We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdoor Dessert”

Nagle's Apothecary Cafe
Ranked #2 of 3 Dessert in Ocean Grove
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
922 reviews
624 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 937 helpful votes
“Outdoor Dessert”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Nagle's is on a corner on the Main Street in this unique seaside town. You can't miss it and you shouldn't. I had a delicious hot fudge sundae with crushed walnuts in the outside seating area under the trees. Wait service is available inside only. Outside you get your own ice cream.. Very reasonable prices. Grab a table first, Parking is on the streets. A cute town with a historic background. Very much worth the drive.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank jeremy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    140
    36
    16
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
allentown
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The Place To Be.............”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We were here for the Choir Festival. What a performance. We're already planning to return next year. And also back to Nagle's. The food was fresh and delicious. My wife had a Greece Chicken Salad and I had an old fashioned Hogan's Hero #3. And to top it off Nagle's is an ice cream parlor. Just a spot to relax and eat and enjoy yourself. This is where I go, when I go to OG. Nagle's.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnyee57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nagle's Food and Service”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We came into Ocean Grove on a Monday and that evening had the Salmon salad and Salmon dinner at Nagle's. Both meals were delicious and filling. The service was quick and extremely friendly. We were anxious to eat there again on Tuesday evening, but sadly, we found out that for some strange reason, they closed on Tuesdays and only serve ice cream threw a window. I wonder if this day is the day of their Sabbath rest. I know we were in a Biblical community.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lambertville, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
492 reviews
276 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Cute setting for ice-cream”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Nagle's Apothecary Cafe is a sweet, old-fashioned coffee shop situated on a corner in Ocean Grove's charming downtown. We stop there for ice-cream each time we are in town. There are usually some great flavors to choose from (I had the salted caramel with almonds this time) and the service is friendly. I notice from other reviews that diners have been met with rude service, but that has never been the case with us.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Szeged, Hungary
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Food's ok”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

The fact that this restaurant is in an old pharmacy which really still looks like it, makes it very special. It's fun but quiet dusty! A placing guy us actually placed in front of the door and he seemed quiet arrogant, which made me consider to go in at all. However, we did! Our 5 year old son loved the hot dog with mushed potatoes and our wrap and burgers where ok if a bit bland and tasteless! However, the service was friendly!

Helpful?
1 Thank Bbtiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nagle's Apothecary Cafe also viewed

Ocean Grove, Jersey Shore
Ocean Grove, Jersey Shore
 
Ocean Grove, Jersey Shore
 
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Nagle's Apothecary Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing