We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Princeton
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Recently stayed here for a business trip. The room was very comfortable, nice bathroom and the bed (King) was very comfortable. I was on the 5th floor and didnt hear any of my neighbors - so sound proofing was great! The breakfast in the adjoining restaurant was EXCELLENT! Great selection of hot and cold cereals, and a variety of breads and fresh fruit. Eggs, bacon, sausage, breakfast potatoes and french toast were offered as well. All in buffet style setting. Each table had its own coffee so you didnt have to wait for a refresher. I would say this was so much better than what I have had at the buffets in Las Vegas!! The staff were extremely helpful and very nice! I would stay there again.
One thing to note - the address took me to a different location on my phone GPS - had to call and get another address which was 939 Ridge Road - and it took me right there.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1VespaScooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreePrinceton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton. When you’re traveling for business, it’s important to have peace and quiet, so you can get plenty of rest and get work done, and it’s great that we provided you with that. Our breakfast buffet is the perfect way to start your day, and we’re thrilled that it was one of the best you’ve experienced! We can’t wait to see you again on your next Princeton trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    248
    135
    65
    32
See reviews for
254
128
80
307
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We made Princeton our half-way stopover on our drive to Boston. This hotel has all the basics right: good service, comfy beds, good wifi connectivity, and placed the baby crib in room as per our request. We elected to purchase the wifi and breakfast package to avoid the hassle of having to go to the lounge area to check our emails at night. The breakfast spread was average (we did not have high expectations) but what made it bad was the rude service staff. We witnessed the same service staff going to all the tables, placing the bill in front of us (even though we had pre-paid), in order to remind the guests that the tip was not included! This was a big turn-off. Suffice to say, we barely tipped.

Nonetheless, it was overall a decent hotel stay for a stop-over. As compared to other hotels in the area (like the Westin), this hotel is slightly out of the way from Princeton University. This is something for the parents and students to take note of.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thekohs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreePrinceton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
We’re glad that you made the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton a part of your trip to Boston. It’s great that our accommodations provided you with everything you needed for a comfortable stay before a long drive. We would like to point out that our hotel is only five minutes away from Princeton University and if you would like to visit the campus on your next trip, our staff would be happy to let you know the quickest route. Receipts are given to all of our guests for their records, and we apologize if there was any misunderstanding. Your comments will be shared with our team in order to make improvements to our service as well. It would be a pleasure to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, United States
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2014

A well appointed hotel - good rooms and amenities, with one big exception - there was an extra charge for in-room internet service. In this day and age, internet is a important to a traveler as clean bedding or a color TV in the room - and those amenities are provided as part of the hotel room charge. I won't come back to the hotel for that reason alone - I am not going to pay a full competitive rate for a room and then have to add on an additional charge for in-room internet service.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Stewart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreePrinceton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
While we’re glad that our accommodations kept you comfortable during your trip to the Princeton area, it’s unfortunate that we missed the mark on your stay when it came to Internet access. We have discounted rates and packages that include WiFi available on our website, and we hope that you will reconsider and stay with us again utilizing one of these options. Your feedback is truly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I stayed here on about 4 separate occasions when traveling for work. Always welcomed with a smile and a warm cookie. The front desk was always very helpful. The rooms were large with a bed, a sofa, and a desk that was very convenient for work. Free wifi as a business guest. The only negative was on my first stay I had a room facing the highway and the noise was awful! After that requested a room in the back, and it was always very quiet. Would definitely recommend Doubletree!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluedreams1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreePrinceton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for your continued loyalty and recommendation of the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton! We’re glad that you look forward to starting your stays with our signature chocolate chip cookies. When you’re traveling for business, it’s important to stay in a location that’s conducive to getting work done, and it’s great that the amenities in our guest rooms meet your needs. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My experience: There was no fridge in the room. It was available with extra charge per night. There was no exhaust fan in bathroom or it was not working. Issue was reported to the staff but It was not repair during my stay. There is additional charge for wifi and breakfast. Even with more than 100 $ room charges per day. Please keep this in mind.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Swapnil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreePrinceton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
The input we receive from our guests is always appreciated. We would like to take this opportunity to apologize that our maintenance staff was unable to repair the fan in your bathroom before your departure. For future visits to the Princeton area, we have packages available at a great value that include Internet, breakfast, and refrigerators. It is our hope that you will return and take advantage of one of those rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, United States
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The lounge this hotel has for guests that serves Breakfast and a light Dinner is amazing. I stayed here while I was traveling for business and pretty much ate most of my meals in the lounge. Great perk with the hotel!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreePrinceton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
While we’re glad that you had a great business trip in the Princeton area, we do believe that you may have the wrong hotel. The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel offers a great restaurant called the Ridgeway Bar and Grille and we hope that you will consider giving us a try on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Our first stay was comfortable and welcoming. Our son and grandson have recently moved to Rocky Hill NJ and we will be returning occasionally to visit with them and explore the area, as there is much to do and see in this historic section of New Jersey. Double Tree Princeton will be our choice for a nice place to stay. Our room was very clean and we enjoyed a relaxing evening and morning in the room. Thanks to the kind and helpful staff too. We will return soon and look forward to using the pool.

Room Tip: Not familiar enough with the hotel to comment here. Our room was quite and had everything we needed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank home2brig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreePrinceton, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
We are so excited to be your hotel of choice for family visits in the Princeton area! It’s great that our location added to your stay and that you decided to check out the Downtown area. After a busy day, it’s important to unwind and we’re glad that our spacious accommodations provided you with a comfortable location to do so. Thank you for sharing your experience at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Princeton hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Princeton
Hampton Inn Princeton
#1 of 15 in Princeton
765 reviews
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Princeton
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Princeton
Holiday Inn Princeton
#8 of 15 in Princeton
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Princeton
Hyatt Regency Princeton
#3 of 15 in Princeton
862 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Princeton
4.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Princeton
Hyatt Place Princeton
#6 of 15 in Princeton
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton
Address: 4355 US Route 1 at Ridge Road, Princeton, NJ 08540
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Princeton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Princeton
#5 Business Hotel in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in 2008, the beautiful Doubletree Hotel Princeton features the exquisite Sweet Dreams beds, Precor Fitness Center, heated indoor pool, business center, wireless HSIA, and of course our signature warm chocolate chip cookie. We offer complimentary shuttle service to popular destinations and businesses within a five-mile radius of the hotel, and are conveniently located off US Route 1 near historic downtown Princeton, New Jersey. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Princeton
Princeton Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing