We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold water, bad service...save your money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Castle at Skylands Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ringwood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here on a Saturday evening in April. The room was lovely (Gatsby) as were the grounds, but that was not enough to charge $250 a night (low season).

The Innkeeper greeted us and showed us around, but after that he was nowhere to be found. He said he would set up a dinner table for us that evening since we ordered in, but all he did was hand us two very dirty wine glasses and walk away. No cutlery, no plates. There was no hot water that evening and again the next morning (we let it run a good 5 minutes). We were told that breakfast was served between 8-10am but when we went downstairs at 9:15am for breakfast and to ask about the water, the Innkeeper again was gone. We waited 30 minutes and decided to leave, shower-less, and hit up a diner on our way home.

On Saturday we saw a wedding coordinator showing several couples around. Weddings are clearly their big money maker, they don't care about their weekend patrons. If that's the case, the cost per night should reflect this. Save your money or spend a little more and go somewhere with warm water and a warm breakfast! Very disappointing!

Room Tip: Gatsby room was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Natasha V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at Skylands for two nights to attend my friends wedding. We were the only guest there the first night and Dave treated us like family. Dave is the head care taker at Skylands. The breakfast was delicious in the mornings.Our room was cozy and clean. I would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone.

Room Tip: select a room that has the bathroom attached.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ari L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

My husband and I enjoyed two days at the Castle in March 2014. We stayed in the Gatsby room on the 2nd floor on the North end of the castle. The view was lovely and the room was spacious. At first we were a little cool but the heat was turned up and that solved the problem. They did have a hot water problem and apparently the heater burst or some such problem so on one morning there was no hot water. The woman who checked us in, was a bit cool, seemed involved in some other work and gave us no information. 30 minutes later we went back and asked questions which were answered. David seems to be the only person who really knows about the Castle. He was extremely helpful and doubled as the cook for breakfast. The grounds were beautiful and we enjoyed driving around.

Room Tip: 2nd floor on the North end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapitalTraveler915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I stayed here with my husband in March with a groupon. The property is beautiful, castle is massive but not a whole lot to do. Our room was nice and the bathroom was also pretty. Had no problems with the heat or hot water but the breakfast was disappointing. I expected breakfast to be sit down and more made to order, not a buffet with just eggs, sausage and boxed pastries.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here sep. 23rd 2013. We were moved to the "nicest room" we were told...being that we were just married. We honestly didn't expect it. Amazing simply amazing! Between the breath taking architecture and the gardens that you could be lost in easily it was incredible! We were told it was the slow season...only one other couple was there. We no lie got lost....we wonder into what appeared to be a wine seller? The hotel staff(really just a few people) seemed to encourage our adventures lol. Friendly folks....served us drinks in the middle the night and we woke up to a great breakfast buffet eggs bacon sausage pancakes coffee O.J and so on! It's worth the money.

Stayed: September 2013
1  Thank Kap1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We recently stayed here for several nights in February after finding out that our nephew is getting married at the Skyland Manor in November. What a classic jewel we found the the Northeast corner of New Jersey! Skyland Manor is located in Ringwood State Park, and the setting cannot be more serene, romantic & stunning. The Manor is immaculate in every detail, and the self-guided tour through its magnificent environs is like a history lesson of architecture and aristocratic lifestyles from the early 2oth century. David, the innkeeper of Skyland Manor, is a jewel of creative eccentricity as he is filled with wonderful stories, patience, excellent service and genuine delight, enjoy him and his mannerisms! David suggested several hiking trails for us to explore and they all were wonderful in the beautiful snowy atmosphere we were experiencing. We stayed in an immaculate "Gatsby Room" which was warm, very comfortable and had amazing views. The coffee in the morning was hot and fresh and David made us a heaping of delicious eggs every morning. Please note that you are not staying in a Hilton property, but an old & quite unique aristocratic property. Take staying at Skyland Manor it for what it is worth: A unique opportunity to step back in time and bask in a pristine natural setting that is breathless, along with an eccentric innkeeper who is a hoot and the finest details any wealthy home show off. Stay here and be spoiled, you make it what you wish travelers! Is the glass half-filled or half empty? I found my glass to be over-flowing with joy!

Room Tip: Ask innkeeper David for a hiking trail map and bring your hiking boots, snow shoes, cross country sk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wilson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Among the mountains and lush forests in Ringwood, New Jersey, the Castle at Skylands Manor is as magical of a getaway that one could wish for. The gorgeous stone mansion is picturesque and impressive, and you’ll feel as though you have entered a fairy tale of your own. As you enter the building, you are graciously greeted and given the encouragement to explore everywhere you want. The sweeping staircase is just one of the many glorious aspects of a stunning and memorable historic site. The details of each room are remarkable and gorgeous, and the hours pass quickly and luxuriously as you take in the beauty of it all.

Yet adding to the iconic and picturesque setting was the personable and courteous owner David. As if our stay could not be more perfect, we were taken aback by the genuine kindness and humor of our host. David answered all of our many questions about the castle, made us feel at home, and provided a marvelous breakfast the following morning. He elevated our stay immensely, making our trip even more outstanding. We travel frequently and rarely have we ever encountered such wonderful service. David truly made our stay at the castle something enchanted and extraordinary. It was a truly unforgettable adventure.

Room Tip: All are absolutely fabulous, but room 210 had a gorgeous view in the front of the castle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ringwood
16.4 mi away
Grand Cascades Lodge
Grand Cascades Lodge
#1 of 1 in Hamburg
1,878 reviews
12 mi away
Best Western Regency House Hotel
Best Western Regency House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pompton Plains
494 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sheraton Mahwah Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Mahwah
4.3 mi away
Courtyard Mahwah
Courtyard Mahwah
#4 of 8 in Mahwah
234 reviews
4.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Mahwah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle at Skylands Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle at Skylands Manor

Address: 5 Morris Rd, Ringwood, NJ 07456-1700
Region: United States > New Jersey > Ringwood
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ringwood
Price Range: £74 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Castle at Skylands Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Castle at Skylands Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle At Skylands Manor Hotel Ringwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing