We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a surprise!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Princeton University Art Museum

Princeton University Art Museum
Ranked #2 of 50 things to do in Princeton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Owner description: The Princeton University Art Museum is one of the nation's finest art museums, housing collections of over 72 ,000 works of art spanning 5,000 years of world history and all the world's major cultures. The Museum also presents special exhibitions and educational programs throughout the year. Admission is free.
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
272 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“What a surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

What an amazing museum and it is a consumable size...one can enjoy it from 1 hour to an entire day. I saw one of my favorite Monet's, and a good set of each of the major art eras. Just a joy to walk through!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank cindynor41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    390
    88
    7
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marlboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely Little Museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We enjoyed the special Edward Munch exhibit as well as the Mark Rothko (and other abstract artists) exhibit. Regular collection has a few Monets, a Picasso, a Winslow Homer, too.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank denisec65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Art Museum with the Grandkids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Took our young grandchildren as a way of spending a winter afternoon. Not sure how long we could get them to stay. We made it over two hours and they were engaged the whole time. Will go back on a regular basis.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 63RobB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great place to spend the day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We love coming here when the weather is poor. The quality of the art is surprising. Plan to walk a lot and spend about 3 hours.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ATahaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
326 reviews
158 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“One of New Jersey's Greatest Treasures”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

I am gratified to see the Princeton University Art Museum justly rated the #1 attraction in Princeton. It deserves it. I visit here 2-3 times a year and am grateful to have access to such a treasure. It is a 2 minute walk from Nassau Street (stick to the left of Nassau Hall and it's right there) and a must-see.

The first floor is all American and European art (most of it paintings). There are several Monets, a Van Gogh, and Charles Wilson Peale's "Washington at the Battle of Princeton" among other cool masterpieces. Downstairs, we have ancient Greek and Roman art along with lots of Asian and South American art. There's even a mummy!

The Princeton Art Museum is a great place for everyone: Couples, families, you name it. I took my five year-old daughter there and she loved it. Also, they regularly have special exhibits, many of which are amazing. I was there last in April, and there was a special exhibit of North Italian sketches. It included a sketch by Michelangelo! There it was, in New Jersey, a Michelangelo sketch staring me in the face! How could anyone not love this place?

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexanderD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Princeton University Art Museum also viewed

 

Been to Princeton University Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing