We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to spend a night with your family, but not particularly great for small kids” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Meadowlands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Renaissance Meadowlands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rutherford
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
192 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice place to spend a night with your family, but not particularly great for small kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

The hotel has got limited food services (a coffee maker in the room), and no microwave. There is a restaurant in the lobby, a steakhouse, with high prices, but very friendly staff. A very small fridge (more like a cooler). Prices are high. At the same time, rooms is comfortable. Free parking. Nice swimming pool (but no changing rooms, only a restroom near by). There is plenty of kids attractions around, and some nice dining options as well. The hotel is located on a hill, so you can see NYC skyline.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have a twin size sofa bed, some do not. A crib can be provided per request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bostonian2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Renaissance Meadowlands Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review. We are pleased to hear you found our rooms comfortable. I’m glad you enjoyed our pool and convenient location. Our team strives to make every stay memorable and we continue to seek new ways to positively impact the guest experience; thank you for sharing your feedback. We hope to host your family again soon.

Best,
Mark Irgang, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    86
    32
    9
    9
See reviews for
58
43
8
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
259 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Just across the river from New York City is the Renaissance Meadowlands Hotel off of Route 3 across from the Meadowlands Sports Complex in Rutherford New Jersey. Very convenient to all North Jersey locations and a short bus ride to NYC. Free parking. THe hotel is very up scale and reasonable for the area. Great views of New York City skyline.

Outstanding, friendly caring service and good food too.

Room Tip: Get a room up figh and facing NYC
See more room tips
Green Features: We stay there when we are in the area. They try to do everything to please!!
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Renaissance Meadowlands Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
We are delighted to hear not only of the comfort you experienced at our hotel, but also that you were able to take advantage of the variety of offerings around our hotel. Our location is a key attribute to providing our guests with endless opportunities of discovery throughout their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

This hotel has the best customer service in this area of NJ. I have stayed at several hotels in the area for meeting space and sleeping rooms and have always had issues. This hotel goes above and beyond to accommodate the needs of your group. This is the first time that I actually met a GM who came to check on us to make sure our experience was satisfactory. I cannot say enough nice things about this hotel and their staff. If you're having dinner, be sure to ask for Carlos, he's an amazing service with a delightful personality.

Room Tip: Love how the speaker from the TV can be turned up in the restroom! Neat :)
See more room tips
Green Features: All hotels should strive to offer this level of customer service!
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Renaissance Meadowlands Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Lori C,

Many thanks for your kind words, it was truly our pleasure to accommodate you and your group. Thanks especially for recognizing Carlos, he’s thrilled and extends his personal thanks as well.

Best,

Mark Irgang, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wading River
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great hotel close to the Meadowlands stadium and racetrack. A five minute cab ride for $15 gets you to the track. Very close to NYC. Highway right outside but the sound-proofing is excellent. We slept well.
Clean hotel with nice bar and restaurant.
The staff was attentive and friendly.

We would recommend highly.

Room Tip: 8th floor front (Room 814 in our case) has a great terrace and view to NYC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RW G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Renaissance Meadowlands Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
RW G,
Thank you for your complimentary review and high recommendations of Renaissance Meadowlands. It's wonderful to know our close proximity to NYC and attentive staff made for an excellent experience. We hope you'll return for another visit us again. Thank you once again for your review!

Kind regards,
Mark Irgang, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel because it was the hotel reserved for a wedding we attended in NJ. The hotel was very lovely, the staff was awesome. There really isn't much to complain about. We had a very small water leak from the toilet and when we told Michael at the desk about it he asked if they could send someone up to take a look. They couldn't find the leak so for our inconvenience they offered us another room, which we did not take because the leak was not a big deal. Then they gave us a voucher for a free breakfast which was very nice of them. I say it's not for families because the location is kind of in the middle of nothing. There is nothing that you can walk to but if you want a nice room and friendly staff it's a great place to stay. The one major flaw is there is no free wifi in the rooms, it is available in the lobby but not in the rooms. Really? In 2014, no free wifi - $9.95 per day/$14.95 per day, so wrong! It is convenient for a bus into NYC, just across the street so that was nice. All in all, we had a very pleasant stay, they just should have free wifi!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmbdnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Renaissance Meadowlands Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
jmbdnb,
Thank you for taking a moment to write a review regarding your stay at Renaissance Meadowlands. We're happy to hear you enjoyed a pleasant stay and the excellent service delivered by our staff. Your feedback is important to us on areas of opportunity and we thank you again for writing. We hope you'll have an opportunity to visit us again in the future.

Kind regards,
Mark Irgang, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

I booked our stay to take my two boys ages 8 and 10 to Medieval Times. We arrived at the hotel about 1pm to ample free parking and even though check in wasn't until 3pm the very polite gentlemen at the front desk checked us in early with no problem.
They were very friendly and professional and asked what brought us to the area, when my boys walked across the lobby to sit down one of the gentlemen (Michael?) asked me what their favorite dessert was and what time we'd be back from Medieval Times. We came back to our room to find a tray of chocolate chip cookies and two glasses of iced cold milk for the boys. It was perfectly timed and was such a nice surprise.

Our room was very clean, which is important to me. Our beds were comfortable, and the hotel was reasonably quiet. The amenities are nice, check in and out was smooth, I couldn't have asked for a better stay.

This hotel is within walking distance to Medieval Times, and about 8 miles from Manhattan. We easily drove to Liberty State Park the next morning to spend a nice day at Ellis Island and The Statue of Liberty.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a comfortable stay outside the city.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tahieann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Renaissance Meadowlands Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Tahieann,
Thank you for your review and recommendations of Renaissance Meadowlands. We strive to provide memorable guest experiences by taking those extra steps for our guests. It's great to receive feedback on the level of comfort and service you experienced, and we're glad you and your family enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome everyone back as our guests again soon. Thank you once again for your review.

Kind regards,
Mark Irgang, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
192 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We came into New Jersey for a family event just for the weekend and were very happy with our stay at the Renaissance. The check-in process was quick. Parking is free in front of the hotel.
The staff is friendly and helpful. We asked about getting into New York City and the woman at the front desk was able to provide us with a bus schedule and a map as well. There is literally a bus stop right across the street from the hotel.
There is a restaurant and bar on the premises. We had drinks and an appetizer one evening before heading out and service was good. There is also an indoor pool and workout room, which we were not able to take advantage of, but it did look very nice. There is a small business center with computers with internet and printer.
The room itself was very clean. The bathroom was updated and the décor was modern overall.
The only complaint I have was that you can hear the traffic from outside. I have been to other major hotels that are near highways or busy areas in general and somehow they are able to block out outside noise. I was still able to fall asleep. The bedding itself was very comfortable.
The location is great because you are close to major expressways and other major sights such as the Meadowlands stadium.
We were definitely happy with our stay and recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the New Jersey or New York City area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmanfra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Renaissance Meadowlands Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
cmanfra,
We appreciate you sharing feedback from your stay and recommendations of our great hotel. It's fantastic to know that our service and accommodations reflect our high quality standards, and our amenities and location added convenience to your travels. I am very sorry to hear of the traffic noise you encountered during your visit. We're glad you enjoyed a comfortable stay otherwise and we hope to see you again soon at Renaissance Meadowlands. Thank you again for writing.

Kind regards,
Mark Irgang, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rutherford
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Lyndhurst Meadowlands
1.4 mi away
Hilton Meadowlands
Hilton Meadowlands
#4 of 5 in East Rutherford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton East Rutherford-Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Carlstadt-At The Meadowlands
0.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Meadowlands - Rutherford
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Meadowlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Meadowlands Hotel

Property: Renaissance Meadowlands Hotel
Address: 801 Rutherford Avenue, Rutherford, NJ 07070
Region: United States > New Jersey > Rutherford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rutherford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Meadowlands Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the trendy atmosphere at the newly transformed Renaissance Meadowlands Hotel. This hotel in Rutherford is perfectly situated with easy access to Routes 3 & 17 and the NJ Turnpike, and offers complimentary area shuttle service. Dine in whimsical style at our Finch's restaurant and lounge, featuring a farm to table menu and an extensive, award-winning wine selection. Our hotel in the Meadowlands features 167 beautifully appointed, modernized guest rooms and suites. Relax in the indoor pool, whirlpool or fitness center. Our freshly renovated meeting rooms are the perfect choice for gatherings of up to 240 people. We're a quick 6 miles from New York City and close to MetLife Stadium. Drive just 1 mile to the Meadowlands Sports Complex/Meadowlands Racetrack and only minutes to the Prudential Center in Newark. With local experts to help you discover all there is to see and do in the area, we invite you to discover how our hotel in the Meadowlands provides luxury, style, service and sophistication. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Renaissance Meadowlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Rutherford
Rutherford Renaissance
Renaissance Meadowlands Hotel Rutherford, New Jersey, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing