We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent burgers”
Review of bucu Burger Bar & Bakery - CLOSED

bucu Burger Bar & Bakery
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Takeout
Description: BUCU Burger Bar & Bakery is an exciting new burger/bakery concept restaurant in NJ based on custom burgers, scratch baked cupcakes and cookies, frozen yogurt and premium ice cream shakes.The restaurant has two distinct aspects to it.The “BURGER BAR” is devoted to making burgers customized to your specs. You are able to pick the elements of the burger and make it your own. Just choose your bun, burger or burgers, toppings and sauces. We have also composed a few tasty versions of our own. In addition, we serve fresh, hand cut french fries, sweet potato fries, onion rings and some monster toppings (don’t miss the smoky Pulled Pork on a burger or on the fries – Awesome!!) Rounding out the menu are 3 versions of wings and fresh Artisan sandwiches including fresh Turkey, Ham and many unique combinations (Cuban, Italian etc…) in Panini form or as a cold sandwich.The “BAKERY & MILK BAR” is devoted to serving:Fresh baked items such as “made from scratch” cupcakes (The Best Cupcakes on Earth) and cookies in many flavors.Yummy Frozen Yogurt and Cookie/Ice Cream Sandwiches are also available – here you select a fresh baked bottom cookie – an ice cream center – and a top cookie… Totally custom and totally delicious.Last but not least, we use Ultra Premium Ice Cream in our shakes, cups and cookie sandwiches.
North Bergen, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent burgers”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Great place for a casual meal. The burgers, salads, cupcakes, milkshakes are all exceptional! I definitely prefer their burgers over Bobby's burger palace. The staff is very helpful and the place is spotless. Give it a try, you'll like it!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mafalda078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    7
    1
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Amazing.. A gem”
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Found this place randomly after leaving the outlets..had the best veggie burger of my life and perhaps the best cupcake of my life. I cannot wait to go back. I wish I could have tried all the cupcakes!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kabecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BERGEN COUNTY,N.J.
Level 6 Contributor
1,157 reviews
804 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
“Top of my North Jersey Hamburger List”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Burger places are popping up all over the area,we tried this one last week and were pleasantly surprised.I had the Jersey burger which featured apple wood bacon,it hit me just right because I consider this place on top of Bobby burger, Smashburger and of course Boom burger.The service was similar to the other places you order they give you a number and you wait.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChALUTCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Bucu -- Just okay burger, if you can get it.”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

After seeing its website online, we decided to try Bucu Burger. Bucu is a casual place where you order at the counter, are given a number, and then your food is delivered to your seat.

The good: The restaurant is clean, and the staff were working diligently to keep it that way. The menu is simple and ordering is easy. The staff was friendly and helpful, even though there was a problem with our order.

The bad: Our order was sent to the kitchen incorrectly. Although they promised to quickly fix the error, it took over a half hour, and we later learned that the kitchen had put in an incorrect order to fix the problem, and it needed to be done over. During that time, one of the three of us was HUNGRY! To make up for the mistake, we were given a complimentary cupcake.

Overall, the burger was just okay. The sauces were nothing special, and the toppings were everyday ordinary offerings. The fries and chips were delicious, but in all honesty, the a/c was turned up so high that they were cold faster than we could eat. Bakery cupcakes looked and tasted delicious, but the cookies were gooey and tasted undercooked. Also, the cookies and cupcakes in the bakery portion of the counter are uncovered, and during our visit, we noted that flies were landing on them. The cupcake portion of the display was also uncovered, and while some cupcakes were taken from the back (and the open counter was used only as a display), others were taken from the open part of the counter, and therefore were subject to the flies--and anything else airborne-- as well.

Overall, it was decided that we would not return to Bucu.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JennInJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
1,543 reviews
591 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,685 helpful votes
“Tasty burgers; great fries;”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We tried this new place for the first time the other night and were pleasantly surprised at the quality and flavor of the burgers and the fries, which were the best I've had in a long time. Not typical frozen fries, but fresh-cut daily fries. The cupcakes are not huge, which is good. One is a nice single serving without feeling stuffed. Yum! The location is on the way home for lots of folks along Rt. 4 east of Rt. 17. The value was remarkable: we both ate for under $20.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LWL3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed bucu Burger Bar & Bakery also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing