We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, other problems.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Princeton
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Princeton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Was there last week and the staff could not have been nicer or more professional. There were a few problems that need addressed. First off, the breakfast does not start until 630. That is way too late for business travelers. I had a conference call at 7am and I asked for the breakfast to be delivered between 630 and 7. I was hoping it would be 630 so I would not have to be eating while on the call. The food didn't arrive until 715. When it did arrive, the nice delivery man could not get the silver cover off the plate. It was stuck on. He tried to pry it off with a knife but it was so noisy I had to ask him to leave because it was disrupting my call. The manager was very apologetic and offered me some apple slices and croissants to make up for it. I was grateful for that but it didn't solve the root problem with the breakfast only being offered after 630. The other problem with the service was the shuttle. I ordered it twice while I was there and both times it was 10 minutes late. For a hotel that caters to the business traveler ( I would assume about 95%) they should focus on the amenities that business travelers need and expect.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,044)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

757 - 763 of 1,044 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

We were there for a convention - probably 400+ attendees, most staying on site. Why management wouldn't have more staff to accommodate the guests is perplexing and frustrating. Limited wait staff, one bartender, waited over an hour to get room serviced that was served cold and trash cans that over flowed with garbage. A tray of breakfast food was left sitting outside the conference room into the evening.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank adventurefamilyfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed at the Hyatt to attend the NJ Jr Age Group Championships. It is very convenient to the swim meet location and close to many restaurants. We arrived on a Friday night for a weekend stay and was greeted by a very frosty front desk. There were 3 people one being trained by the second staff and then another person who plainly avoided making eye contact. No welcome greeting, no acknowledgement. Calling the front desk to ask about our missing breakfast vouchers was also an annoying experience with that person arguing that first we don't get them to we should have it already. Checking out on Sunday was the same frosty experience - with another person being trained by the same staff member from Friday night. The trainee complained that she already checked us out, when I requested to bill to 2 separate credit cards (I thought she was still looking for our rooms in system).

However, we found the hotel facilities to be very nice and the beds and pillows are very comfy. I have to say that was the best hotel sleep I have ever had! We ate breakfast and dinner one night at the hotel restaurant and we found the dining staff very warm and attentive to anything we needed. Thanks for keeping my cup full of that delicious freshly brewed coffee! They also have an excellent pool area that they managed to keep warm despite the frigid temperature outside. Overall - almost a perfect weekend albeit slightly marred by the first and last customer service experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bhjcoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This is a hotel for drivers; even better for drivers who want to use it as a base but take the train into the city. You still need to drive to Princeton Junction station despite being close; simply no-one walks in this vicinity! The hotel's rooms are large - I find them a trifle dull - and best for business and people on business. The restaurant is similarly a little over-functional - the hotel is being refurbished so this may change - but nothing detracts from the efficiency and convenience of having good staff and being right on route 1, virtually half way between Philadelphia and New York, also close to what I find is about the only decent commuter train line into NYC. The hotel is also an excellent place to meet for a lunch meeting.

Room Tip: I have stayed a number of times and I prefer the ground floor because the lifts seem very slow to ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Hyatt has done a great job transforming this property from a schoolmarm into the hot librarian. The overdone and cold design of the 80's has been updated to a modern standard yet maintains a sophisticated vibe, albeit in a cavernous atrium that no one seems to know what to do with - e.g. acres of former planters have been filled with black river stones. It was extremely quiet during my 2 night stay which suited my post-holiday mood. The staff is earnest and seems to be on a good learning curve. My room was comfortably modern and well suited for the work I needed to accomplish (unlike the standard Marriott where you're expected to work at a roll out interpretation of a Queen Anne's desk while in an office chair from Staples - horrible - and worse, they're all the same wherever you go). This property is an easy drive to campus and the great restaurants in town, but is more suited to business travelers like me. The pool is terrific as is the fitness center and the bar makes a very happy martini. I only had a light breakfast from the buffet at the restaurant, but it was healthy and fresh with excellent service. I recommended highly.

Room Tip: Ask for the East side of the hotel away from hwy 1. Some rooms also have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Oleoleolson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I've stayed at the Hyatt Regency Princeton regularly all fall, due to a new client in the area. The staff are very nice, from reception to the bar/restaurant and housekeeping. Hotel just finished a multi-million dollar renovation, so all public areas and guest rooms have been re-done.

The standard king rooms are quite spacious, some with a shower-only (glassed-in, very nice), some with a tub/shower. Beds are very comfortable, and the rooms are well-appointed. The breakfast buffet is extensive and worth the money (included with many corporate rates), and the lunch/dinner menu is tasty but somewhat limited...it seems they're trying to be a bit too avant-garde. Good-sized fitness room with multiple treadmills, ellipticals and bikes, and a beautiful pool. All in all, a good value in Princeton, right of Highway 1.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Huge rooms, friendly staff, low occupancy during our visit, but staff made up for the lack of atmosphere in the bar on a quiet Monday night. Comfortable bed, good shower. Bar food reasonably priced and reasonably tasty. Good selection of beers. Handy for the business traveller, unlikely to have used as a base for a vacation.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonDinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Princeton hotels
3.2 mi away
Princeton Marriott at Forrestal
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Princeton
Hyatt Place Princeton
#4 of 15 in Princeton
492 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Westin Princeton at Forrestal Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Princeton
Hampton Inn Princeton
#1 of 15 in Princeton
888 reviews
3.7 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Princeton
2 mi away
Nassau Inn
Nassau Inn
#8 of 15 in Princeton
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Princeton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Princeton

Address: 102 Carnegie Ctr, Princeton, NJ 08540-6200
Region: United States > New Jersey > Princeton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Princeton
#6 Family Hotel in Princeton
#8 Business Hotel in Princeton
Price Range: £100 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Princeton 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Princeton's Carnegie Center, the Hyatt Regency Princeton is minutes away from the proud home of one of the most "prestigious universities in the world ” Princeton University, historic sites and upscale shops. Princeton itself hosts many Fortune 500 companies including Dow Jones, IBM and L’Oreal, Bristol-Myers Squibb, Dow Jones, and Siemens. Enjoy the city without the expensive hotels rates as we are five minutes away from the AMTRAK/NJ train station with service to New York and Philadelphia; just one hour away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hyatt Regency Princeton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Princeton Hotel Princeton
Princeton Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Princeton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing