We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Carriage House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 19 Ocean Grove B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Absolutely spotless. The best host and hostess. Very convenient to the beach, shopping and the boardwalk.
We loved it. We loved everything about it. It was a great weekend.
We are VERY sorry that this year they are totally booked so we have to go stay somewhere else....

Room Tip: It's a little tight going up the stairs so be careful if you have a lot of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eylana418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

The Carriage House is a gem. The owners make you feel right at home. The service is incredible! I enjoyed the stay very much - it was the perfect weekend getaway. Masha cooks the best Russian food for breakfast!! I will definitely be returning next summer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miche D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We spent a wonderful night at this lovely place in Ocean Grove, NJ. It is a block from the Ocean--from our window in Room 4 we got a good view of the beach and the waves. Kathi and Phil Franco are wonderful hosts--Phil is a delightful person who gives helpful suggestions and Kathi provides terrific breakfasts.

This was a large boarding house in the small, pleasant town which was converted into a B & B with 8 rooms, a large front porch, a sitting area and in the lower level, a breakfast room. There is free wifi and pleasant ensuite rooms with free wifi. Our room had a comfortable queen size bed and here was a fireplace in the room. A hot breakfast is served buffet style from 9 to 10 AM. There were 4 tasty hot items including a great stuffed french toast and spinach quiche, as well as pastry, cereal, juice and coffee/tea. Some unusual dishes that I never had before, but they were all excellent. A word of caution--this place has many steps to climb--there are 3 floors plus the breakfast area on the lower level--it might not be suitable for someone with physical problems who cannot climb steps.

Many thanks to Kathi and Phil for making our stay so pleasant. We strongly recommend the Carriage House and hope to return sometime soon.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pnemiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Just returned from an overnight stay at this bed and breakfast. It was exactly what we needed to renew and refresh ourselves. It was clean, comfortable, and felt like home. The breakfast was wonderful and we will definitely consider returning.

Room Tip: We were in room 3 which was very nice...warm fireplace. However, if you are looking for a view the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smile29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Ocean Grove, NJ, is a Landmark community where buildings must conform to maintaining Victorian style and appearance. In this setting, the Carriage House is an Award-winning inn that feels and looks like a dollhouse from the era.
However, the B&B offers comfort, cleanliness, convenience and meals that brush aside any of the age's shortcomings.
This is a dazzling place to rest, a block and change from the beach, 2 blocks from Main Ave. shops and restaurants and only short walk from boardwalk amenities.
The hosts are wonderful, friendly and attentive. And while keeping the feel of the late 19th Century, they also offer Premium Cable, free wi-fi and all the latest conveniences.
Details will vary room to room, meal to meal, but the experience is a constant - and a thorough delight.

Room Tip: All rooms are one or two flights up from the main floor, by stairs. If managing a climb is a proble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GettinOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

My wife and I stayed here recently, and we thought it was really great. The owners, Kathi and Phil, are both very nice and helpful. Breakfast was delicious--a different quiche each day, and some other tasty options, including some fantastic croissants. We stayed in room 8, which has a queen sized bed, a small sitting area, fireplace, and private bathroom. The TV had pretty much all the premium cable channels--HBO, Showtime, Cinemax, Starz, etc.--so we were able to catch up on all the Dexter episodes on Showtime that we've been missing up in NYC due to the Time Warner/CBS dispute.

The Carriage House is two blocks from the beach, and they have beach chairs, boogie boards, umbrellas, and towels that can be borrowed for the day. They also sell reduced price beach passes for $5 instead of the $8 that you pay at the beach. A very quiet, relaxing place for a vacation.

Room Tip: Room 8 doesn't have access to the balcony, and it's on the third floor, but it's a decen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peaks5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

really nice place, rooms are a little small, but most of these b n b's have small rooms, very quaint and elegant though. owners were very attentive, and offered themselves for anything, badges, chairs, coffee, suggestions to restaurants - whatever. breakfasts were good, keishes (which i don't like,) but lacking the basics - toast, hard rolls, scrambled eggs, bagels and butter/cream cheese. coffee should have been a little stronger or darker. overall, not bad, one block from beach. very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: double room facing the ocean side is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Grove
0.9 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
300 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ocean Plaza Hotel
The Ocean Plaza Hotel
#3 of 19 in Ocean Grove
261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lillagaard Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#5 of 19 in Ocean Grove
161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bellevue Stratford Inn
Bellevue Stratford Inn
#12 of 19 in Ocean Grove
37 reviews
2 mi away
The Inn At The Shore
The Inn At The Shore
#3 of 7 in Belmar
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carriage House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carriage House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 18 Heck Ave, Ocean Grove, NJ 07756-1326
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Ocean Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean Grove
Price Range: £69 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Carriage House Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is my beautiful Victorian dream. It has 8 rooms of which 4 have ocean views, 2 have balconies and 5 have fireplaces. I make gourmet buffet breakfasts with a healthy twist. Gluten free and vegetarian dishes can be made upon request. Date balls are always available with tea or coffee. I make a killer quinoa crust veggie quiche. We are a block from the beach and 8 minute walk to Asbury Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your The Carriage House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage House Hotel Ocean Grove
Carriage House Bed And Breakfast
The Carriage House Bed & Breakfast Ocean Grove, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing