We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable, convenient, friendly stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Amethyst Beach Motel
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed for one night (Memorial Day to Tuesday). Upon arrival, Point Pleasant was mobbed with holiday traffic, but the friendly and accommodating staff and the fun atmosphere of the motel grounds were a welcome sight. The room was comfortable and had everything you needed, including a great AC system. At one point, our tv didn't work and staff person came to fix it right away. Parking was convenient and right behind the motel (we would never have been able to find a spot with all of the holiday traffic). The pool was refreshing after an evening at the beach. On Tuesday, the town had cleared out and was much more relaxing. We asked if we could check out a little late, around noon or so, and the staff were fine with it, which was nice. You can tell that the motel is owned and operated by hardworking people - as people were checking out on Tuesday morning, housekeeping and maintenance staff were immediately cleaning and making improvements to the rooms and properties. Everyone was quick to say hi to us as we lounged on the patio, enjoying the complimentary coffee, bagels, and muffins, which added to the friendly atmosphere of the place. The location was great, just a couple blocks' walk to the heart of the boardwalk. The motel is not fancy or luxurious, but is comfortable and charming with an awesome amenity with the pool/patio and with great staff and in a great location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amyjventura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

We have been staying at the Amethyst's for the past 9 summers and we love it. The heated pool is a welcome sight after a day at the beach. The continental breakfast is so convenient when you wake up, no having to get dress to go out to eat. The staff is very nice and willing to go out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. For the price, the proximity to the beach and the boardwalk is ideal. They even have barbeques and patio tables in case you want to eat in for lunch or dinner. I would highly recommend this motel if you are planning to stay in Point Pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandtraveller, Owner at Amethyst Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thanks for taking time and posting such a great review, it means a lot to our staff as well as management.

Amethyst family and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I should probaly wait til i actually check in, but I haad to share:

I must have called about 15 places looking for somewhere to stay for Memorial Day weekend, most were way to expensive, to far from the boardwalk or the person was rude. This place was none of these. i can't wait to check in, if the stay is nice as Ashley, the girl who booked my room, I'm sure i will return!

*i will add more info after my stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank PhillyGrl2VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandtraveller, Owner at Amethyst Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Thanks for taking time and posting such a great review, it means a lot to our staff as well as management.

Amethyst family and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed here two summers ago and had a WONDERFUL time, in fact we just booked again for this coming summer. It's about a block from the beach in a wonderful location. I LOVED that the room had a fridge and microwave--since we have small children it was great to be able to keep juice boxes/milk etc in the fridge, as well as restaurant left-overs (because of course my kids never eat their dinner, and are hungry about 15 minutes later). The rooms are not updated, but it's a beach motel--it's exactly what I expected (and loved!). The staff was friendly and we had a great vacation at the beach!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

My sister and girlfriend stayed here the weekend of March 15th, 2014. Our room was clean and comfortable. The location is excellent. You can walk to the beach and the boardwalk or in the opposite direction into the town of Point Pleasant within five minutes in either direction. I have no problem recommending the hotel as a nice place to stay. The best thing about our visit was the staff, which included Ashley and Laura at the front desk and Bill, who is in charge of maintenance. All three people were friendly and interested in helping to make us comfortable. I was happy with my experience at the Amethyst and am planning to return in the fall.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Myself and two of my girlfriends wanted to attend the Point Pleasant Seafood Festival. One of us booked a room here. The other two of us didnt even know the name. When we first pulled in noone spoke as were thinking the same thing...we should have went to Wildwood. But the smell of seafood and knowing that no matter how bad it was we would have a great time. We were not disappointed! The room 114 was clean, smelled clean, and the beds were comfy! We didnt utilize the fridge or microwave and were more than happy to pay a $10 parking fee rather than look for a parking spot. If anyone has tried to find parking at a beach resort it can ruin a trip. It allowed us to walk to the festival and down to boardwalk knowing our vehicle was safe! We had no problem with noise from other rooms or the people at the pool which in most places we have stayed is our biggest complaint. We like to party but we like to sleep too! We will be back next year...can we reserve now?

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank classynj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandtraveller, Owner at Amethyst Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

We are happy you enjoyed the Seafood Festival and hank you for taking the time to leave a positive review as it is our service to our customers which we strive to succeed in and your review is our confirmation of that success.
All too often our happy customers return home to their busy families and jobs and forget to take the time to leave us a review On behalf of the all of us at the Amethyst, "thank for giving us the chance to host your stay in Point Pleasant Beach, we hope to see you return!"
You can reserve at any time for the upcoming season by visiting us on line or for specials or personal service please call us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel during the beginning of Labor Day weekend and they allowed us to only stay one night instead of two unlike all other hotels. The complaints about the outside of the hotel are a little ridiculous since people forget how they JUST got destroyed from Sandy. The rooms there are very clean and it was a pleasant surprise from the normal "jersey shore stay". They serve coffee and bagels which you can eat by the pool in the morning too. Since we only stayed one night they even slipped us a note under the door letting us know to move our car now so we could get free parking by the beach. Finally, the best thing of all was how helpful all of the workers were. Each one was refreshingly friendly and especially the owner who went out of her way to get us ice for our cooler and help us check out early. Overall the experience was great and I work in a hotel so I know the challenges that come along with it. I'm glad I chose this hotel and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kjones15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandtraveller, Owner at Amethyst Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Thanks for your great comments, coming from someone who works for a hotel is really special and taking the time out of a busy day to say something special is wonderful.

For summer 2014 all will be refreshed with special attention place on the entire facilities presentation and the comfort and safety of our guests.

We are very proud that our building is fire resistant having been completely constructed of reinforced concrete and fire resistant materials with concrete walls separating each and every room. We were reminded of the importance of safety as well as comfort due the recent loss of one of the smaller hotels constructed of wood. Please come back and visit us again.

From all of us at Amethyst, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Point Pleasant Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Boardwalk Beach Inn
Boardwalk Beach Inn
#5 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
41 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sand Pebble Motor Lodge
Sand Pebble Motor Lodge
#4 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
220 reviews
1.0 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#9 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Shore Point Motel
Shore Point Motel
#10 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
49 reviews
0.6 mi away
Broadway Court Motel
Broadway Court Motel
#13 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
10 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Point Motel
Pelican Point Motel
#1 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amethyst Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amethyst Beach Motel

Address: 202 Arnold Ave, Point Pleasant Beach, NJ 08742-3207
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Point Pleasant Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Point Pleasant Beach
Price Range: £49 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Amethyst Beach Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amethyst's Beach Motel, New Barbecue Area, Large Spacious Private Pool and Patio Area, New Beach House. We welcome an opportunity to serve you this summer. The location is the best of any motel in Point Pleasant Beach as we are in the Heart of the Beach overlooking Jenkinson Boardwalk, Beach, Amusement Area, and directly across from Silver Lake Park and Point Beach Band Shell, Plenty of parking, walking distance to downtown Eateries and shopping area. We are only 20 miles from Six Flags New Jersey, Hurricane Harbor & Great Adventure. Family owned and operated we are here to make your stay the best while in Point Pleasant Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Amethyst Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amethyst Beach Hotel Point Pleasant Beach
Amethyst Beach Point Pleasant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing