We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always my spot!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Amethyst Beach Motel
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always my spot!”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This has been my go to spot for many years now just around about probably 5 years. This summer I've been there 2 times the service is great and the staff is always pleasant the place is ALWAYS clean. I've never had any issues and is convienent for the boardwalk, beach and all. I really enjoy my stays at the amethyst and I won't go anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank borntotravelxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    94
    27
    31
    44
See reviews for
215
45
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mahopac, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I stayed one Saturday night and ended up paying over $400. It wasn't worth the money. The room was clean, but outdated. The water pressure in the shower was not very strong. It's a long block to the beach, but very doable. You end up next to the first aid post.you have to pay extra for beach passes but they offer them at a discount. They have no ice machine , they charge $2 for a bag of ice. There are no hair dryers in the rooms. I went to the front desk because I forgot mine and they only have 2. They include breakfast which consists of bagels and coffee. On The day you check out you either have to pay $40 for parking or need to move your car. Parking at Jenkinsons is less expensive, but after 11am on a weekend they run out of space. Municipal parking is $3 per hr, but once again by 11 am it's full. I'm used to Marriot's so it fell below my expectations.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank beachbum10541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandtraveller, Owner at Amethyst Beach Motel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, a couple of clarifications are required. We have several Ice machines; the main machine in the patio is for Ice Buckets. To insure that every guest can expect Ice, we have a policy of not allowing coolers to be filled with this machine and do sell ten pound bags of Ice. Saturday nights are generally not rented on a single night’s stay and the pricing you mentioned seems incorrect. For anyone reading this review please check rates on our online web site or call us.

Parking is a premium in the area close to the boardwalk where we are located, it requires all of our parking lots to be managed 24 hours a day and we always have off street parking for our guests during their stay. In order to insure parking for our incoming guests we alert all of our customers to try and find street parking around the property which is free.

It has been a great summer with many new and returning guest who have enjoyed themselves and understand the Jersey Shore. We continue to strive to be better each year on a limited seasonal business and remain committed to providing the best service possible.
Hope you will consider returning next year and take a look at our ongoing renovations.

Sincerely,
Amethyst Family and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Back for a 2nd year. can't wait. Very family oriented and owned. Clean and a wonderful staff, especially Ashley. She makes you feel welcomed and goes out of her way to accomodate you. it's close to the boardwalk and town with good restaurants and local bars. the Pool is always clean and its quiet at nite. Couldn't ask for more.Look forward to seein you all very soon...Oh Yeah!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

First of all, let me say that I've worked at a luxury NYC hotel for the past 15yrs, so I know service.

This hotel is the perfect cure for stress. The location was only a 5 minute walk from the train station and a 5 minute walk from the beach. Plenty of restaurants and shops in the immediate area to choose from. Upon arrival we received a warm welcome from Amanda. Our room was simply appointed and most of all spotlessly clean and smelled good. The mattress and pillows were extremely comfortable. Although we didn't use it, it was nice to have a fridge & microwave in the room. We wanted to try out the pool but decided to leave it to the kiddies who were having a rip roaring time. The breakfast was uber simple (pastries & fresh coffee) but more than enough to get the day started. Theresa was the perfect hostess, answering all our questions and offering suggestions, and even giving us a little history on her family owned business. If God's willing, we will be more than happy to return. ....SOON!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank 831998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Chester, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Staff is very nice. Pool is nice and secluded from street unlike a lot of other places down there. Not far from boardwalk, but far away enough you do not hear the noise at night. Breakfast was nice and they have the best free coffee.
Good place to stay if you have kids. Family owed and operated and they treat you like one of the family. Rooms are a little dated but It's the shore. What do you expect? Definitely will go back there. In fact my wife and I said we wouldn't want to stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: first floor has the pool. Great for the kids and families with strollers
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
98 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

To start, the staff was WONDERFUL and helpful. The location is excellent. That being set, it is a typical beach motel. The room was dated, but relatively clean. The bathroom, was a different story. It was very out dated and needed some TLC. The bathroom was not as clean, and the toilet was not attached correctly. It was ok for our purpose, but not amazing.

Room Tip: Try to get a second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valerie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandtraveller, Owner at Amethyst Beach Motel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank your for your review, we appreciate the feedback and are addressing the cleaning staff on this issue. We are having a very busy season and once again we have obviously dropped the ball on your stay with us. We appreciate your business and will see to it upon your return stay that all is up to your expectations.

Thanks again and for all of the review we have not had time to respond to Thanks to all who take the time.

Amethyst family and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile


We have been going here for over 6 years as a family. The owners keep making upgrades to enhance the property and make your stay more enjoyable. 

We always love the pool for afternoons when the beach gets too hot or crowded. 

A great location; a few minutes walk to the beach and boardwalk and a few minutes drive into town for dinner and supplies. 

Kitchenette and efficiencies are a plus for families. 

We enjoy coming back each season.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank KBNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Point Pleasant Beach
0.9 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#6 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sand Pebble Motor Lodge
Sand Pebble Motor Lodge
#5 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shore Point Motel
Shore Point Motel
#10 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Grenville
The Grenville
#1 of 1 in Bay Head
3.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.4 mi away
White Sands Oceanfront Resort & Spa
White Sands Oceanfront Resort & ...
#9 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pelican Point Motel
Pelican Point Motel
#1 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amethyst Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amethyst Beach Motel

Property: Amethyst Beach Motel
Address: 202 Arnold Ave, Point Pleasant Beach, NJ 08742-3207
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Point Pleasant Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Point Pleasant Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Amethyst Beach Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amethyst's Beach Motel welcomes an opportunity to serve you this summer. The location is the best of any motel in Point Pleasant Beach, overlooking Jenkinson Boardwalk, Beach, Amusement Area, and directly across from Silver Lake Park and Point Beach Band Shell, Plenty of parking, walking distance to downtown Eateries and shopping area. We are only 20 miles from Six Flags New Jersey, Hurricane Harbor & Great Adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Amethyst Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amethyst Beach Hotel Point Pleasant Beach
Amethyst Beach Point Pleasant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing