We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a perfect off-season oceanfront hotel”
Review of Shawmont Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocean Grove
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shawmont Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ocean Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2009

I went to the Shawmont after attending a nearby conference and picked it on the basis of its proximity to the oean and decent prices. We stayed there on a Wednesday night in late April and had the entire 30 room hotel to ourselves with the exception of one of the desk workers who was staying there. It turned out that the room we had selected (top floor, facing the ocean) was directly next to her room. She had a young child and we were afraid that we might keep each other awake so we moved down one floor. Staff were gracious about our requests and totally professional and so we also got to look at a few rooms while we were moving around.

The "ocean view" rooms are on the sides of the hotel. The ones that face north are bright and the ones that face south are darker because they face the neighboring hotel. The top floor rooms share access to a ocean front porch and the second floor rooms have doors in the rooms that open directly on to the porch that overlooks the beach which is directly across the street. The rooms in the back of the hotel are smaller and share bathrooms but are still quite nice looking. The rooms were well appointed -- ours had a large bed, very nice bathroom, minifridge, television and nightstands. The light stayed on in the hallway all night but wth the door to the room closed we could not see the light at all which was impressive. We were able to park right out front -- I am sure this would not be the case in tourist season -- and the town was incredibly quiet and great for walking around in with lots of nearby restaurants and shops.

The bed was comfortable, the bedding was clean and fresh smelling and we slept wonderfully. In the morning there was fresh coffee -- they don't do breakfast in the off season -- and we sat on our porch overlooking the ocean until checkout time (11, but we asked for an received an extra hour). The wireless worked well, though the woman at the desk forgot to give us the password which is simply the hotel phone number. We didn't take advantage of the kitchen facilities or the common spaces but both were clean and well cared for.

I was incredibly impressed with the level of service and the beauty and comfort of this hotel, especially given the off season prices. Truly a gem.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jessamyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 109 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2008

I wanted to get away for the weekend so I booked a room for 2 nights at the Shawmont in Ocean Grove, NJ. I had a very nice relaxing time. The hotel is right up by the ocean. My room was nice and clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. I prefer September at the beach - no crowds, less traffic, the rates go down and the parking is great. There is a boardwalk and you can also rent bikes. One of the nice things about Ocean Grove is you can walk to just about everything. I recommend it!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Salem13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2008

The location of the hotel was wonderful. The property sits right across from the ocean.. The view is superb you can have fun just people watching. One issue I had with this hotel was that at breakfast there is only one small round table in front of a window. There is no other spot in the two living rooms to sit down and eat at a table. There are couches and chairs and some cocktail tables but if you come with a group it is difficult to sit and eat your breakfast. They used paper cups which I do not prefer when I am visiting an Inn. I like to see porcelain or glassware when I am enjoying a cup of coffee. Also, what I found at this Inn is that the sound level in the living room seems to disturb the Innkeeper. She made note to keep our voices down while we were conversing with other guests. One of the enjoyments of an Inn is the ability to meet other people from other parts of the country or perhaps the world. I have never come across such rudeness from an innkeeper. Unfortunately, in this Inn silence is Golden, a library would be a livelier place to visit.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ToniA226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Olga K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Grove
0.9 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#3 of 6 in Asbury Park
2,666 reviews
0.5 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#2 of 6 in Asbury Park
319 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Albatross Hotel
Albatross Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ocean Grove
58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lillagaard Inn Bed and Breakfast
6.5 mi away
Ocean Place Resort & Spa
Ocean Place Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Long Branch
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shawmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shawmont Hotel

Address: 17 Ocean Ave, Ocean Grove, NJ 07756-1662
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Ocean Grove
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ocean Grove
Price Range: £64 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shawmont is a fully refurbished 30 room hotel facing the Ocean, in historic Ocean Grove NJ right on the NJ shore. All rooms have private baths, AC, and Cable TV. Built in 1865 all rooms have updated and many have outstanding ocean views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shawmont Hotel Ocean Grove, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing