We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looking forward to my stay”
Review of The Ocean Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Ocean Plaza
Ranked #3 of 19 Ocean Grove B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montague, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Looking forward to my stay”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I have not stayed here yet I am bringing a group down for Bridgefest in June I have stayed at other inns in Ocean Grove but not this one I sent emails to several Inns and B&B's in Ocean Grove in March only 4 got back to me and the Ocean Plaza was the only one
that could accommodate us Vicki was WONDERFUL!! We emailed several times and spoke on the phone She was so helpful and very pleasant. I stopped in today with one of the group to see the place in person and Vicki was there and she gave us a tour. The front lounge is very inviting , the rooms were clean and lovely and the upstairs porch where breakfast is served was lovely with beautiful views if the ocean I am glad I picked the Ocean Plaza and feel confident that my group will be pleased

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    49
    8
    6
    2
See reviews for
73
92
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I stayed here in May 2014 with my extended family for a wedding. The location had been prearranged for us, and I didn't really know what to expect. Our room was very clean, the bed was really comfortable, and the bathroom had everything we needed. The atmosphere of the inn is warm and welcoming, and there is a great outdoor porch lounging area where the family gathered most mornings and evenings to plan our activities. They provide nice beach towels (the walk to the beach takes 2 minutes and is safe and easy), the breakfasts were delicious and the coffee was good. I highly recommend the Ocean Plaza!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 15, which has a great king bed and a full bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaseyOConnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Orange, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I think that 17 members of my family stayed at the Ocean Plaza Inn from Thursday May 15 through Sunday May 17.

We converged on Ocean Grove from all over the country. Manager Vicki welcomed us and arranged their breakfast porch for a catered dinner for 40 on Thursday night. She and her staff helped with almost every facet of our stay.

We will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bradley Suite which was a duplex apartment with two baths and two bedrooms sleeping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkonel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lecanto, Florida
Level Contributor
272 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We originally received a notification from Travel Zoo, and decided to give it a try. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. They are only a block from the beach and the view from the breakfast room is quite nice as you can see the waves rolling in. Be aware that this is a dry town, so BYOB if you want wine with your dinner at local restaurants. We do plan on returning again this summer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lecano_FlStan43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mendocino, California
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Great customer service, lovely abundant breakfast buffet, super comfortable beds. Loved the painting on the walls and the abundant art. Old Victorians are notorious for thin walls, but everything about this inn makes up for a little noise.

Room Tip: Ask for a Tempurpedic mattress
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ButtonJewels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teaneck, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Very clean and comfortable. Nice people and extremely helpful. Enjoyed our stay even though it was short. Would love to go back. Nice Christian town with beautiful beach. Surrounding areas also lovely.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penna.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We were debating a destination for a 3-day mid-week getaway when a TravelZoo email arrived. Having never been to Ocean Grove, we decided to give it a try. We enjoyed our stay, and the b&b offers very pleasant staff, comfortable beds, and a great continental breakfast. Thanks to Sasha and Rick for the great hospitality. The ocean is a block away and we were the only people on the beach (second week of May). The only issue we had was that the sidewalks roll up quite early in Ocean Grove off-season, and we had to drive around and look for a place to eat dinner the day of our arrival.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #4 on the first floor. The only sound we heard was a train whistle in the night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank urbanite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Grove
0.4 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#2 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.9 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#4 of 6 in Asbury Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Carriage House Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ocean Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean Plaza

Property: The Ocean Plaza
Address: 18 Ocean Pathway, Ocean Grove, NJ 07756-1619
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Ocean Grove
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Ocean Plaza 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located one block from the ocean, this grand century-old hotel was completely restored in 1994 and provides the perfect setting for vacations, relaxing getaways, business travel, family or group get-togethers and weddings. The Plaza is located on historic Ocean Pathway, just a short walk from downtown Ocean Grove with its many unique shops, restaurants and cafes, and walking distance to Asbury Park with its numerous restaurants, art galleries, antique shops and boardwalk. Its numerous balconies and wrap around porches provide magnificent views of the Atlantic Ocean, the famed Great Auditorium and the town's extraordinary Victorian architecture. Their attention to detail with a personal touch makes The Ocean Plaza feel like your own private beach house any time of the year! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Ocean Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ocean Plaza Hotel Ocean Grove
The Ocean Plaza Ocean Grove, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing