We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a Favorite Every time.”

The Saddle River Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The Saddle River Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$35 - US$50
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: East Allendale Avenue & West Saddle River Road
Hillsdale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
61 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Always a Favorite Every time.”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

You can not get any better! My crab meat salad was Jumbo lump for sure, My fish was like i have never had it served before. Who make homemade dark fudge sauce anymore? Hans!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank TimOLim0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    39
    12
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bad attitude towards customers”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

This is my third review. In the past I have been motivated by the positives - this review is based on the opposite, I have gone to this restaurant many many times over the last several years and do like and respect the food quality. My experience tonight has resulted in my view that I will not go back to this restaurant until they change the management,ie. the host. We had a problem with our service, not because of the staff who are great, and I spoke with the hostess - her reaction was so negative. She actually said to us that they PURPOSELY do not ask for opinions during the meal because they do not want to hear problems! Is this the most outrageous comment you have ever heard in a service industry? My salmon was overlooked and our service changed midstream without good carryover. But the overall issue was the reaction to our criticism (which we rarely have). There are restaurants with the same level of food quality...Cafe Panache, Esty Street, Cafe Matisse, Village Green...,without having to deal with surliness.




    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Rsonenfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Ho Kus, NJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“disappointing”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

It started with the nasty receptionist who was extremely combative when confirming our reservation. The nasty receptionist ruined the whole experience. She was extremely rude, arugumentative and extremely disrespectful. We will never go to this restaurant again!!! The atmosphere is pretentious from the minute you make the reservation until you get your check!!! What a terrible disappointment!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LoveVaca23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park Ridge
Level Contributor
139 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“One of the best in Bergen County”
Reviewed 3 February 2012

The Saddle River Inn has to be one of the best restaurants in Bergen County. The staff and service is first class. The food and prepartion is gourmet. The variety and specials are totally first class. The decor is beautiful!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bnj1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
70 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“calssic. period.”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

ANYTHING you get will be pro & intense!!

Helpful?
Thank PeterBNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Saddle River Inn also viewed

 
Ridgewood, NJ
 
 

Been to The Saddle River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing