We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food 24/7 means that breakfast ends at 10.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Place Princeton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hyatt Place Princeton
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Princeton
Certificate of Excellence
Hudson, NY
Level Contributor
153 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Food 24/7 means that breakfast ends at 10.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

We stayed in this hotel for a previous high school reunion and enjoyed it. Great room and rate for what we needed. Back then a complimentary continental breakfast was offered, which we enjoyed. This time we "upgraded" to a hot breakfast for an additional fee. We came down to the "Guest Kitchen" at 10:00, just as they were clearing away the breakfast. I asked them if breakfast was over, and was told yes. Nowhere does it tell you that breakfast is served until 10. Now, in fairness, we did use the automated check-in kiosk. Maybe had we asked the person at the desk they would have provided this information. Getting into the elevator a poster states "Fresh Food 24/7. Now isnt' that music to your ears." We were told to ask the person at the desk to help us. He asked us what we wanted to order (without having been given the opportunity to look at a menu). Then he proceeded to take us back to the GK, where now breakfast was a mere memory. We said "never mind", went back to our room, left and had a great breakfast at a local diner. The room was great, but the whole breakfast experience put us off, especially since there are so many other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Booko a room that is in the middle of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    122
    50
    23
    11
See reviews for
140
35
25
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2011

The hotel was recommended by a company I was coming up to interview with. I really liked the service and staff. The only concern I had was with there being a stain (small) on the couch in the room. Love the entrainment center.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dpt11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2011

I like the layout of the rooms, though they could use a microwave. Service is fine. The "continental" breakfast is superb.

If, however, you plan to spend any time in the room during the day, put a "do not disturb" notice on the door. They seem to have a routine of one housekeeping person going door to door, knocking, and opening the door, followed by a person who actually cleans the room (sometimes hours later), followed by the person going door to door again. It's very strange and annoying.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BornTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2011

I stayed at the Hyatt Place Princeton this past December with my husband. We stayed there while we scouted the area for our future move to PA. The hotel staff was great! They knew why we were there and always asked how our house search was going. We returned 2 weeks later and the moment we came in they remembered us. I have now stayed there 3 times in the past 2 months and have had a great experience each time.

The rooms are very large. They have a seating area, a desk, and a small fridge. The only thing missing is a microwave. They have free breakfast which on first stay was a very nice contininental breakfast but not also includes some great hot selections. For lunch and dinner, you can also order food which we also tried and enjoyed.

There is a Marketplace with many stores, a movie theater, and restaurants rights across the parking lot. Great location!

We love this hotel and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kandpsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
441 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2011

This was my first stay at the Hyatt Place. I stay in the area a lot and decided to try this hotel. I might give it another try and decide whether to continue staying or forget it.

Pros:
- Very good location. Walking distance to the Market Fair mall (including a Barnes and Noble and Starbucks), Big Fish Bistro, South of the Border, Macaroni Grill and more. Right on Route 1 in Princeton.
- Nice sized room with a large couch, desk area, sink and mini-fridge
- Awesome TV - Really large flat screen HDTV. Good channel selection.
- Good free breakfast
- Free wifi worked well

Cons:
- The orange under the couch made me wonder how well they cleaned the room.
- The desk was coming apart. The legs were so loose the table was shaking. I had to pull out the screwdriver in my Swiss Army knife to tighten it up so I could use it.
- No microwave in the room
- The ironing board was horrible and almost unusable.
Overall, the room seemed a little worn for what I thought was a very new hotel.

Other:
- Don't buy a coffee there. They have this strange little bar that is really part of the checkin desk. They serve Starbucks, so I asked for a coffee. What I got (after about 10 minutes) was really a Caffe Americano (expresso with hot water), and a bill for about $4.50.
- I didn't see or try the fitness center or pool.
- Apparently you can order food at that little bar (I saw someone eating there).

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KDAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
x
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2010

Found this hotel by booking through Resorts Plus International (received great discount!). We stayed at the Hyatt Princeton Place to go to Six Flags. The hotel was very nice, clean and comfortable and our room was spacious. The staff were excellent but the breakfast was a little pricey.

Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank sujoson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2010

The Hyatt is a great place for business travelers and visitors to the Princeton area. The staff- Tim in particular- are very friendly, and the rooms are surprisingly spacious for a standard. There are five restaurants within walking distance (a couple are across the parking lot from the Hyatt), and the university/downtown is a 5 minute drive away.

Rooms have comfortable beds, a tiny (but efficiently-spaced) living room/desk area, and clean bathrooms. The hallway is slightly narrow, but noise was not an issue-didn't hear my neighbors or the people across the hall.

The only 'downside' is that the continental breakfast is just OK- coffee, juice, and starches; if you'd like eggs, meat, or waffles, you have to pay extra; however, if that's the worst that I can say about the Hyatt, I'm just nitpicking- it's a great value for what you are getting, and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MC32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Princeton hotels
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Princeton
Hyatt Regency Princeton
#3 of 15 in Princeton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Princeton
Hampton Inn Princeton
#1 of 15 in Princeton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
2.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Princeton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Nassau Inn
Nassau Inn
#9 of 15 in Princeton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Princeton
4.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Princeton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Princeton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Princeton

Property: Hyatt Place Princeton
Address: 3565 U.S. Highway 1, Princeton, NJ 08540-5930
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Princeton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Princeton
#4 Business Hotel in Princeton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Princeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Princeton 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Place Princeton is located central to various office parks including Princeton Carnegie Center, Princeton Overlook Center, Princeton Corporate Plaza Research Center, Princeton Pike Office Park, Princeton Forrestal Village office park, University Square, Princeton Corporate Campus, Mercer Corporate Park, Canal Pointe, Princeton Corporate Center, the University Medical Center at Princeton and the new University Medical Center of Princeton at Plainsboro complex. A free local shuttle is available upon request Monday - Friday within a 5-mile radius of the Hyatt Place Princeton.The hotel is nestled in the heart of Princeton, Plainsboro, West Windsor, Ewing and Hamilton NJ, located midway between Newark Liberty and Philadelphia Int’l airports and a short drive to Hamilton and Princeton Junction train stations providing rail service to and from New York City, Newark, Philadelphia, Atlantic City, Trenton, Jersey Shore points and other major cities in the northeast. For recreation are Sesame Place Family Theme Park and Six Flags Great Adventure within 30 miles of the hotel When searching for an activity to occupy your afternoon, tour the Princeton University and historical sights or browse the quaint shops of New Hope and Peddler's Village. Activities abound with over 20 historical and unique museums and ten performing art centers; all within 20 minutes of the hotel. Events at Princeton University, Princeton Theological Seminary, Westminster Choir College, Rider University, TCNJ and Mercer College are within seven miles of the hotel. During your stay, you can enjoy specialty Starbucks® coffee drinks and friendly conversation at the intimate Bakery Café. A Host will happily assist you with orders from the 24-hour Guest Kitchen, which offers café-quality, made-to-order meals and snacks along with a complimentary hot breakfast daily.The hotel is within a 300 steps stroll to twelve dining venues and restaurants, movie theatres and a shopping mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Booking.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Princeton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Princeton Hotel Princeton
Princeton Hyatt Place
Hyatt Princeton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing