We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You're "Inn" for a treat at the Inn at Glencairn”
Review of Inn at Glencairn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Glencairn
Ranked #1 of 3 Princeton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Barnegat, New Jersey
Level Contributor
149 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“You're "Inn" for a treat at the Inn at Glencairn”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Okay, now my wife and I have been in scores of B & B's over the years, and most have been worth the visit, but I've never been in one where the older portion of the house is 275 years old, and the "newer" portion of the house is 175 years old -- and it looks better than I!
But that's not the only reason we loved this Inn. It's located about three miles away from downtown Princeton and, of course, the University, so one doesn't hear lots of noise while trying to sleep, but it's a hop, skip and a jump to lots of fun stuff to do and see. Also, it's just a mile or so from Lawrenceville, with a number of great little restaurants. It's also close to other areas that we didn't have the time to see, but will do so on our next trip the the Inn.
Perhaps the best reason for staying at this Inn is the incredible care and love that goes into taking care of it by the husband and wife team. When we stayed there (May, '14), they had only been there a few weeks themselves, having moved on from ownership of their own B & B in North Carolina. The point here is that this isn't their first rodeo, and even though they don't own the place, they care for it as if they do. Both are very personable, and the breakfasts are award-winning. The room where we stayed was quite comfortable and spacious, and I have absolutely no doubt the other four are just as good. There's even the offer of a suite of two rooms, I believe in the older section of the Inn.
All I can say is that you won't be disappointed when you stay at the Inn at Glencairn -- for the comfort, the location, the food, and the friendship.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    23
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
65
105
12
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Stayed with my wife here in April 2014. The Inn has a lot of character and grace. The beds are comfortable and the setting is "romantic".

Every morning a different breakfast is served (not a buffet). They put a lot of effort into the breakfast, but it might not be to your liking and then you have little other choice. It happened once out of four nights for us, which was ok.

The location of the Inn is good as well. Away from the maddness of Route 1, but still less than 10 minutes from the malls and shops, which is very convenient.

The Innkeeper is super nice and friendly, but his wife doesn't smile much which ruins the atmosphere a little.

Overall, a very nice place if you want something romantic and unique in the Princeton area.

Room Tip: The suite (which I beleive is room number 5) has two seperate bedrooms. Note that the ceiling in tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet P, Owner at Inn at Glencairn, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for taking time to review the Inn. I am glad that you found the beds comfortable, the setting romantic and the Inn full of character and grace. However, I am sorry that part of your experience was less than stellar. Since your stay, we have new Innkeepers, Mason and Patty, who -- after only a few short weeks -- have been receiving rave reviews for their wonderful hospitality and fabulous breakfasts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matawan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Inn at Glencairn during Mother's Day weekend 2014. The week before we arrived, the inn went through an innkeeper transition. We received a gift certificate from a family member 2 Christmases ago for a night at the B&B, which had actually expired a month before making the reservations. The old innkeepers were nice enough to make the reservation and let us know we can still use the certificate. When we got there, the new innkeepers, Patty and Mason, accepted the certificate with no problems.

Patty and Mason were very nice and gracious hosts. Patty makes a mean breakfast, and was nice enough to supply us with some cheese and crackers the night before while we were hanging out in the den drinking wine, which is complimentary also.

The grounds are very nice and the building has a lot of history to it. We stayed in bedroom #3 which is called the Opdyke room. The bedroom was a decent size and looked out onto the main street. The only issue I had with the area was that it was off the main highway. Not the most scenic thing in the world, but it was set back from the road and was way better than staying off of an interstate or a multilane highway, so it was definitely tolerable.

However this location made it very convenient to the areas around it. It was about a 4-6 minute ride east to the center of Princeton. Also, there is a farm called Terhune Orchards which was about 3 minutes in the opposite direction. They have a vineyard and the tastings were free for moms on mother's day weekend. Very nice people and a nice place to hang out in the afternoon. They have a playground for children and a lot of animals to see. For dinner, we recommend going to Elements in Princeton. An upscale restaurant with a tasting menu and wine pairings. A very nice place to go for a special occasion. Go the triumph brewery after for some excellent beer.

We highly recommend the Inn at Glencairn and would stay there again in the future. A nice, quiet, and historical place to stay after spending some time in Princeton.

Room Tip: Opdyke room was a very spacious room with a comfortable queen bed overlooking the front yard and hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJSoto81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed here after our wedding and it was the perfect little getaway. It's so charming! The innkeepers are very nice and made a fantastic breakfast in the morning. They also had delicious homemade snacks in a common area, which made it feel like home. The house has a lot of history and the room we stayed in was beautiful. It's right near the center of Princeton, Lawrenceville and route 1 so we had access to numerous shops and restaurants. This is a great place to stay in if you're traveling in the area. You get a much more personal experience than any hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Mason and his wife were wonderful hosts. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and beautifully decorated. Wine and snacks were available for us when we arrived in the evening. What a nice way to welcome us after a long day of sightseeing. The Inn Breakfast was fabulous. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baileybrumley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I had called for a gift certificate for my husband for Christmas and the one I received was soiled, it looked as it had been used previously. I called to get another one and the innkeeper with whom I spoke was less than gracious.

My husband and I just spent a weekend at Glencairn and the new innkeepers had only been there a week, but they were very friendly and helpful and went out of their way to take care of us. The Inn was clean and very pleasant. My husband's one concern was that there was only one comfortable chair in the bedroom but when I asked Mason if he had another one, he provided one right away. Breakfasts were very good as were the refreshments. In fact I asked Patty for the recipe for her lemon cookies, which she gave us. We will seriously consider giving our daughter and son-in-law a gift certificate for Christmas. We thoroughly enjoyed the campus of Princeton and the Grounds for Sculpture.

Room Tip: We were in room 1, but saw room 2 and it looked a little more spacious and the chair looked more com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurajo2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet P, Owner at Inn at Glencairn, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for taking time to review the Inn at Glencairn. I am so glad you found the Inn clean and very pleasant. As you mentioned, we do have new Innkeepers, Patty and Mason, and they do go out of their way to make everyone feel as comfortable as possible. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We'd have loved to stay here longer. Beautiful inn with masses of old world charm, yet all the modern comforts required. Add to this an excellent breakfast and we're certain that THE new innkeepers - Patti and Mason - will make a real success of this.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the wooded garden in the back - very pretty and still.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Princeton hotels
3.7 mi away
Nassau Inn
Nassau Inn
#13 of 15 in Princeton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Princeton
Hampton Inn Princeton
#1 of 15 in Princeton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Princeton
Hyatt Regency Princeton
#3 of 15 in Princeton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Princeton
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Princeton
Hyatt Place Princeton
#6 of 15 in Princeton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
7.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Glencairn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Glencairn

Property: Inn at Glencairn
Address: 3301 Lawrenceville Rd, Princeton, NJ 08540-4719
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Princeton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn at Glencairn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Glencairn is a bed and breakfast in a fully renovated 1736 Georgian manor on nearly three acres of park-like setting. Guests will enjoy the unique historic setting while being pampered with many modern amenities including updated en-suite baths, comfortable new mattresses, individual heat controls, flat screen televisions, and wireless high-speed Internet access throughout the manor. Many guest rooms feature four poster beds, antique dressers and armoires, and 18th century woodwork. The Inn at Glencairn is located just three miles south of Princeton University, Princeton University Art Museum, and McCarter Theatre. Also less than 10 miles away is the world renowned Grounds for Sculpture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Inn at Glencairn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Glencairn Hotel Princeton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing