We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location missing a beat”
Review of Laingdon Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocean Grove
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Laingdon Hotel
Ranked #12 of 19 Ocean Grove B&B and Inns
New York
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great location missing a beat”
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Spent Labor Day weekend at this hotel with our 2 grown children. Although the hotel has been renovated and looks nice, the innkeepers need to treat their guests with a more welcoming and warm attitude. Our room was lovely looking but the air conditioning was not working in the part of the suite where our kids were sleeping (and it was very hot). After discussing the issue with the innkeeper, he knocked on our door a short time later and told us "my wife and I discussed it, we think you won't be happy here, we are going to refund your money and you can go somewhere else!!!" and walked out of our room. We were shocked by the inappropriateness of his reaction. Where were we going to go on Labor Day weekend at this point! We were so looking forward to our family time together, we decided to stay. A while later, the daughter came to our room with a fan and apologized for her father's behavior, but the damage was done!
We made the best of the weekend. It is unfortunate because the hotel is right at the beach, we had an ocean view from our room. We would never go back there nor would we recommend this hotel to anyone, find another place. By the way, the beach does not open on Sunday before 12:30, big drawback to this town. The towns close by would be a better choice if you want to get on the beach earlier on Sunday.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NewYorkTravellady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    20
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
12
27
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterbury, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

although the views of the ocean were beautiful, the cost of the room was outrageous for what services we received.
the very meager cold breakfast ( basically children's cereal and toast) was buffet-style on paper plates and plastic forks!
the little closet that was set up as the "hospitality room" had water, soda and chips that you had to pay $1.00 each for!
when we asked for an extra pillow ( the pillows we had in our room were as hard as sacks of cement!) we were ignored.. no extra pillows
the innkeepers were ill-suited as innkeepers, I got the impression that we were an inconvenience to them as they were constantly babysitting for their daughter's kids. I felt like we were in a daycare center!
our room was never vacuumed and the bathroom was not cleaned daily, and when we left teacups for the chambermaid to remove the next day when she cleaned the room, they were left there for days!
the air conditioner leaked water so there were towels left under it to catch the water
there was no parking, you had to try to find a spot on the street everyday
Bottom line... perhaps if the room rate was at least half of what it was, maybe I would cut them a little slack, but we have traveled extensively and this did not meet our standards

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank likesthebeach11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

What a pleasant surprise. I knew we would like being by the shore but the family and the atmosphere of the house were so accommodating and friendly. I enjoyed it and my mom had a fantastic time handing out on the huge upper deck porch watching the dolphins go by. What's really great is the proximity to great restaurants, antique shops and places to hear live music (Asbury Park). Lovely!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kcmhenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2009

My sister and I stayed here for our birthday. It is a charming, Victorian decor directly facing the ocean. We stayed on the top floor with the private terrace- you could here the waves crashing, and could see the ocean from your bed!
Angie and Bill were extremely helpful. The decor felt like you were back in time- a perfect quiet getaway from the bustle of NYC. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KARNYCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borga (Porvoo), Finland
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2009

We found Laingdon House to be a nice, but the most overpriced accomodation during an eight-state tour down the U.S East Coast in June 2008 with two adults + two teenager boys. The elderly couple running Laingdon was nice and the room was large with a nice old-style flavour about it. Also the ocean-view porches were refreshing and comfortable and it was nice to have the beach just across the street.

We found the whole town to be a bit dull (no alcohol served within the town boundaries, by the way), at least in off-season June. This probably contributed to the fact that we felt this was not value for the money. Considering that it's a serene place, just some 50-60 miles away from NYC downtown, may make someone feel the price is right, though.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andelins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2008

My husband and I needed a getaway close to home. I checked out all locations and this was the only one I could find right across the street from the beach on Ocean Ave. The staff is very nice and personable. It is extremely clean and comfortable. The second floor porch was very refreshing, you didn't need to be on the beach to feel the ocean breeze. Continental breakfast included fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, muffins and great coffee. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely return soon.

  • Liked — second floor porch
  • Disliked — everything was great
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank girlywhirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2008

We called for a last minute reservation for one night and they were able to accommodate us even though it was short notice and there was usually a two night minimum stay. We had a room on the second floor with a queen size bed, refrigerator, and a nice large bathroom. The room was clean and included nice touches like chocolates and toiletries. Across the hall was a small kitchenette with sink, microwave and sodas/snacks for purchase. The best thing about this hotel is its location. You can literally walk out the front door, across the street, and straight onto the beach. We were able to view the beach from our room and there is a common porch on the first and second floors with nice seating areas. Breakfast is continental and was very basic with english muffins, toast, muffins, watermelon, bananas, cereal, juice, coffee, and tea. Don't expect a fancy breakfast like some B&B's serve. The innkeepers were helpful with a great suggestion for a seafood restaurant for dinner.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYorker81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean Grove
0.8 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#3 of 6 in Asbury Park
2,517 reviews
0.3 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#2 of 6 in Asbury Park
303 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Albatross Hotel
Albatross Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ocean Grove
57 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lillagaard Inn Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
The Ocean View Inn
The Ocean View Inn
#9 of 19 in Ocean Grove
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laingdon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laingdon Hotel

Property: Laingdon Hotel
Address: 8 Ocean Ave, Ocean Grove, NJ 07756-1666
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Ocean Grove
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean Grove
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Laingdon Hotel Ocean Grove, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing