We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Early American Pub Atmosphere”

Yankee Doodle Tap Room
Reserve with OpenTable
Yankee Doodle Tap Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #43 of 197 Restaurants in Princeton
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Manalapan, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Early American Pub Atmosphere”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We ordered drinks and an appetizer, calamari, which was very tasty. Shortly after our server received a large party and the service level fell sharply. But we ordered dinner, steak and sea bass, When it finally came it was hot and better than we were expecting. We weren't in a hurry, but the waiting for our server was annoying.

Sitting in our wooden booth, we could imagine George Washington having a dinner meeting with friends. Rockwell's Yankee Doodle mural behind the bar was large.

We might go back to check out the burgers, but not for a while.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nassaugm, Manager at Yankee Doodle Tap Room, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Bob D,
Thank you for telling us about your experience. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal and drinks while dining in our booths, you might have been sitting where Einstein did! However hearing about your lack of service is disconcerting, we always strive for our patrons to have the best dining experience possible regardless of how large or small their party is. We do hope that you come back to the Tap Room sooner than noted in your review so that we may rectify any shortcomings and leave you with a better taste in your mouth.
Yours in Hospitality,
Jim Byrnes
Food and Beverage Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    66
    52
    21
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Hill, New Jersey, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unique atmosphere, breakfast was okay”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

A group of friends arranged a brunch here this past weekend, and when we walked in we were interested in the unique environment - it was dark, but still cozy and provided good atmosphere for catching up.

Unfortunately, I wasn't blown away with the menu. I got the breakfast pita and my husband got the country benedict. The pita dish was kind of cold by the time I received it to eat, and the potatoes on both of our dishes needed more seasoning. We sampled a friend's pancakes, which were more tasty.

In general, the service was okay, but it was not very memorable and we probably would not come back here for breakfast.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Basement”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Dark and relatively boring. For some reason, even though it is in prestigious downtown Princeton, it seems a little divey...
sorry but it lacks what should be in this hotel.
Okay normal food, but nothing was excellent.
Service likewise, rather bland.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank gastrogal51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nassaugm, Manager at Yankee Doodle Tap Room, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear gastrogal51,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor. It is disconcerting to hear that your meal was not as stimulating as you expected. Exceptional service and flavorful food is what we strive for and it is difficult to hear that we fell short of that in your opinion. Please give us a call whenever it is convenient for you so that we may go over any additional issues. 609-921-7500
Yours in hospitality
Jim Byrnes
Food and Beverage Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Though we were going to have to pour our own wine.”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Service lousy. Bartender was more interested in something in the back room. When asked about the history he was mute.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SrTravelerTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nassaugm, General Manager at Yankee Doodle Tap Room, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear SrTravelerTampa,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we enjoy receiving all guest feedback so that we may use it better our service in the future. However when reading your review it does trouble me to hear that you felt as though your server did not give you the attention you deserved. Our patrons are our first priority and giving exceptional service is what we strive for. Please at your nearest convenience feel free to give us a call (609) 921-7500 so that we may further discuss where you felt we came up short and possible ways to rectify the situation.
Yours in Hospitality
Jim Byrnes
Food and Beverage Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Casual atmosphere, fair prices and great food”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We ate here while staying at the Nassau Inn and enjoyed both dinner and breakfast at the Yankee Doodle Tap Room. One of us is vegetarian and they are very accommodating. Prices are very fair and the service is great.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LGBTtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nassaugm, General Manager at Yankee Doodle Tap Room, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear LGBTtraveler
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your great experience with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed one of our many vegetarian dishes, we have recently revamped our menu and it is great to know that the changes are going over well. We hope that you choose the Yankee Doodle Taproom again on your next trip to Princeton.
Yours in Hospitality,
Jim Byrnes
Food and Beverage Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yankee Doodle Tap Room also viewed

 

Been to Yankee Doodle Tap Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing