. It's just the perfect place to unwind and relax. The whole town, in general, is quiet and relaxing (but with just enough shops and things to do.) It has an old fashioned feel that will make you feel like you've stepped back in time. You will not feel obligated to do anything here at all if all you want to do is relax. We enjoyed walking the beach into Asbury Park (about a ten minute walk) while taking in a spectacular sunset, then enjoying a meal at one of our favorite restaurants there (there are many!) Perks - parking is free in Ocean Grove and the ocean view can't be beat. Drawbacks - there aren't many. A little more attention can be paid to the breakfast (porcelain coffee cups would be better than paper), but if you want to enjoy the ocean breeze, stroll the beach, read, or relax, the Shawmont can't be beat. Leave the i-pads at home, since the lobby internet is spotty anyway, and just enjoy the lovely surroundings. After a very busy June, I felt rejuvenated after a day and a half get away. That's Ocean Grove and the Shawmont in a nutshell.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money for an oceanfront view - it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ticcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Layton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed in a Queen Premium, #205, on the third floor. Lovely spacious room with tiny lovely balcony. Hotel was clean and staff were pleasant.
No complaints - just two comments: bring your own hair dryer and we couldn't turn off the Spanish subtitles on the TV.
Breakfast was lovely with coffee available all day long. Reduced price beach tags and complimentary beach towels. Yes, we will come again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rozenburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed at Shawmont for one night only, before we flew back home from Newark.
The Shawmont is a nice hotel, with a great location.
It also has a nice porch, were you can sit in the shade and watch people passing by.
We stayed in room #201 which has a beautiful view on the Atlantic. You also have access to a private balcony. We enjoyed our short stay very much.

** BEWARE ** when you park your car in front of the hotel, be sure to park it in the direction of Bradley Beach (to the South). We parked our car in the direction of the old casino and got a parking ticket of $54. It would be nice if the hotel informed the guests about this, because the woman at the reception said she knew about it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Renee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

We spent a week at this hotel and really enjoyed it! In the past, we had stayed for a two night weekend which was great but a full week was so much better. The staff is always there to help, the room is clean and the ocean is right across the street..can't ask for anything else.
Thanks again, Shawmont, for a great Jersey shore vacation.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 106 with a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarcoOldBridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

Beautiful location. Block from beach. Adequate lodging, clean w/ friendly staff. Wrap around porch lovely. No breakfast included in rate :( Easy access to walk to new boardwalk. Near lots of amenities. Area itself is very quaint. Very close to downtown OG. Great shopping/walking area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HibernianFemale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Grove
0.8 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.5 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#2 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
1.0 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#4 of 6 in Asbury Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Neptune
0.1 mi away
The Carriage House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shawmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shawmont Hotel

Property: Shawmont Hotel
Address: 17 Ocean Ave, Ocean Grove, NJ 07756-1662
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Ocean Grove
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ocean Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shawmont is a fully refurbished 30 room hotel facing the Ocean, in historic Ocean Grove NJ right on the NJ shore. All rooms have private baths, AC, and Cable TV. Built in 1865 all rooms have updated and many have outstanding ocean views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shawmont Hotel Ocean Grove, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing