We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too expensive”
Review of Laingdon Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocean Grove
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Laingdon Hotel
Ranked #11 of 19 Ocean Grove B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 September 2010

although the views of the ocean were beautiful, the cost of the room was outrageous for what services we received.
the very meager cold breakfast ( basically children's cereal and toast) was buffet-style on paper plates and plastic forks!
the little closet that was set up as the "hospitality room" had water, soda and chips that you had to pay $1.00 each for!
when we asked for an extra pillow ( the pillows we had in our room were as hard as sacks of cement!) we were ignored.. no extra pillows
the innkeepers were ill-suited as innkeepers, I got the impression that we were an inconvenience to them as they were constantly babysitting for their daughter's kids. I felt like we were in a daycare center!
our room was never vacuumed and the bathroom was not cleaned daily, and when we left teacups for the chambermaid to remove the next day when she cleaned the room, they were left there for days!
the air conditioner leaked water so there were towels left under it to catch the water
there was no parking, you had to try to find a spot on the street everyday
Bottom line... perhaps if the room rate was at least half of what it was, maybe I would cut them a little slack, but we have traveled extensively and this did not meet our standards

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank likesthebeach11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
There are newer reviews for Laingdon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2010

What a pleasant surprise. I knew we would like being by the shore but the family and the atmosphere of the house were so accommodating and friendly. I enjoyed it and my mom had a fantastic time handing out on the huge upper deck porch watching the dolphins go by. What's really great is the proximity to great restaurants, antique shops and places to hear live music (Asbury Park). Lovely!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kcmhenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2009

My sister and I stayed here for our birthday. It is a charming, Victorian decor directly facing the ocean. We stayed on the top floor with the private terrace- you could here the waves crashing, and could see the ocean from your bed!
Angie and Bill were extremely helpful. The decor felt like you were back in time- a perfect quiet getaway from the bustle of NYC. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KARNYCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2009

We found Laingdon House to be a nice, but the most overpriced accomodation during an eight-state tour down the U.S East Coast in June 2008 with two adults + two teenager boys. The elderly couple running Laingdon was nice and the room was large with a nice old-style flavour about it. Also the ocean-view porches were refreshing and comfortable and it was nice to have the beach just across the street.

We found the whole town to be a bit dull (no alcohol served within the town boundaries, by the way), at least in off-season June. This probably contributed to the fact that we felt this was not value for the money. Considering that it's a serene place, just some 50-60 miles away from NYC downtown, may make someone feel the price is right, though.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andelins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2008

My husband and I needed a getaway close to home. I checked out all locations and this was the only one I could find right across the street from the beach on Ocean Ave. The staff is very nice and personable. It is extremely clean and comfortable. The second floor porch was very refreshing, you didn't need to be on the beach to feel the ocean breeze. Continental breakfast included fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, muffins and great coffee. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely return soon.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank girlywhirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2008

We called for a last minute reservation for one night and they were able to accommodate us even though it was short notice and there was usually a two night minimum stay. We had a room on the second floor with a queen size bed, refrigerator, and a nice large bathroom. The room was clean and included nice touches like chocolates and toiletries. Across the hall was a small kitchenette with sink, microwave and sodas/snacks for purchase. The best thing about this hotel is its location. You can literally walk out the front door, across the street, and straight onto the beach. We were able to view the beach from our room and there is a common porch on the first and second floors with nice seating areas. Breakfast is continental and was very basic with english muffins, toast, muffins, watermelon, bananas, cereal, juice, coffee, and tea. Don't expect a fancy breakfast like some B&B's serve. The innkeepers were helpful with a great suggestion for a seafood restaurant for dinner.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewYorker81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2008

We had a great time, the hotel is across from the beach and with the beautiful wide porch, we were able to sit out at night and enjoy a cocktail--bring your own- listen to the waves and visit. I am going back with my husband in Sept. A great place to visit,

Thanks Laura for all the little extras.

SZ

PS sorry no photos, Forgot my camera

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachlady63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Grove
0.8 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#3 of 6 in Asbury Park
2,602 reviews
0.3 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#2 of 6 in Asbury Park
313 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lillagaard Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Bellevue Stratford Inn
Bellevue Stratford Inn
#12 of 19 in Ocean Grove
37 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ocean Plaza
The Ocean Plaza
#3 of 19 in Ocean Grove
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laingdon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laingdon Hotel

Address: 8 Ocean Ave, Ocean Grove, NJ 07756-1666
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Ocean Grove
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean Grove
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Laingdon Hotel Ocean Grove, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing