We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lot of cleaning to do!”
Review of Dunes Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dunes Motel
New Jersey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lot of cleaning to do!”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This place needs to be renovated. The pool was a little dirty, with garbage in it. I saw couple flys on my wall. I mean if the owner decided to clean up the place, take out the carpet and paint...it would look better. In my room I saw the carpet coming off. If your looking for just one night, stay there but, nothing special.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gzuza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    30
    21
    18
    57
See reviews for
65
10
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scranton, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2012

On wednesday evening my family and myself stop at the Dunes Motel, I went in and asked the price and let the young man also know we were also traveling with our little dog. I man told me that the room available was $89 a night because it only had two double beds. Because we had our dog with us they charged us an extra $40.security plus tax (that would be refuned after we checked out). This morning at check out I went over the room with a fine tooth comb to make sure it was in the condition we found it in. I found two bugs on the floor and that was it. I went in and asked for my security back and he told me that the rate was $129. and that I could look it up on the web site and we I got home I did and the room we had was $89. a night and they wrongly kept my security. It was even written on my reciept that $40 was for security. Its terrible when business run their business that way. I am very disapointed the service I recieved.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ourfamily323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012 via mobile

I WAS a returning customer to the dunes but not anymore!!!! The staff is RUDE and they have BED BUGS!!!!! I posted a picture of the mattress I slept on and I am so grossed out by this situation!.. It was suppose to be a fun weekend with my girlfriends and it got interrupted when we found this infestation. We went right to Walgreens and picked up black garbage bags and packed EVERYTHING in them! So that meant no more changing outfits or feeling comfortable! And when i went to the front desk they were VERY unprofessional that it resulted in calling the cops. THEY SHOULD BE SHUT DOWN IT IS NOT SANITARY AT ALL!!!!!!!! And in response to the managers letter... There shouldn't be ANY negative reviews if this is the type of place you claim it to be but there are because it is a dump. And maybe you should do something about that instead of giving attitudes and blaming it on it being a retaliation towards some stupid charges. Also you were closed for renovations and just reopened 2 weeks ago so in that time why didn't you think to treat your BUG problem!!!!! Because whatever you did in that time off did absolutely NOTHING!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Njhsoccergrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Point Pleasant Beach hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

DO NOT STAY HERE!!! Worst experience ever!!!
They have BED BUGS! They also tried covering them up and changed the sheets to move new people right on in once we said we were leaving. They even changed the "no vacancy" sign back to "vacancy" after we took all our stuff and left. GROSSS!!!!!! Terrible workers and owner.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angel98hy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Haledon, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Do not stay here... we went for my bachelorette party and our rooms had bed bugs! the owner refused to refund us for the one night that we stayed before we had discovered them... TERRIBLE experience!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern New Jersey
Level Contributor
164 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

I've stayed at the Dune's Motel twice. Once in the summer of 2010 and once in 2011. It's a typical shore motel - old and nothing fancy, but it's close to the beach (right across the street) and within walking distance (quite a few blocks, but doable) to the boardwalk. My friends and I like to stop at the Tiki Bar on the boardwalk for a few drinks, so having a motel within walking distance is important to us. Anyone who lives in NJ knows that shore motels are old and are nothing fancy. The Jersey shore is all about the beach, the sand and the boardwalk, Unless it rains, you're only in the motel room to sleep. The motel is certainly old and "no frills" but it's in a good location and it's clean. The rooms are not large, but they are a decent size compared to some other shore motels I've stayed in. I've seen some other reviews stating that it's dirty and there are bugs, but from my experience that is simply not true. The pool is decent and also clean. As long as this is what you're expecting, it's a good value for the price compared to other motel prices in the area. I'm giving it three stars only because I would consider it is only "average", like I said, nothing fancy or special, if that's what you are looking for.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeirdNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ossining, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

I was a little leery after reading some of the reviews. Before arrival I called Cisco and voiced my concerns. He told me that if I wasn't satisfied upon arrival I could cancel my reservation. I was very happy with the cleanliness if the rooms and the courteous service from Cisco and his staff. The pool was well kept and clean and right outside our door. The patio was very comfortable and we spent nights just hanging out and relaxing. The beach was right across the street, and for $8.00 a day it was awesome! We will defiantly head back to Dunes Motel next year for our girl’s weekend!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annandfriends2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Point Pleasant Beach
0.2 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#6 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sand Pebble Motor Lodge
Sand Pebble Motor Lodge
#5 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Grenville
The Grenville
#1 of 1 in Bay Head
3.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Shore Point Motel
Shore Point Motel
#10 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.5 mi away
White Sands Oceanfront Resort & Spa
White Sands Oceanfront Resort & ...
#9 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
0.8 mi away
Amethyst Beach Motel
Amethyst Beach Motel
#8 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Motel

Property: Dunes Motel
Address: 1601 Ocean Ave, Point Pleasant Beach, NJ 08742-4655
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Point Pleasant Beach
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Point Pleasant Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Dunes Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Dunes Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Hotel Point Pleasant Beach
Dunes Motel Point Pleasant Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing