We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great a performance in this excellent venue”

McCarter Theatre Center
Ranked #5 of 51 things to do in Princeton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,360 reviews
676 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 501 helpful votes
“Great a performance in this excellent venue”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Had a great time at a great production (Into the Woods) in this theatre.

Street parking during nigh performances is free, just try to snag one early.

Even better park at a distance and walk through the beautiful grounds to the theatre.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ThePackedBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    50
    12
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
195 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Off Broadway or on the way”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Lots of interesting stuff comes through McCarter's two theatres. Some go on to Broadway and you get to see it here first for much less. Others are staples for the season, like the Nutcracker. Certainly worth taking the time to check out the performance schedule. No bad seats at all!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank nomad_rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wide array of music and drama.”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Solid drama series, good jazz series, and many interesting musical one-offs. Have been a subscriber for many years and am rarely disappointed

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Norman G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice theater complex”
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

I can say that I have only been here once. Living in town I drove past McCarter all the time, it is a beautiful building. However, while in college the tickets were always a bit expensive for my budget.

This past winter (now 8 years out of college) my nephew was in a play at McCarter and when I went to go get tickets I was still amazed at how much they were compared to Broadway (which is highly accessible to us in this area).

I will say that the show was excellent. McCarter is known for the quality of the show that they produce. The theater is medium in size, not broadway sized by any means but definitely not a small space. They have a nice little cafe for during intermission.

If you are looking for something to do in Princeton and don't mind shelling out for tickets, then this theater definitely produces quality shows and is worth looking into.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank RHONNA1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, New Jersey
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful performances!”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We have season tickets to McCarter, and this year's productions were superior! It was such a treat to see "Vanya and Sonia and Masha and Spike" go to Broadway AND receive the Tony award for best play! The theaters are comfortable and you can't get a bad seat. Parking in the area is plentiful, and meal options are abundant.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaryPat105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed McCarter Theatre Center also viewed

 

Been to McCarter Theatre Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing