We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for one night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Ramsey-Mahwah
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ramsey
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel for one night. The hotel is located right next to a road with heavy traffic. Luckily I was able to get a room that was not facing the road, which was good as I am a light sleeper.

The room itself was okay although a bit outdated. The king bed was good. In the room was also a fridge which could be useful if you are staying for a longer time. The hotel as such could also need to be refreshed here and there.

Best thing was their breakfast buffet, which was above average for similar hotels. There were many good choices. If you do not like the breakfast there is a Donkin Donuts right next door :-)

Finally the staff were very frindly and provided good service.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Martin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
apurva14, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ramsey-Mahwah, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Martin A,

We appreciate your review about our hotel, staff. and breakfast. We have addressed the issues about refreshing the hotel to management. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Ramsey-Mahwah
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

Pros: good price, friendly front desk, great breakfast, clean room (it even has an ice box), good location - few mins away from NYC
Cons: poor wifi, not sure if the room I stayed is too far away from the router?

Will stay again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Wangvv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Had a smaller room on the end away from Rt 17 it was quiet, although had a big of a funny smell to it. Fridge and microwave in room Front desk service was great, David made it feel like a large B&B. Breakfast surprisingly good, food was constantly restocked. Does look and feel a little dated inside, but property seems to be well managed.

Negatives: Fridge was a little noisy during the night, had to unplug it. Room hadn't been cleaned after I got back at 5pm. The room attendant worked at the pace of a snail and was still stuffing around making noise in the hall way at 7.45pm. Guess she must get paid by the hour.

I would consider this property again if I need to stay in the area, in part due to David's friendly and caring service which is sometime hard to find.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozdunkeroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Bed is comfy and room is very clean.

Service is fast and professional.

Nearby restaurants right next door.

Only a few minutes away from upstate NY and mall w/theater.

Will stay again if I'm in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Max D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

A little complicated getting there from the Interstate, follow directions carefully. Some chain-type restaurants nearby Pleasant staff. However overall rather drab,and the colour scheme is Holiay Inn 1980's! Lacks pisazz.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edward e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
apurva14, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ramsey-Mahwah, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Edward e,

We appreciate your recent stay with us and your feedback is very valuable. We have escalated your comments to management for future renovations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I normally stay at the HDI Expresses because they are the new portion of HDI. This location seemed to be very old. Don't get me wrong, not that it wasn't clean and a place to get a nights sleep but I've stayed in much nicer HDI Ex for much less money. I was in the bathroom and looked over to the sink (which is out in the hall to the right as soon as you walk in the door) and noticed the plumbing water lines dangling under the sink. It intrigued me so I went over to look. Under the open countertop, the contractor used promotional literature (travel books) in order to level the sink. That about summed up it up for me. The staff was very nice and the breakfast was the normal fare. I would probably find another place to stay next time in the area.

Room Tip: Room 312 was where I stayed.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ramsey-Mahwah, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Paul P,

Thank you for staying with us. I am glad you liked our breakfast and friendly staff. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Compared to Holiday Inn Express at Fort Montgomery and Chelsea Monroe, the room was much smaller and not as clean. The entrance is right off the highway and the traffic was loud enough to prevent a good nights rest. Staff was extremely friendly.

Room Tip: Away from Highway.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Love2Travel66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
apurva14, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ramsey-Mahwah, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Love2Travel66,

We appreciate your feedback and we are sorry that we did not meet all your expectations. In the future, if you do give us another opportunity, we will ensure you get a room on the backside. We appreciate the comment about our friendly staff. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramsey
0.7 mi away
Best Western The Inn At Ramsey
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mahwah
2.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Mahwah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Ramsey - Upper Saddle River
2.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Mahwah
2.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Mahwah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Ramsey-Mahwah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Ramsey-Mahwah

Address: 946 State Rt 17, Ramsey, NJ 07446-1607
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Ramsey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ramsey
Price Range: £87 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Ramsey-Mahwah 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Ramsey-Mahwah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ramsey-Mahwah Hotel Ramsey
Holiday Inn Ramsey
Ramsey Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing