We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A first-class venue”

McCarter Theatre Center
Ranked #5 of 51 things to do in Princeton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Princeton, New Jersey
2 reviews
“A first-class venue”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I'm not going to review a particular attraction - though I've seen several here - because that doesn't seem like the real point.The facility has top talent, and often unique events/people/performances you can't find everywhere else.

Literally steps from mass transit - and some improved parking make it pretty convenient. The theater has good acoustics, very good view from pretty much everywhere, is very comfortable, and has a spacious lobby. Everyone I have encountered working there has been nothing but extremely pleasant and professional. Really a terrific venue...i'm lucky to live close by.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank robin r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    50
    12
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of Princeton's cultural treasures”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

McCarter theater offers a huge array of attractions: drama, music, dance, and much more. Emily Mann is the theater director and she has made the theater into a vibrant, creative, and exciting space.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank charicleia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
1 review
“Much Ado About Nothing”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This production of Much Ado About Nothing (Nov. 16, 2013) far one of the worst plays I've ever seen. The stage was covered in fake flowers, which were frequently ripped up and caused the actors to trip. None of the art direction made sense, it tried to be modern but it mixed modern/traditional; flowers and then chandeliers were on the same stage. Pop music, frat references and modern clothes were all used, but it was not done well - it felt jarred and out of place. I frequently felt pulled out of the 'immersion' that you would expect in the play. There were sex dolls in serious scenes - huh? At the end the actors were slow dancing and happy pop music was playing - it didn't make any sense.

The acting was poor and it sounded like many of the actors were reading their lines or did not truly understand what they meant. I did not feel sympathy for any of the actors in the sad scenes. As someone who has read the play a couple times, I could tell they made frequent mistakes, used American phrases and words in mix with the Shakespeare. It showed with the audiene - the audience didn't give them a standing ovation or the humorous response they wanted. I've seen some OK plays at McCarter but this one makes me not want to go back.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cari93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
144 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“a lovely facility”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We saw our first show at the McCarter Theater Center. i was impressed by this venue. it is located very close to the Princeton Train Station and to Bus service. There is parking nearby, even with the current construction projects. The restrooms are nice though down a flight of steps. There are handicapped restrooms on the main level but so many non handicapped people were using them that their purpose was compromised. There is a very nice lobby space. There are several areas with seating for before theater drinks and snacks. The auditorium itself had very comfortable seats with adequate seat width and good spacing between rows. The sight lines seemed very good. The stage itself seemd reasonably large with good wing and fly space. There was even a stage elevator or at least traps in the floor to allow props and sets to move up and down. We very much enjoyed the show we came to see (White Snake) and were imperssed by the venue.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank RoverPhiladelphia_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“White snake”
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

Be forewarned. We arrived at the show four minutes late and they refused to honor our tickets, which were in the fifth row orchestra, claiming that seating us would be a distraction to other patrons . Instead they offered to sit us in the last three rows of the theater or up in the balcony.

Clearly this is an organization not aligned with families with children. What may I ask would happen to those who arrive on time but then later in the show need to use the restroom? Do you forfeit your seat?

Who in the works has ever seen thus kind of policy? Mccarter theater has seen the last of us.

Helpful?
Thank Travellinpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed McCarter Theatre Center also viewed

 

Been to McCarter Theatre Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing