We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay!”
Review of Driftwood Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Driftwood Motel
Certificate of Excellence
Highland Falls, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay!”
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We rented 2 rooms over Labor Day weekend. We were hesitant to book a room in Point Pleasant because we knew the prices would be high for a holiday weekend. We were also worried about what the weather might be. It turned out to be perfect weather for the duration of our stay and just a little overcast/windy upon checking out on Monday.
We arrived to Point Pleasant around noon. The hotel immediately gave us parking passes for their lot and welcomed us to use the pool and beach while waiting for our rooms to be ready. This was so convenient, especially after a long drive with kids (and grandpa!) in the car. We all needed to stretch our legs and were eager to get our toes in the water.
Our rooms were ready by 1pm!
The first thing i noticed about the room was the seemingly fresh coat of paint on the walls. It was obvious the buildings were kind of old, but very well kept. There wasn't any kind of odor. Typically at these beach front motels the rooms can be damp and musty. This room wasn't musty at all. I also checked out our second room, with the same results.
The only thing a little confusing about the room I stayed in was the way the mini fridge was plugged in (extension cord.. and only worked when a light switch was in the ON position). We kept accidentally shutting the fridge off. This wasn't a disaster but we did have some milk and other perishables in there.
The room I stayed in had two double beds and a twin bed... perfect for the two mommies and 2 small kids sharing the room. The other room had two double beds (grandpa and the oldest boy stayed there). Both rooms had a nice sized changing area/closet. The only thing I would have changed about it would be to add some more electrical outlets.
The linens were fresh and clean. We asked for extra towels and received them immediately. Also the 2nd room had an issue with the TV that was quickly resolved.
The private beach had lifeguards (unlike the two bordering beaches). The outdoor pool was sparkling clean. The patio was well kept with ample room for several families to dine.
The snack bar was convenient and the guys cooking the food were absolutely wonderful. The prices at the snack bar are a lot lower than on the boardwalk (almost half the price).
The boardwalk was a few blocks away. It's not a bad walk but for really little kids or older folks (grandparents), it isn't an easy trek. Parking at the boardwalk is very high (up to $40/day).
The staff at the Driftwood were exceptional. They went above and beyond to accommodate our every need (extra towels, taxi, pizza recommendation, burnt light bulbs etc were all promptly handled with a smile).
This place was outstanding!I would recommend The Driftwood Motel to anyone in a heart beat!

Room Tip: At this place, just ask and you shall receive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LetMeTripPLEASE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    51
    24
    14
    14
See reviews for
146
32
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scranton PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Stayed 3 nights 8/26 - 8/28. Loved the patio for breakfast, lunch, and even a moonlight cocktail. Its like a "little resort". You only have to leave to eat dinner. Walked to the boardwalk and restaurants. Rooms very clean, easy access to beach. Everyone, guests and employees, were very friendly. Definitely would return.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Our family [grandparents, children and their families] 11 of us, always go somewhere as a family. This year we picked Pt Pleasant to enjoy the beach, boardwalk, enjoying good food . The driftwood motel is very family friendly. We[ the grandparents] had a room overlooking the beach and the inground heated pool. It was beautiful. They have a snack bar where we can all sit at and enjoy the beautiful view and the sound of the ocean. The management and staff are all very friendly and accomadating. We are ready to book fo next year.

Room Tip: the rooms with a ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwood, NJ
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Just spent 2 nights at the shore, at the Driftwood, and it was a great stay. It is family friendly, clean, with a private beach and a great pool area. This is the second summer for a couple of nights there, and we'll be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Haverstraw, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We just returned from our 4 day/3 night stay at the Driftwood and we had a great time. My hubby went here every year as a kid with his family and loved it so i figured we'd give it a try. It was perfect for me, my hubby and our 2 year old little girl, she had a blast (as did we)! The rooms aren't the Hilton but they are clean. comfy and the hotel staff are great. The private beach is fantastic, the pool is perfect and the snack shack has great coffee so i was ok with there not being a coffee maker in the room, I went down every morning and drank my coffee looking over the ocean!! We walked to the Boardwalk and back everynight (about a 10 minute walk). Sam and Lou at the front desk where great, they suggested Frankies to eat, it was delicious. Also we ate at Shrimp box another night and that was also delicious. Great time and we will be returning next year :)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tinkerbellbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Putnam Valley, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

I am heading down to the Driftwood in 2 days for the 9th or 10th time with my extended family. We keep coming back for the private beach and pool, the great family atmosphere and the close proximity to the Boardwalk. Many of the negative comments in these reviews have some validity (outdated rooms, musty odor at times, insufficient electrical outlets, non-functioning wifi), but careful packing/planning can help with some: A surge suppressor or power strip, 4-cup coffee maker (if you wont wait till 8a when Anthony opens the snack bar), Cloth bath mat, extra hangers, folding drying rack. Good walking shoes. Three years ago my Dad and I were ready to pack the car for the trip home when I thought I discovered 4 flat tires! Not so said Dad...the tires looked that way because I had not moved the car from the same spot for the full 7 days. (Thus solving the poor parking problem). We walked to the Boardwalk and/or restaurants everyday, we walked South to the 7-11 (less than 1/2 mi) for Milk, Bread or snacks. This is one of the best values on the Jersey shore.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kcolonna23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We were there last summer as a family and just spent our 30th wedding aniversary there. We had the ocean view king room. It was clean and comfortable. We are going back next month for our family vacation. The snack bar is great for breakfast and lunch. Pool and grounds are kept clean. Great quiet beach right out your door. Staff is very polite and helpful. Parking is cramped and can be tough to park a big truck.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Point Pleasant Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#6 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sand Pebble Motor Lodge
Sand Pebble Motor Lodge
#5 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
1.3 mi away
Shore Point Motel
Shore Point Motel
#10 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
White Sands Oceanfront Resort & Spa
White Sands Oceanfront Resort & ...
#9 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pelican Point Motel
Pelican Point Motel
#1 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.4 mi away
Windswept Motel
Windswept Motel
#4 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Motel

Property: Driftwood Motel
Address: 1414 Ocean Ave, Point Pleasant Beach, NJ 08742-4148
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Point Pleasant Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Point Pleasant Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Point Pleasant Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Driftwood Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DRIFTWOOD MOTEL is located dirctly on a Private Beach with a snack bar and heat pool call for daily specials ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Driftwood Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel Point Pleasant Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing