We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Carriage House Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Empress Hotel(Asbury Park)(Great Value!)
US$297
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Asbury Hotel(Asbury Park)(Great Value!)
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Oceanic Inn(Asbury Park)
US$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Crystal Inn(Neptune)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shawmont Hotel(Ocean Grove)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Albatross Hotel(Ocean Grove)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveller rating
153
18
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
153
18
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquicheb bdietary needshome madeasbury parkbeach towelsbreakfast was amazingan amazing cookan outstanding jobfelt at home immediatelycozy gas fireplacehost and hostessperiod decordelightful personblintzeshealthy choicesrecommending local restaurants
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 173 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We really liked this B&B. The rooms are comfortable and clean, the breakfast was excellent and plentiful, and the location is great, near the beach and town. Ocean Grove is quite an interesting place, with amazingly preserved beach homes with unique architecture. Possibly the best part of Carriage House was chatting with the owner Phil, who felt like a good friend after 1 day, and was always ready to help with any request. Highly recommended, and I don't say that too often

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jwolfgang9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We spent two nights at this charming B&B. The inn is very clean and well is nicely decorated. The owners were very accommodating to our dietary needs. We took the train out and avoided the traffic and parking. The beach and restaurants are a short walk away. It was a perfect two-day getaway.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Absolutely spotless. The best host and hostess. Very convenient to the beach, shopping and the boardwalk.
We loved it. We loved everything about it. It was a great weekend.
We are VERY sorry that this year they are totally booked so we have to go stay somewhere else....

Room Tip: It's a little tight going up the stairs so be careful if you have a lot of luggage.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eylana418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The Carriage House is a gem. The owners make you feel right at home. The service is incredible! I enjoyed the stay very much - it was the perfect weekend getaway. Masha cooks the best Russian food for breakfast!! I will definitely be returning next summer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miche D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We spent a wonderful night at this lovely place in Ocean Grove, NJ. It is a block from the Ocean--from our window in Room 4 we got a good view of the beach and the waves. Kathi and Phil Franco are wonderful hosts--Phil is a delightful person who gives helpful suggestions and Kathi provides terrific breakfasts.

This was a large boarding house in the small, pleasant town which was converted into a B & B with 8 rooms, a large front porch, a sitting area and in the lower level, a breakfast room. There is free wifi and pleasant ensuite rooms with free wifi. Our room had a comfortable queen size bed and here was a fireplace in the room. A hot breakfast is served buffet style from 9 to 10 AM. There were 4 tasty hot items including a great stuffed french toast and spinach quiche, as well as pastry, cereal, juice and coffee/tea. Some unusual dishes that I never had before, but they were all excellent. A word of caution--this place has many steps to climb--there are 3 floors plus the breakfast area on the lower level--it might not be suitable for someone with physical problems who cannot climb steps.

Many thanks to Kathi and Phil for making our stay so pleasant. We strongly recommend the Carriage House and hope to return sometime soon.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pnemiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews