We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful room, fantastic dinner, eat Bkft elsewhere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Peacock Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Peacock Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Princeton B&B and Inns
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
101 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Beautiful room, fantastic dinner, eat Bkft elsewhere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Peacock Inn is a charming little B & B within steps of Princeton University.
My husband and I stayed in room 207. It was small but packed with many amenities. Great linens, amazing spa shower with five heads, robe, slippers, TV, bedding, super comfy bed and lovely decor. SUPER clean! Wish they had fresh flowers and not silk arrangements in the foyer and rooms.

Dinner was superb and the bar is fantastic. Get the cheese plate and dessert. Worth the splurge.
The negatives- loud noise from the street traffic and the breakfast. Skip the breakfast at the Inn and walk down to one of the many great restaurants in Princeton. Coffee was weak, ran out of cream and no one checked on it, stale pastries, stale granola, waffles a la"Hampton Inn".
Ick.

Kudos to the check in staff. A darling young woman working the reception desk recommended several restaurants and printed out menus while we unpacked. Very good customer service. Bar staff is awesome.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matissegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott S, General Manager at The Peacock Inn, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review your experience at The Peacock Inn. The staff and I are so happy to hear that you were able to enjoy all aspects of The Peacock Inn, including the restaurant and bar. The cheeses that you can choose from for the cheese plate are truly incredible and tasty!

I have shared your review with our entire staff, and specifically appreciate your mentioning of their service. I am also very glad that you enjoyed all of the amenities!

I would also like to mention that I apologize for not having the breakfast meet your expectations, we are trying some different things to enhance the complimentary continental breakfast.

I look forward to seeing you the next time that you are in the Princeton area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    39
    19
    7
    8
See reviews for
21
47
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

I'm not a big B&B fan. Too much faux charm, too few amenities that matter, no bell service, and all provided at a premium price.

But the Peacock Inn, has almost all of the bases covered. First, the rooms are nicely appointed in a pleasant contemporary style. And the bathrooms -- at least ours -- was well above average in finishes and toiletries. The downside is room size... and in our case, a total absence of closet space. Room size is a likely a function of trying to squeeze king size beds into spaces that are just too tight. Our room had the desired king -- but as a result, nowhere to sit down save a fragile and uncomfortable wooden desk chair.

That said, we were comfy. The bed and linens were very nice, and as noted, the bathroom very serviceable. Plus, parking is not a problem, and there was a "bellman" to help us with our bags. These are the basics, but it's amazing how many B&Bs don't offer them.

Lastly, the Peacock has one of the better bars and restaurants in the area. Maybe the best. So if you're looking for a short stay option in close proximity to downtown Princeton, and are comfortable not having all the chintz B&Bs seem to covet, this could be your place. We'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Freddyt64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott S, Manager at The Peacock Inn, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
I would like to thank you for another review regarding your time at The Peacock Inn. It is always wonderful to hear from a guest about their good experience. Your comments are encouraging, as we are meeting our goals of exceeding our guests expectations. We consider ourselves a luxury boutique hotel that focuses on the guest, and guest service.

When the inn was purchased in 2006 by the new owners, there were 17 bedrooms and 9 bathrooms (shared in the hallways), and after the 3 year renovation, there are now 16 rooms, all with their own well appointed bathrooms with heated floors and amazing showers! The rooms are on the smaller side, but we make sure that everything is fully thought out.

I am glad that you were able to experience everything that The Peacock Inn has to offer, which includes the restaurant and bar.

We look forward to seeing you back at The Peacock Inn in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flemington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
133 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

The new owners have taken this lovely old Victorian in Princeton and restored it by keeping the vintage charm but with some clean, modern touches. The inn is just beautiful. We came for dinner on a cold, slightly snowy night. A lovely romantic spot, and the food and service live up to the setting. Dishes have a unique flair, and are expertly prepared. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FranC-NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott S, Manager at The Peacock Inn, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review your time at The Peacock Inn. I am so glad that you were also able to enjoy the amazing restaurant! I have shared your review with our staff, and we really appreciate your compliments!

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Peacock Inn in the near future. If you need anything, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

I chose to stay at the Peacock Inn recently to see if I might prefer it to the usual Nassau Inn, and I very much did. Far smaller, quieter, personable, with a warm and friendly staff. Easy walking to campus and town, and while I didn't partake, the restaurant gets raves from every local I spoke with. Bedding and towels are superb. I would gladly stay at the Peacock Inn again.

The few drawbacks... My room had wonderful windows but was on the small side. No desk or really usable sitting or reading chair, though there are places downstairs if you don't mind working in public. The bathroom was modern and very handsome but the lighting was awful for putting on makeup, one of those strange overhead chandelier lamps. Oddly, the supplied toiletries look nice enough, but the hair conditioner was just about useless. No coffee maker in the room, and the pleasant complimentary continental breakfast isn't laid out till 7 a.m.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jhpac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott S, Manager at The Peacock Inn, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review your stay and experience at The Peacock Inn. I would like to start by thanking you for choosing The Peacock Inn and for your sincere compliments about our staff, and amenities. It is always great to hear that locals are speaking very highly of us, and we appreciate your mentioning that.

As far as the drawbacks, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations in some areas. In some of the rooms we do offer desks, and if you would like one, please let us know when you make a reservation. Also, if you are leaving early, and need breakfast a little bit earlier, we will figure out a way to accommodate you.

Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to the Princeton area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We spent 2 nights at the Peacock Inn and had a very pleasant stay... From the moment we were pulled up we were greeted by a friendly, outgoing staff that took care of every request. They could not have been more accommodating! Room was modern with great amenities. The bar and Josean was fantastic, we had a great time trying the specialties drinks that he mixed! Totally recommend the Peacock Inn

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott S, Manager at The Peacock Inn, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for taking your time to give your stay at The Peacock Inn a fantastic review! We are so happy to hear that you had such a nice time and experience while you were at The Peacock Inn.

Specifically I am so pleased to hear about your experience at the bar. Josean is an incredible mixologist, and has the ability to create some amazing drinks! I am glad that you were able to enjoy some of them!

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Peacock Inn in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

I had the privilege of spending the last couple days of 2013 at the Peacock Inn. Every aspect my stay exceeded my expectations. The rooms....charming and very comfortable. The restaurant...without par in the area, most notably highlighted by the stunning menu for the New Years Eve dinner. The staff...friendly, knowledgeable, helpful and available to help you enjoy however much time you get to stay. Even the bar is in a class by itself. The bar staff can certainly serve the old standards, but take advantage of their imagination and try some of their signature drinks. All of this just a short walk from the campus and numerous other opportunities to enjoy Princeton,
If you've been staying anywhere else in Princeton, take a look at The Peacock Inn for your next visit. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: Higher floors will minimize what little bar and restaurant noise may pop up on a busy night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MPaulMorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott S, Manager at The Peacock Inn, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for the "Spectacular" review of The Peacock Inn! We are always happy when expectations are so far exceeded. The goal of The Peacock Inn is service, and we are so happy to hear that everything was excellent.

I have shared this review with our entire staff including the front desk, bartender, servers, kitchen and management and would like to express their happiness in learning of your comments! They, like me, are also excited for the next time that you return to the Princeton area and stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
332 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

This has been a local attraction for those who visit Princeton. It is a small place and advanced arrangements should be taken. It is quiet and more in the lines of a B&B. There have been some long term residents or note. Ask for a history of the place.

Room Tip: ask for the upper level on the opposite side from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisDCarlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott S, Manager at The Peacock Inn, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review The Peacock Inn. We are so glad that you have enjoyed your time there, and look forward to seeing you again soon.

We are always willing to show our guests around the property and discuss its very interesting history. One of our guests favorite spots in The Peacock Inn is "Peacock Alley" which was originally a speakeasy in the 1920s, and now has a hand-painted mural of Princeton around the entire room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Princeton hotels
0.2 mi away
Nassau Inn
Nassau Inn
#9 of 15 in Princeton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Princeton
Hyatt Regency Princeton
#3 of 15 in Princeton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
2.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Princeton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Princeton
Hampton Inn Princeton
#1 of 15 in Princeton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Princeton
Hyatt Place Princeton
#6 of 15 in Princeton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
3.5 mi away
Princeton Marriott at Forrestal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peacock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peacock Inn

Property: The Peacock Inn
Address: 20 Bayard Ln, Princeton, NJ 08540-3006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Princeton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Peacock Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peacock Inn, a luxury boutique hotel, located in the heart of downtown Princeton, provides a sophisticated and stylish ambiance as well as one of the area's most elegant and exceptional dining experiences.The Peacock Inn is centrally located and convenient to Princeton University, Art Museum, McCarter Theatre, and Shopping in Princeton NJ. The Peacock Inn restaurant is considered a top 25 restaurant in NJ by NJ Monthly, and the top rated restaurant in Princeton by Zagat and Open Table. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your The Peacock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peacock Hotel Princeton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing