We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, But Not Necessarily Worth the Wait”

SeaGrass Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Ocean Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Staten Island, New York
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good Food, But Not Necessarily Worth the Wait”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Visiting Ocean Grove with friends who took us to Seagrass. One of the attractions was the lobster special. Unfortunately, they ran out by 6:45 when we ordered. We ordered appetizers and soup along with the main course. Each course came out after a long wait. The main course didn't arrive until 8:30. On the plus side, the food was tasty. Management offered free desserts to compensate for the wait.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nsl1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    112
    46
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tasty food, service could be better..”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Really tasty food, but the table service could be better... also waiting time for the (tasty) dishes could be shorter, or at least patrons may be warned of the waiting time;

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pawel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So Good!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This food is delicious! It took a while for for our dishes to arrive, but this restaurant was probably the highlight of my stay in Ocean Grove.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Murielglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgewood
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food, medium service”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

They are so popular and busy that it was difficult to get a table even at 9pm.. granted it was Saturday night. But the 40 minute wait was worth it (they dont make reservations). Food was Manhattan-worthy. For lunch we came there with children and they loved calamari and shrimp pasta. I really enjoyed the scallops salad.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Anastasia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MD
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious as usual”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

What a lovely place to go to sit outside and enjoy a delectable meal. I went twice on my recent trip to Ocean Grove and was delighted each time. The bread they bring out is warm and comes with rosemary butter. I had the seafood pasta one night and the panko crusted crab cakes the other and they were both superb meals. The pasta is the one that will make me come back again and again though.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank psuturtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SeaGrass Restaurant also viewed

Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
 
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
Avon by the Sea, NJ
 

Been to SeaGrass Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing