We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly Surprised- Michelle K” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amethyst Beach Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amethyst Beach Motel
Certificate of Excellence
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised- Michelle K”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

After staying at other jersey shore beach motels, I did not have high hopes upon booking this motel. However, once we arrived, I was pleasantly surprised. Although a bit dated, the motel room was very clean and it didn't have the odd musty smell that some motel rooms have. The beds were comfortable and clean as well as the bathroom. The pool area with tables for eating/lounging was nice as well. Coffee/bagels in the morning were nice too. The girls in the front office were so friendly and accommodating which was a plus as well. Not too fond of the $10 parking fee, but it's understandable since parking is at a minimum on a busy summer day at the jersey shore. Overall, we had a very nice experience at the Amethyst and will definitely be booking a room there again next summer. The cleanliness of the room and the friendly staff is what will keep us coming back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    93
    27
    31
    44
See reviews for
214
45
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunmore, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

This was our first trip to Point Pleasant Beach and this will be our next trip for years to come. We stayed at the amethyst Beach Motel and it was a great experience. Staff was wonderful, the rooms were clean and the location was great. We had such a great time that we had to stay an extra night. Thanks for a great vacation...See you next year

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandtraveller, General Manager at Amethyst Beach Motel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a positive review, it really means a lot to us.

Thanks.

The Amethyst family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

I thought it was a nice, quiet family place and it was great being close the beach and the town. Also nice touch getting bagels and coffee in the morning. Love the late check out deal. Nice spending the day at the beach, taking a dip in the pool and then heading home.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BuffetGirl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandtraveller, Owner at Amethyst Beach Motel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a positive review, it really means a lot to us.

Thanks.

The Amethyst family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomingdale, New Jersey, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

My friends and I last minute decided to make our day trip a overnight trip and found this Motel on Trip Advisor. We were pleasantly surprised!! The rooms were fine, the staffs was excellent!!! close to the beach what more can you ask for!! oh yea Bagels, coffee and tea perfect start to our morning!! Felt safe, cozy and comfy that I booked it again 2 weeks later for my Family!!

Room Tip: Don't bother to park at the beach lots!! they will let you park at the motel same day as check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paramus, New Jersey, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

I am returning to Amethyst for the second time this year. This hotel is clean, at a great location in Point Pleasant, and family oriented. The staff is amazing and always willing to go out of their way to make sure your stay is a great one. Rooms are clean and so is the outside patio/pool area. The prices are decent and I would definitely recommend staying here if you want to stay in Point Pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEWTON
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

My sister and I and 3 grandkids (14,10,8) stayed 2 nights mid-week at the Amethyst. The charge was over $400.00 which included a $10 a day charge for parking my car. On the pro side the staff was friendly and the room was clean. The beach was about a 7 min. walk from the hotel but we ended up paying for parking closer to the beach because there was a lot to carry: 2 chairs, umbrella, towels, etc. We were mostly disappointed in the room. I've stayed in shore rooms before so knew it wasn't going to be 4 or 5 star. But the room was very small. The bathroom had no towel racks or even a cabinet to put toiletries, no place to hang a wet bathing suit. There was a microwave and small frig but no table to eat on or play games. I would not stay here again nor recommend it to a friend. We did find another motel that we would book for next summer.

Room Tip: First floor better than second, more places to sit and tables.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyinblueNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandtraveller, Owner at Amethyst Beach Motel, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you for your review, as we recover from Hurricane Sandy we have overlooked some items in rooms and your towel rack was indeed one of them which has been corrected. Our location in the heart of Point Pleasant Beach provides for easy access to downtown eateries and Jenkisons and Martels. We do have a shuttle which guests can request when loaded down with beach accessories and kids.

The Jersey Shore needs everyone’s support as needless to say it’s been a difficult year for the Jersey Shore and the survival of the lodging industry at the Shore is in Jeopardy. We need each of our customers understanding and support as making your stay with us being a great one is our goal.

Short seasons coupled with the high cost of government, taxes and storms are making it so very difficult for seasonal business at the Jersey Shore to continue.

Stronger than the Storm! We don’t think so!
A better motto would be “The Jersey Shore Forever”

Thanks again to all our customers and please tell your friends to support the Jersey Shore Lodging industry; we are offering great rates and promotions in an effort to save our industry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Only 2 blocks from the boardwalk but the outside of the hotel needs work. It is very dated and needs some sprucing up. The rooms and the grounds were clean. Bagels and coffee for breakfast was nothing special. I would stay here again just for the location.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LRCohen1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandtraveller, Owner at Amethyst Beach Motel, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Thanks you for your comments and we agree with your observations. As we continue to recover from Hurricane Sandy we have focused on the most critical areas our rooms and patio first while we continue to move towards updating the exterior as well. I

t is a critical time for seasonal business in the 21st century economy with escalating costs and a very short season.

We do have a great location in the heart of Point Pleasant Beach, which provides for easy access to downtown eateries and Jenkisons and Martels. We alos have a shuttle which guests can request when loaded down with beach accessories and kids.

All of us at the Jersey Shore needs everyone’s support as it’s been a difficult year for us. The survival of the lodging industry at the Shore is in Jeopardy. We need each of our customers understanding and support as you are customers are ultimately the most important part of why we continue to push ahead.

Short seasons coupled with the high cost of government, taxes and storms are making it so very difficult for seasonal business at the Jersey Shore to continue.

Stronger than the Storm! We don’t think so!
A better motto would be “The Jersey Shore Forever”

Thanks again to all our customers and please tell your friends to support the Jersey Shore Lodging industry; we are offering great rates and promotions in an effort to save our industry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Point Pleasant Beach
0.9 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#6 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sand Pebble Motor Lodge
Sand Pebble Motor Lodge
#5 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shore Point Motel
Shore Point Motel
#10 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lakewood
3.2 mi away
Sea Girt Lodge
Sea Girt Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sea Girt
3.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pelican Point Motel
Pelican Point Motel
#1 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amethyst Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amethyst Beach Motel

Property: Amethyst Beach Motel
Address: 202 Arnold Ave, Point Pleasant Beach, NJ 08742-3207
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Point Pleasant Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Point Pleasant Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Amethyst Beach Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amethyst's Beach Motel welcomes an opportunity to serve you this summer. The location is the best of any motel in Point Pleasant Beach, overlooking Jenkinson Boardwalk, Beach, Amusement Area, and directly across from Silver Lake Park and Point Beach Band Shell, Plenty of parking, walking distance to downtown Eateries and shopping area. We are only 20 miles from Six Flags New Jersey, Hurricane Harbor & Great Adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Amethyst Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amethyst Beach Hotel Point Pleasant Beach
Amethyst Beach Point Pleasant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing