We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing B&B... Can't wait to come back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lillagaard Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 19 Ocean Grove B&B and Inns
Binghamton, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing B&B... Can't wait to come back”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I have stayed in various B&B's in Ocean Grove, Belmar and others on the Jersey Shore but have never had a more welcoming experience than with the hosts at the Lillagaard. Dick and Jane were so amazing .. . And breakfast was made up of fresh fruit in addition to pancakes and sausage one morning... To eggs and sausage the next. Plus they offered freshly prepared oatmeal, homemade cheesecake, yogurts...endless. Rooms were super clean, it's a place you could get lost in and spend the whole day looking at the antiques. Used to stay at Shawmont...they are no frills. The Lillagard was much more comfortable, great linens (important!), soft towels, close to the beach and even discounted beach passes. The owner is writing a book on the history of the hotel, some of the great stories of their guests and how they helped them recover from Hurricane Sandy. I can't wait for it and a return THIS Summer to my favorite new find. Thank you for an outstanding getaway.

Room Tip: Each room has a unique theme. Select one to fit your personality. Each room is hand painted by a loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    15
    10
    5
    5
See reviews for
12
38
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Catskill, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My sister and I had a very nice stay at the Lillaaard! The hosts, Dick and Jane, are friendly and accommodating and the full breakfast was a delicious treat. It's right off the ocean and we loved the antiques and décor, as well.

Room Tip: stairs may not be accessible for some.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeD472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I stayed at the Lillagaard in July, 2013 and although it's in the middle of tourist season, I barely knew it. Granted, I did stay in the middle of the week so can't say what it's like on the weekends. This B&B is in a great location on a side street with the beach a short minute walk away. Shopping and places to eat are a few 2-3 blocks away. Parking (always free) is on both sides of the one way street in front or on Ocean Avenue facing the beach. I arrived on a Thursday at noon and scored a great parking spot facing the beach and that's where I left the car since I had no need to drive during my stay. The rooms are comfortable but not huge. I had a corner room so plenty of windows on 2 sides, private bath, with a sink in the bedroom area, ceiling fan, and A/C unit in one of the windows. Halfway down the hallway is a door to the spacious outdoor porch where I enjoyed an early evening breeze, a cold soda, and a book. Keep in mind there is a heavy Victorian influence in Ocean Grove and this B&B exemplifies that in its architecture and decor. In the parlor there are Victorian style knick-knacks, furnishings, and decorations, and the rooms also retain that late 19th to early 20th century 'look'. The hosts, Dick and Jane, are friendly and gracious, Dick efficiently checking me in and Jane overseeing breakfast the next day. The breakfast was overflowing with fresh fruit, delicious omelets, sausages, French toast, jams, muffins, Danishes, cheese, and the usual beverages. Be aware this B&B is not handicapped accessible and there are stairs down to breakfast and up to the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank di_lithium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

This was so quaint. Loved Jane. Very friendly. A little pricey but expected for location. Great shopping and food! There are a lot of stairs if handicapped in that area,so are all the other b& b's for the most part/ not all.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjliawl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed at Lillagaard in Ocean Grove for 2 nights at the end of June 2013. We totally loved it: convenient location (a 10-15 minute walk from Asbury Park train station (just in case you don't want to drive!), a 5-minute walk to the restaurants & shopping on Main Avenue, and a 1-minute walk to the beach), gracious hosts (owners Dick and Jane), very comfortable and clean rooms, and generous and varied breakfast. Expedia mucked up our reservation, but Dick and Jane more than just remedied that. It is an old house, but it is full of character, and Dick and Jane keep the bedrooms and common areas spotless and up to date. We have already recommended their place to a couple of friends. And we will be back ourselves!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eurosailornewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

We had a party for a friend in the tea room. The room is lovely, decor sweet and time evocative. They have plenty of beautiful hats for patrons to play in.
What they lack is the flexibility it takes to give customer service. The tables were set and we waited for the birthday girl. No service until she showed up- we played with hats and picked our seats. We fineally asked and could have punch while we waited. We then had to explain that an extra guest had come- we were fine with sharing food, we just needed an extra place setting.
This is when the fury began. We took one place setting so the one was not alone at a table, but the tea nazi insisted that four move from the head table. That left three at the head table? And why was there room for one at another table? And we at the little table were given left overs, no tea for us, no condiments either. Meanwhile the head table with four had two trays ( for six, originally) and everyone at " real" tables got seconds and left with to- go boxes. Oh, and there were twenty unused teapots around. Everyone, including us, were full and had alot to talk about. The food was good, really. And we did enjoy ourselves. Just don't throw a wrench in this womans plans. She can't take it. Not without taking someone down with her.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Zolazoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canadensis, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

A truly wonderful experience at my 'first' B&B. Jane stayed up late for our arrival as the flight from Denver was delayed. In the morning, Dick was more than accommodating as to our breakfast desires. Even when we arrived after breakfast hours (sorry about that, just enjoyed 'sleeping in'), our hosts were more than accommodating. Our room was quite large and comfortable. The Franklin type stove with fireplace flames was quite romantic. The large, airy porch was a fabulous venue to sit and enjoy the ocean sights and sounds as well as snuggling up with a good book! So relaxing and a fabulous value!

Room Tip: I highly recommend 'The Americana'. Large, clean, and comfy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mujivail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Grove
1.1 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#3 of 6 in Asbury Park
2,353 reviews
0.6 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#2 of 6 in Asbury Park
295 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Albatross Hotel
Albatross Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ocean Grove
57 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ocean View Inn
The Ocean View Inn
#8 of 19 in Ocean Grove
36 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ocean Plaza
The Ocean Plaza
#3 of 19 in Ocean Grove
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lillagaard Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lillagaard Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Lillagaard Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 5 Abbott Ave, Ocean Grove, NJ 07756-1301
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Ocean Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Lillagaard Inn Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lillagaard Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lillagaard Hotel Ocean Grove
Lillagaard Inn b&b
Lillagaard Inn Bed And Breakfast Ocean Grove, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing