We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Star Excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chauncey Conference Center
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Princeton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“Five Star Excellence”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Everything about this hotel was marvelous! The welcome by the people at the front desk was just the start of a lovely stay. All the staff was attentive, polite and helpful. The hotel is on the campus of ETS just outside of Princeton. But there is shuttle service into Princeton and pickup coming back. Larry, our shuttle driver is a truly special person. I especially cite him among all the helpful staff.

Breakfast is vast including an omelet station, hot offerings, cold cuts and cheese, fruit and an assortment of breads and pastries.

The room was a good size, the beds comfortable, the bathroom sufficiently commodious. The room is rather standard for a mid priced property. We were a group of six family members sharing three rooms.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    51
    31
    9
    14
See reviews for
41
25
15
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Kudos to the housekeeping staff at The Chauncey. CLEANEST hotel ever visited and I have been in some 5 star hotels in my day. Even though there was a pretty active wedding going on the hotel was perfectly quiet and we had a restful night's sleep. Desk Staff was uber-friendly and helpful. Looks like a terrific place for any sort of group function. In a remote part of Princeton which makes it quaint and quiet, but close enough to enjoy Princeton's cute little town. The room was comfortable and seemed larger because of the vaulted ceiling. But the vaulted ceiling had a window way up top with vertical blinds that did not stop the light from coming into the room in the morning. We had to get up anyway so for us not a deal breaker but the hotel ought to give that a look-see.

Green Features: Offers $5 coupon for restaurant for each day you chose to decline housekeeping to alleviate the cost of cleaning towels and electric used for vacuuming, etc. Great idea since even when you're home you wouldn't be changing towels daily. Commendable.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful! The rooms were quiet and spacious and the Center has lovely grounds for exploring outside. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would be happy to return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sumac_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 841 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Beside that it's in the middle of Nowhere NJ, Chauncey could use a few upgrades, such as adequate lighting in the small Spartan rooms, where the tv screens loom large but bedside lamps provide only the dimmest light & the lack of overhead lighting altogether means it's virtually impossible to read in the wing chair in the very dark corner. Altho the breakfast buffet is adequate, the lobby shop consists only of a few shelves w/ meagre supplies & some bottles of water.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herstory_62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Part of a corporate campus, this place is off the beaten path. Quiet and clean. Good stay especially with a deal on Priceline. Rooms were comfortable. Ask for one on the ground floor if you'd like a back door to go outside. Otherwise go for the second floor for a balcony.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank wdeming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

One step above an institution. Clean antiseptic. No HBO, no movies. TV set to a low volume setting. Rooms clean and sleek. No place for room service to put order except the edge of a drawer. The room service staff seems casual about the lack of a place to place the order. Smile. They look like college students. Staff invisible and minimal.

Room Tip: Look somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronaldfairbairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here due to a nearby business appointment. It is a 15 min cab ride from Princeton Junction Station (but a car is more practical) and in quiet surroundings, very restful. It is part of Educational Testing Services so if you have an old trauma from the SAT you may be disturbed, but it was a perfect, very reasonably priced option. I will be back again (for the next, similar appointment). Nice staff, relaxed atmosphere, room very clean.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank NDCGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Princeton hotels
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Princeton
Hampton Inn Princeton
#1 of 15 in Princeton
827 reviews
4.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Princeton
3.0 mi away
Nassau Inn
Nassau Inn
#12 of 15 in Princeton
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Princeton
Hyatt Place Princeton
#4 of 15 in Princeton
453 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Princeton
Hyatt Regency Princeton
#3 of 15 in Princeton
939 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chauncey Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chauncey Conference Center

Property: Chauncey Conference Center
Address: 1 Chauncey Rd, Princeton, NJ 08540-2239
Region: United States > New Jersey > Princeton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Princeton
#7 Business Hotel in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chauncey Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Princeton, just three miles from Downtown, on the campus of ETS, Chauncey sits on 370 wooded acres midway between Philadelphia and New York City. Chauncey’s 100 newly renovated guest rooms feature flat screen HD TVs, iPod/iPad docking stations, down comforters, Keurig coffee makers, laptop safe, weekday delivery of USA Today, iron/ironing board and complimentary high-speed Internet. The majority of our guest rooms offer a patio or balcony. Additional services at Chauncey include a 24-hour fitness center and nature trails, van service to and from downtown Princeton and ample on-site complimentary parking. Tantalize your taste buds by dining in the Solomon Room, offering classic American continental cuisine. Relax or gather in the new C Bar and enjoy light culinary fare or a cocktail (seasonal outdoor seating available). By advanced reservation, enjoy tea, savory tea sandwiches, assorted sweets, and fresh baked scones at our popular Afternoon Tea. Meeting rooms and event space are available to host your next social event or meeting. Off-site golf can be arranged.Note: Currently our Pool, Tennis and Volleyball courts are out of service.Companies and attractions close byEducational Testing Service (ETS)........On Campus Princeton- Educational Testing Service (ETS)........10 mi S (Ewing Campus)- Bristol Myers Squibb...............................3 mi E- Jasna Polana Country Club (TPC Course)...................1 mi E- Ground for Sculpture.............................10 mi SE- Johnson and Johnson..........................10 mi NW- Princeton University.................................3 mi N- Princeton Country Club...........................6.5 mi E- New Hope...............................................20 mi NW- Lawrenceville Academy........................2 mi S- McCarter Theater.....................................3 mi N- Rider University........................................2 mi S- Rutgers University.................................25 mi N- Trenton Thunder Baseball.................. 12 mi S- Washington Crossing Park.................10 mi SW**Currently we are in the final stages of our new pool and fitness center design and will be breaking ground to build this facility. We are projected to be completed by spring of 2014 with our Indoor/Outdoor facilty.** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Chauncey Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chauncey Hotel Princeton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing