We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't Ask For More!”
Review of The Melrose

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocean Grove
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Melrose
Ranked #4 of 19 Ocean Grove B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We have been having family reunions here twice a year for ten years. It was a huge upgrade from the place we had been staying previously in Ocean Grove (which closed). The Melrose is now our home-away-from-home in Ocean Grove and Randy, the proprietor, is like a favorite uncle. He is warm, always helpful, and an amazing cook! He makes great breakfasts, and has fantastic barbeque meals on special occasions. Randy even bakes every day and leaves a small container of cookies out side of each room in the evening. That sure beats a mint on the pillow! They even provide free beach passes and beach towels! All the rooms are clean and quiet, and each individual room has a cute design theme of its own. We are so happy that we found the Melrose and could not recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: The corner front rooms overlook the charming street and have large, sunny windows. The back rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

I will be going back to Ocean Grove not just for the beautiful town and beach, but also for Melrose Inn. Randy is the perfect host. Such a beautiful inn. Wouldn't want to stay anywhere but here. Thank you

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JCCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This is about the 7th or 8th year (maybe more but I loose trace of time) we have been coming to the Melrose for Choir Festival Weekend. The standing joke is Randy will keep us if we behave. We have had a few sad experiences with other B&B's at Ocean Grove -- from having our reservations lost so the owner could accommodate a society wedding to some that were a little questionable. Anyway we always have a good time with Randy. The breakfasts are good and of course coming home in the evening and finding those home made cookies is always a treat. This year we experienced a problem with the toilet and as the paper in the room told us, we called Randy on his cell. We were out for the evening and by the time we returned home (after our ice cream treat at Days), the problem was solved. It is always a fun time at the Melrose with Randy and Dan. We look forward to going again next year. Randy is a delight!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helga U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The Melrose B & B is ideally situated steps from the beach in Ocean Grove, close to the boardwalk in Asbury Park and a few blocks from the chic new restaurants downtown. This was a last minute reservation and Randy and Dan went all out to welcome us, fresh-baked cookies included. The room was decorated in tastefully appointed antiques, the bed was comfortable, and the sleep was good. Ocean Grove has a very interesting history and these guys gave us a good overview about this spot on the Jersey Shore. Randy and Dan are caring innkeepers, watching out for their guests' comfort. For a stay at Asbury Park, the Melrose is a good option. and if you haven't been to Ocean Grove, it's worth exploring.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank NYAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We have gone to the Melrose every June for 14 years. In that time we have seen Asbury Park change from an eyesore to a destination. Ocean Grove, on the other hand, has stayed pretty much the same: a quiet town that you can relax in, go to the beach or check out the yard sales. On several occasions we've been lucky to catch an event at the Great Auditorium. At night there are lots of restaurants and the bridge to Asbury is right there. Cross it and you've got more nice restaurants, great independent movies and antique stores.

Room Tip: Tell Randy what you want in a room, and let him steer you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I needed a last minute place to stay with my husband, 3 year old daughter and dog, Randy was very accommodating. Where as most places in Ocean Grove either absolutely do not accept pets or young children. Right from the start meeting Randy was like meeting an old friend I hadn't seen for a long time even though we've never met we clicked like good old friends. He really made us all feel like we were at home. He was always available for any needs we had and never made you feel uneasy. Randy is an exceptional baker we really miss his night time cookie snacks made from scratch. We always looked forward returning to our room and find our cookies by our door. I wish we could've received at least a dozen of them because my husband hogged them. Naturally a dozen is a bit much. The air condition worked great. There's always plenty of beach towels accessible to you. Even though I missed my home it was hard to part from a place that made me feel like I was home. Thank You Randy for making our stay so pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mirna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed at The Melrose on my first impromptu visit to Asbury Park a few years ago and always looked forward to returning. Stayed there again this past July 4th weekend and can’t wait to visit again. First, the location is perfect. Practically the last block in Ocean Grove making the walk to the Asbury boardwalk and beaches a breeze; the walk to Asbury’s “downtown” was just a short walk along the river and cross a footbridge; the walk to Ocean Grove’s “downtown” was just as easy. (Hint...you can purchase wine in AP then enjoy it with your meal in OG) The room was clean, bright and comfortable. The breakfast was hearty…juice, freshly cut fruit, a bountiful plate of hot entrée and of course coffee. Fresh towels to take to the beach, fresh towels in your room upon request. For location, comfort, value and a full belly The Melrose is the perfect choice.

Room Tip: The hosts will fill you in on the rooms. I have stayed in The Chippendale Suite and The Edwardian R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmpireGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Grove
0.7 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#3 of 6 in Asbury Park
2,697 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
297 reviews
0.2 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#2 of 6 in Asbury Park
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bellevue Stratford Inn
Bellevue Stratford Inn
#12 of 19 in Ocean Grove
37 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Carriage House Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
The Ocean Plaza Hotel
The Ocean Plaza Hotel
#3 of 19 in Ocean Grove
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Melrose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Melrose

Address: 34 Seaview Ave, Ocean Grove, NJ 07756
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Ocean Grove
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean Grove
Price Range: £60 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Melrose Ocean Grove, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing