We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant Visit”

Hawk Haven Vineyard and Winery
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Rio Grande
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Three generations of the Wuerker family have lovingly cultivated the farmland at Hawk Haven Vineyard and Winery. The sandy soils and ocean breezes provide the perfect conditions for great grape growing. Vineyard guests taste our diverse collection of wines at the extra-long mahogany bar and meander through the vines with bottles of wine and picnic baskets. Tastings are educational and enjoyable. Please join us, our tasting room is open daily, year round with live music, tours, and a lunch menu on select dates.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Visit”
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Visited today with my mom and sisters. Had a very pleasant experience. Staff was very knowledgable and inviting. Loved the "Harriet"!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawkHavenWinery, Owner at Hawk Haven Vineyard and Winery, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thanks for visiting and we're so glad you enjoyed the Northern Harrier Red! Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    90
    23
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westampton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wine tour and tasting”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Took the very informative tour with my spouse. Our tour guide was the resident biologist, a very knowable and pleasant gentleman. The tour included wine tastings along the way. We visited the two vat buildings and the vineyard. After the tour we were served a cheese plate as part of the tour package. Reservations needed.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsburg
1 review
“Very helpful and friendly!”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We visited the winery as part of a weekday package in Cape May and we had a lovely time. The man telling us about the wines was very knowledgeable about all of the wines and what we should expect from each of them. Learned a lot and met a wonderful couple also having a tasting, so a really lovely way to kick off our mini-vacation!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
66 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

May daughter and I were staying in Cape May for a weekend and decided to visit this winery. The place was gorgeous and we had a great time. The person who did the wine tasting knew a lot about the wines and history of the winery. They offered a menu of little tidbites to eat with your wine which was nice. We had a glass of the Pear Sangria and sat and listened to the music. We enjoyed it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kathi53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“First impression didn't meet expectation”
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

The atmosphere and building itself is very inviting especially when you walk up to the front doors. Staff seemed a little confused and frazzled being that it was a Saturday. But isn't that when the most people come is on the weekends??? Decided to sit and listen to music with some wine and tapas. Stuffed mushrooms were melted on top and completely cold and raw elsewhere very obvious to naked eye when you take off the huge piece of rosemary. My feeling is showcase wine and customer service and not the selection of food.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Artsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HawkHavenWinery, Owner at Hawk Haven Vineyard and Winery, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Hello and thank you for visiting Hawk Haven this past weekend, we appreciate you taking the time to leave a review! Weekends are always busy, but the Wine & Chocolate Wine Trail Weekends are exceptionally hectic for us and we have a lot of extra things going on that we don't have on other weekends this time of year. Every year we try to adjust our preparations in order to find out what makes for the smoothest and most enjoyable experience for the guests that visit us. I'm sorry to hear that your experience was less than perfect and we hope you will give us another chance and visit again sometime. As for the food, again I apologize and I hope you were able to give our waitress and Executive Catering the opportunity to improve your experience with a menu item you enjoyed more. Thanks again and if you have any further comments or suggestions on how we can do better, I can be reached at info@hawkhavenvineyard.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hawk Haven Vineyard and Winery also viewed

Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 
Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May Court House, Middle Township
 

Been to Hawk Haven Vineyard and Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing