We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Need to get better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Rockaway
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rockaway
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Need to get better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

A problem waiting 75 minutes for check-in. Had to call the front desk numerous time for non-working a/c, dirty towels, lack of wahcloths, moldy toilet paper. Was not greeted as a rewards menmber. Ultimate confusion of staff about breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Adele A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorrie M, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Rockaway, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Hi Adele,

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay with us. My front office manager, Alex, has been in contact with you regarding this matter and brought me up to speed on the issues you experienced. Certainly, this is not the level of service we typically provide. My team and I identified our areas of opportunity, discussed what we could have done better, and implemented measures to ensure we are exceeding our guests' expectations from a guest room cleanliness, maintenance, and service standpoint.

The HGI Rockaway team stands behind our product and promises your satisfaction. We trust that we have thoroughly addressed your concerns, as per our telephone conversations, and hope you will give us another opportunity to provide you with the exceptional service and cleanliness that we have been known for, for over 13 years.

Sincerely,

Lorrie Miller
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Rockaway
375 Mount Hope Avenue
Rockaway, NJ 07866
Hotel Main (973) 328-0600
Direct Line (973) 328-2500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    157
    51
    22
    21
See reviews for
155
86
33
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

hotel was very decent.. got there early and they had our room ready !!!
kayaked all day at split rock (challenging) back to hotel 7pm and walked over to buffalo wild wings for dinner...
had a very decent swim in the pool and off to bed...
will visit again

Room Tip: I booked online with help from a past traveler... worked well !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marjandrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorrie M, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Rockaway, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Hello! Thank you so much for taking a few moments to tell us about your trip to our hotel! I am delighted to hear that you had a great time at the reservoir and with us! The Hilton Garden Inn Rockaway recently completed renovations to our lobby, lounge, and restaurant. Please join us for dinner when you're in town again - the Thai Chicken is fantastic!

Lorrie Miller
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Rockaway
375 Mount Hope Avenue
Rockaway, NJ 07866
Hotel Main (973) 328-0600
Direct Line (973) 328-2500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockaway, NJ, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed here for one night. Found everything to be above average. The bed sheets smelled a bit strong of bleach but other than that, all of the amenities were fine. The breakfast buffet was a bit skimpy but the cook did a great job on our omelets.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Alden S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorrie M, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Rockaway, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Hello and thank you for your feedback! I appreciate the time you took to let others know about your stay with us. I'm glad you enjoyed your omeletsand will ensure we continue to offer a plentiful selection. We hope to see you again when you are passing through town!

Lorrie Miller
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Rockaway
375 Mount Hope Avenue
Rockaway, NJ 07866
Hotel Main (973) 328-0600
Direct Line (973) 328-2500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockaway, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

I was on the second floor and must have all the plumbing pipes coming through the bathroom walls. Every time someone used the faucet, i could hear it loud within my room. sounded like someone was in my bathroom running the water. It was loud enough to keep me up and at 5:30 am. it was constantly turning on and off as guests were getting ready for the day.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorrie M, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Rockaway, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Hi David,

Thank you for your feedback. I apologize that the room was not as quiet as it should have been. I have located your reservation and will work with my maintenance team to see what we can do to remedy this issue in the guest room you occupied; this was never brought to our attention previous from this or any of our guest rooms. I appreciate the time you took to alert me of this and hope you will be our guest again soon.

Lorrie Miller
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Rockaway
375 Mount Hope Avenue
Rockaway, NJ 07866
Hotel Main (973) 328-0600
Direct Line (973) 328-2500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

This is a fine hotel. We were there for one night for a family event. There were three wedding parties also staying at this hotel. The Management posted paper signs on halls and elevators asking folks to be mindful of other guests. I am sure they did this because of the large amount of groups. That was very thoughtful of them. I did not use any of the facilities or eat at the restaurant. There is a bar/restaurant right in the lobby. That could have been better separated with more appropriate lighting. It did not look inviting at all. The mall next door has anything you want.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NadineTheQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorrie M, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Rockaway, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Hi Nadine,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. The Hilton Garden Inn Rockaway just completed a full renovation to our lobby, bar, and restaurant. The area is now designed to be more welcoming, allowing guests to relax with a glass of wine, enjoy a meal, or catch up on business in style and comfort. We hope you'll be in the area again soon to see our completed lobby design!

Sincerely,

Lorrie Miller
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Rockaway
375 Mount Hope Avenue
Rockaway, NJ 07866
Hotel Main (973) 328-0600
Direct Line (973) 328-2500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
206 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Good coffee in a hotel is extremely hard to find. We have stayed in hundreds of hotels across the nation, but the Hilton Garden Inn Rockaway had, by far, the most amazing coffee. What an absolute joy to come down in the morning & have a cup! Not only that, they prepared a thermos full for us as we were heading out so we could continue to enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joyhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorrie M, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Rockaway, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Hello! Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us....and our coffee! We pride ourselves in offering our travelers a "home away from home" and what better way to do so than to provide an excellent cup of coffee for our guests! We hope to see you again soon!

Lorrie Miller
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Rockaway
375 Mount Hope Avenue
Rockaway, NJ 07866
Hotel Main (973) 328-0600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Our room was spotless and the king bed very comfortable. Very convenient location steps from a big shopping mall near I-80. There is a Costco with gas just a 5 min. drive from the hotel. The renovations to the lobby and dining area have been completed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cableguy7073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockaway
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites Dover-Rockaway
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Denville / Rockaway / Parsippany
4.6 mi away
Courtyard Rockaway-Mt. Arlington
Courtyard Rockaway-Mt. Arlington
#1 of 2 in Mount Arlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Arlington-Rockaway Area
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Parsippany/North
2.3 mi away
Ramada Rockaway
Ramada Rockaway
#2 of 2 in Rockaway
3.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Rockaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Rockaway

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Rockaway
Address: 375 Mount Hope Ave, Rockaway, NJ 07866-1645
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Rockaway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rockaway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Rockaway 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Rockaway is conveniently located just minutes from Parsippany, Dover, Morristown and only 35 miles from New York City in Rockaway, New Jersey. Visit our hotel and enjoy a meal at the Great American Grill®, complimentary Wi-Fi, & 4,000 sq. ft. of flexible meeting and banquet space. Whatever the reason for your visit, relax and keep in shape at our fitness center & indoor heated pool. Explore many Rockaway area attractions just steps from our centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Rockaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Rockaway Hotel Rockaway
Hilton Rockaway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing