We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and Sun at the shore”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sand Pebble Motor Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2014

a spur of the moment vacation planned a few weeks ahead of time and wanted to go to the shore. This was a place that looked good and also had affordable rates. We had a great time there and also go discounted passes to the beach. Location was a bonus as well, close to the boardwalk and a walk to anywhere.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

We were looking for a last minute place to stay as we always rented homes in the Point Pleasant area, and wanted time to be able just to hang out and not worry about anything else.I called a couple of nights before looking for a room very last minute and they had one left to accommodate the three of us. Bottom line is the rooms are very clean and up to date, with Wi-Fi, refrigerator and very comfortable beds. Not dedicated closest, just an area for hanging some clothes and placing shoes. Bathrooms are a little dated, but again, very clean and well kept. Pool is very nice, an abundance of lounge chairs and a snack bar that serves the BEST sausage sandwich I have had at the shore (Thanks Joe!!!). Again, this isn't a deluxe hotel with all the fancy amenities, but they have the basics if you are not looking to spend major money on a room you wouldn't be in all day anyway.
Across the street is the beach ( badges at a discount) and it's a couple of hundred yards to the boardwalk.
Just a nice place to stay and without going $$$ overboard and centrally located to all areas.

Room Tip: This review is based on the building we were in (the North building) which is the building the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bedandbreakfastfan43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

It's difficult in choosing a place to stay when it comes to the shore. We didn't want the riff-raff of loud and obnoxious people. The Sand Pebble was a great choice for our quick & fun get away. Conveniently located, 1 block from the beach and the entrance to the boardwalk. Everyone who stayed at the hotel during our visit was courteous and respectful. The hotel was clean, the in-ground pool made our last day very relaxing & refreshing. Joe & Fran's Snack Bar at the pool was a big plus for great food at more affordable prices (for breakfast & lunch), as compared to the astronomical prices at the boardwalk. It was also convenient in that we didn't have to drive around and look for parking just for a quick bite (it was an extremely busy weekend in Pt. Pleasant last weekend). My only complaint (that is not motel related) was that the boardwalk was soooooo busy, due to the fact that many places are still not up and running at Seaside, so you had the spillover. Thanks to the friendly staff in accommodating in revising our travel plans. We enjoyed our stay and look forward to visiting again next year! We might even come down for the Chowder Fest in October :)

Room Tip: If you are a couple, stay in the upstairs corridors facing the streets. The kids are up early to go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beach-Girlie-4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

i was very pleased with the place and i loved that when i got up in the morning i just needed to walk outside to the poolside snack bar for coffee and breakfeast i would definetly go back i loved that we were right across the street from the beach and got discounted beach passes everyone was friendly and the pool was crystal clear

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I stayed here for the first time. I was very impressed. Rooms are clean. The hotel staff is very friendly & helpful. The hotel is a very short walk from the beach & boardwalk. They have a great outdoor pool & snack bar. I was pleasantly surprised & would go back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My wife & I stayed a few days at the Sand Pebble earlier this month (7/14) and, for the first time felt let down by the positive reviews we found on the TA site. We understand that shore businesses are dependent on their July & August traffic for the bulk of their annual revenue but, in our opinion, the Sand Pebble does not give value for the price charged. The facility may be best described as rudimentary. The bedding and towels were meager and worn. There was no comfortable chair(s) in the room, no safe ( a necessity in this day & age), no coffee pot, no hair dryer and, even, no schedule of what channels were to be found on the TV.
No complimentary AM coffee was offered although it was available at the on-site café at a charge. The café, though clean & convenient, is quite expensive reflecting its more or less captive audience.
Although we recognize the seasonal nature of shore business (as noted above), we still found the cancellation and early check-out policies draconian.
All in all, we would recommend that people look elsewhere. There has to be a better value and more comfortable alternative to the Sand Pebble.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank tomjvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandpebblenj, Owner at Sand Pebble Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

I thank this guest for taking the time to write a review. I was sad to see that they were not satisfied with their stay..This broke our streak of excellent reviews that we have been getting. I do take all reviews seriously and welcome constructive criticism. However, since this is a public forum, that people use to make their travel plans, I feel I have to respond when comments are inaccurate or unfair.

As for our rates, we take a great deal of time every winter developing our rates for the summer season. We offer consistently the most competitive rates in town. Usually, the cheapest rates on the main Ocean Ave strip. I think we offer a very good value overall, discount beach access, free parking, a large heated pool, clean and spacious rooms, HDTV, a plethora of free cable channels, free WIFI throughout the property and the best location in town.

Blow dryers and other useful items are available for all guests, all you have to do is request them, as per our info sheet given out upon check in. As for towels and linens we use a the very good hotel quality, purchased from HD Supply, one of the best suppliers around.We do not have a list of channels in the room, true, but Comcast Cable offers a detailed guide right on the TV.

The guest mentions our cancellation policy and check out time as being "draconian". This is simply not accurate and unfair We have a two week cancellation policy. This is the same as every hotel in town and very similar to most jersey shore motel/hotels. This is to protect all seasonal hotels against inclement weather cancellations. Our check out time is 11AM, the most common check out time for hotels all around the country. Many hotels offer 12 noon check out, but they usually have 3-4 PM check in. Our check in is 2 PM and we get most people in earlier.

We do not offer free coffee in the summer, that is true, as per our agreement with the gentlemen who runs the snack bar/Grill. If you take a few minutes you will see several other reviewers comment on how reasonable the snack bar's prices are and how great the food is. His prices are also similar to what you pay elsewhere but the quality is much better.

I am truly sorry that their stay did not meet their expectations. Perhaps, the reviewer is an inexperienced traveler unfamiliar with common hotel practices and policies. I do feel many of comments about the Sand Pebble are pretty unfair. It is not cheap to stay at the Jersey shore, but I think we offer as good a value. as possible and better than most. hotels of similar size and prime location. This is born out by our excellent overall reviews and the Certificate of Excellence award issued by Trip Adviser two years in a row.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Wow, we really enjoyed our stay this year for our family vacation. Room were clean and very comfortable. One of the best features was a little breakfast/lunch grill by the pool serving up coffee, French toast...etc. Outdoor music was a great feature also.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank modee5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Point Pleasant Beach
0.7 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#8 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
158 reviews
0.8 mi away
Boardwalk Beach Inn
Boardwalk Beach Inn
#5 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
41 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shore Point Motel
Shore Point Motel
#10 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 7 in Spring Lake
677 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Sands Oceanfront Resort & Spa
White Sands Oceanfront Resort & ...
#11 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
754 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pelican Point Motel
Pelican Point Motel
#1 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Pebble Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Pebble Motor Lodge

Address: 905 Ocean Ave, Point Pleasant Beach, NJ 08742-3343
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Point Pleasant Beach
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Point Pleasant Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Point Pleasant Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Point Pleasant Beach
Price Range: £46 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sand Pebble Motor Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sand Pebble is a family friendly hotel located in an ideal location close to both the beach and boadrwalk. Family owned and operated since 1977, the Sand Pebble offers clean and comfortable rooms at an affordable price. we offer accommodations to fit about every need or budget, from One queen to our luxurious 3 bedroom ocean view apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sand Pebble Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Pebble Motor Hotel Point Pleasant Beach
Sand Pebble Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing