We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very well run basic business Hyatt”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Princeton
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Princeton
Certificate of Excellence
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very well run basic business Hyatt”
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Just spent two nights at this hotel for a nearby wedding, and had a very good experience with almost nothing to complain about. Face it, this is not the type of hotel you are going to visit for a honeymoon or a romantic weekend. It is a business hotel in a business park on the outskirts of Princeton, but they do a very good job.
We came from Newark airport and took the train to Princeton Junction (surprisingly easy!). We were picked up by the hotel shuttle... a few minutes later than arranged, but hard to complain when it is a black Escalade. About six minutes to the hotel, which is located in a non-descript red-brick business park. The hotel itself is one of those standard three or four story Hyatt's with the central atrium... a little dated, but going through some renovation ( the pool was closed during our visit, but it looked nice). Check in was smooth and very welcoming, and we received coupons for free breakfast buffet. (Not sure if this was a special deal for our group or normal). Some of the lobby areas could do with a good interior decorator ( a bit of an airport waiting room feeling) , but our room must have been an updated one. It was very comfortable and we slept well in the bed. The walls are a little thin, but I wear earplugs to sleep anyway. There is a decent gym with good equipment... unfortunately a low ceiling, so a 6 footer cannot use the ellipticals without hitting his head on the ceiling... but otherwise good, and there are saunas in the men's and ladies rooms.
The best thing about this hotel is the service.... everyone we dealt with was delightful and well-trained. When we wanted lunch around 3.30pm on Friday afternoon, and there was only one waiter covering the bar and the lobby restaurant, and he was suddenly faced with a full bar after a Christmas lunch.... he was stretched, but professional and charming, and lunch came quickly and it was good. In the evening we showed up at 8.30pm with 11 people for dinner, and they rearranged tables to seat us. I was worried that our food would take forever to come, but Marissa did an excellent job, and everything came smoothly as ordered. Dinner prices are a bit on the steep side ( my recollection is something like $12 for a salad and $35 for a sea bass main dish), but the food was really quite good and we had a fun evening. And the breakfast buffet is just fine.... again with really charming and helpful staff.
All in all, the experience exceeded our expectations and Hyatt should be proud of whoever is in charge of training at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderer0946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    286
    147
    70
    39
See reviews for
261
151
51
350
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We stayed in one of the newly remodeled rooms and they are excellent. Very comfortable beds, quiet, spotless, all the ammenties. Breakfast buffet/menu are excellent but pricey. No complaints, exactly what you would expect from a newly remodeled hotel room.

Room Tip: Get a remodeled room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MYGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Princeton, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
Hello MYGC!

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay at our Hyatt Regency Princeton. We're delighted to hear your comments on our renovated rooms. Your comments regarding the delicious breakfast will be passed to our executive chef. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
229 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Stayed here during Hurricane Sandy when the hotel had no power. The staff went way above and beyond to make our stay the most memorable camping experience I have ever had--candlelit gourmet breakfasts and dinners, extra blankets for warmth, and attentive staff who were extra appreciative of our business.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knittermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

This hotel is old and in the midst of a remodel which is sorely needed. The rooms are nice size, but everything is worn. Although the mattresses are modern and comfortable. They charge for internet. $10/day. The walls are thin and you can hear everything. The staff is nice and tries their best. Once the renovation is completed this should be a very nice hotel.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank CalClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millburn, New Jersey
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

The initial room given on the main floor - had ripped lamp shades and stained carpet. Overall, was in very poor condition. An inexpensive motel would be more appealing. This will reflect poor on the Hyatt chain. A new room was given, although front desk claimed they would waive the upgrade fee - to a standard room. It seemed to be one of the upgraded rooms, which they may consider removing rust around the bathroom door. The upgrades clearly cut corners. The hotel was empty - and I could see that it may not have the best reputation.
The pool was nice. The room came with no complimentary water, and a small bottle in the lobby was $4.00. I think there was a charge for Wifi.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the main level
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theNJTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We stayed here this past Saturday because we were in town for my husbands school reunion.
Room- I requested a new room because the site had said the hotel was undergoing renovation from aug-sept. We did get a newly renovated room which was clean, stylish and modern. You could still smell the new carpet. The room and the bathroom were quite high end which was a pleasant surprise for the price we paid. It does not appear that the renovations are complete but we were not interrupted or inconvenienced by anything during our stay. My husbands friends had shared the presidential suite which was very spacious but not renovated. It was old and outdated as of now, but I'm sure they will get to renovate it as well.

Service-Better than we expected! They provided a complimentary shuttle for us to get to the reunion which was infact a Cadillac escalade which was super. My husband forgot to bring undershirts and called the front desk and they brought some up from the gift shop and saved the day!

Location-This was about 4 miles from where we needed to go and also from palmer sq etc so it wasn't too bad. It's right off rt 1 but the gps does not recognize the address for some reason making it a tad difficult to find.

Room Tip: Ask for a new room, some of the renovations are already complete.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christieloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Before I say anything about the rooms, I have to give a shout-out to the front desk personnel. We were visiting a nearby university and they were incredibly helpful with directions, navigation tips (as some of the roads were closed off for construction), etc. Professional, friendly, nice and polite.
The hotel is in the process of a renovation and needs it. NOT awful. Our room was clean and comfortable, but everything is a little tired: the carpets, the furniture, the bathroom etc. Having said that, I would still stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSM6300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Princeton hotels
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Princeton
Hampton Inn Princeton
#1 of 15 in Princeton
797 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Princeton
Hyatt Place Princeton
#6 of 15 in Princeton
437 reviews
1.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Princeton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Princeton Marriott at Forrestal
2.8 mi away
The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village
2.0 mi away
Nassau Inn
Nassau Inn
#12 of 15 in Princeton
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Princeton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Princeton

Property: Hyatt Regency Princeton
Address: 102 Carnegie Ctr, Princeton, NJ 08540-6200
Region: United States > New Jersey > Princeton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Princeton
#6 Family Hotel in Princeton
#8 Business Hotel in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Princeton 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Princeton's Carnegie Center, the Hyatt Regency Princeton is minutes away from the proud home of one of the most "prestigious universities in the world ” Princeton University, historic sites and upscale shops. Princeton itself hosts many Fortune 500 companies including Dow Jones, IBM and L’Oreal, Bristol-Myers Squibb, Dow Jones, and Siemens. Enjoy the city without the expensive hotels rates as we are five minutes away from the AMTRAK/NJ train station with service to New York and Philadelphia; just one hour away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Princeton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Princeton Hotel Princeton
Princeton Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Princeton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing