We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff Was RUDE / Lovely Historic Building and Grounds”
Review of Lambert Castle

Lambert Castle
Ranked #2 of 11 things to do in Paterson
Attraction details
Metuchen, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Staff Was RUDE / Lovely Historic Building and Grounds”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My family (parents, myself, my 11 yr-old son, my twenty-something brother) and I visited Lambert Castle during the winter holiday season. At Christmastime, the staff of Lambert Castle decorates the castle's interior with holiday decorations (most are for sale). Every room has a beautiful tree and features different themed items for sale (decorations, foodstuffs, furniture, knick-knacks, etc.) During this sales time, we were disappointed to discover that, while we still had to pay the full admission price, most rooms were off-limits. The building is beautiful (don't miss the stained-class window going from the 1st to 2nd floor above one stairway landing). There is a nice photo spot on the castle grounds where there is a large fountain. Basement holds a library with history of neighborhood. Nearly all the staff was extremely rude to my group, speaking to us in condescending tones and ignoring us when we tried inquiring about the building and also about some merchandise pricing. We will NOT be returning because they made it an extremely frustrating visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank MissKrissy2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    29
    9
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Britain, Connecticut
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“beautiful grounds beautiful home”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Lambert Castle is the beautiful home of C Lambert who made a fortune in the silk industry. It is located on Garrett Mountain and has lovely grounds and beautiful views. Built in 1892 it was modeled after an English estate The home contains interesting collections of art and folk art. The docents were great story tellers.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debralovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lots of History!”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This castle is fascinating with history. It tells the story of when silk industry was in Paterson. It's named after Lambert who was the founder of the silk business. The castle itself is amazing with its architect . And everything else you find in a castle. The views from the castle is awesome!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank greatshots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
102 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“An interesting view and place to see the history”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Its a great location for wonderful views of the region. Plus when you go through the museum, you get a true feel for the history of our area. A nice find

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Huisking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paterson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a view”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Great grounds Great view! A piece of history. Definite worth seeing. Gotta hike up to the old tower.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Biljana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lambert Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing