We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“heaven by the sea!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sea Girt
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beacon House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Sea Girt B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“heaven by the sea!”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We just spent 4 heavenly days at this hotel. It was our first overnight on the Jersey Shore. We stayed in "The Cottage" which gave us plenty of room for our family and our pet Maltese. The rooms were very comfortable and clean with a very well-equiped efficiency kitchen. The location was one block from the ocean and we were provided with beach towels, chairs, umbrellas and passes. The staff was always present and very helpful. The main house and the grounds were very attractive and comfortable. It was even a pleasure just to sit on the porch in the shade and relax. We look forward to returning again and soon and would highly recommend Beacon House to everyone!

Room Tip: they are one of the only inns in the area to allow pets
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louisthe16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    23
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
55
84
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2013

The large porch was wonderful during a rainy day. My girlfriends and I enjoyed the rainy day reading mags, sipping wine, rocking and just catching up. Everyone there were always helpful and it was nice staying by the pool occasionally. Would recommend this B and B without hesitation. So close to the beach!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY, NY
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We were at the beacon house for 4 days and really enjoyed it. Cathy and Candice were so helpful and friendly. The rooms were pretty and the whole place was kept very clean. We stayed in Room 8 which had a balcony facing east. Very nice view.
The VIP admission to the parker house was great if you just wanted to stop in for a drink & not have to pay a cover/wait in line.
We plan to stay there again next summer!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tp11Ny_Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My husband and I were visiting family at the Shore and spent two nights at Beacon House. We had Rose Island, a second floor room with twin beds. It was small, quaint and pink, and quite comfortable. The layout of the room provides windows on three sides, and with the beautiful breezes we never used the air conditioning. The bathroom is split into two small rooms, one with a shower and one with toilet and a tiny sink. It worked out fine. Breakfast both mornings was delicious, with fresh fruit and a hot dish each morning. Good coffee. There was a small fridge in the parlor with bottled water and snacks on the honor system, which was so convenient to take thing to the beach. We sat in wicker chairs on the breezy front porch one early evening and watched the world go by as we enjoyed a bottle of chilled white wine - so pleasant, and so perfectly Sea Girty. (Can you tell I love this town, I have gone there since early childhood) . We went to the beach one day using the beach badges and chairs provided as well as an umbrella, very convenient. The location across the street from the Parker House is terrific and we had a lunch and a dinner there - excellent. The Parker House is a hopping spot on weekends with a line outside but we enjoyed the spectacle of the beautiful people and the music didn't bother us, even with the windows open. (We are city folks). Great location, nice people, comfy cute room, we were very happy here.

Room Tip: There are no elevators so choose what floor you are one if you have any issues - my knees don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cambridgtravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We returned home yesterday from a completely satisfying 4-night stay at the Beacon House. Candy, Cathy, and Claudette are friendly, accommodating, and think of everything. Claudette knew that we probably would be arriving early with our dog and limited as to what we could do until check-in, so she had a map ready with a highlighted route to the dog beach in the next town of Manasquan and Cathy made sure that our room would be ready by 2 p.m. (a hour earlier than the standard 3 p.m. check-in). Our room was immaculate, tastefully decorated, and surprisingly insect-free being only 1 block from the beach in summer.

I'm resistant to going to the Shore, and have always preferred Montauk's quiet, laid back beaches, but Sea Girt's Beacon House was a pleasant surprise and has proven to be a great contender: a comfortable and quiet room 1 block to a clean beach with facilities, option of a great lunch across the street at the Parker House, and serene, residential neighborhood assure a perfect stay. The Beacon's pool is a welcome PLUS, as are the bicycles for some exercise, and jogging on the beach or boardwalk.

Note that there are only 15 parking spaces and 23 rooms, there was no inn parking when we arrived as other guests had yet to check-out, and though there is usually ample street parking, it was a sunny weekend day with beach goers - took about 10 minutes to find a spot. When we returned for check-in, there were inn spots and we didn't need the car for the rest of our stay. Taxis come quickly (some evenings they're available outside the Parker House), and great restaurants are a short ride away. We ate twice at La Dolce Vita in Belmar, good Italian food, service, and sangria. Rod's has great steak, pork chops, and grilled fish specials. The Parker House has very fresh salads, lobster, and a raw bar. As we were in one of the 3 pet-friendly efficiencies, breakfast wasn't included, but morning coffee and afternoon baked goods were great and available (we made coffee daily in our room).

We're already planning to return before the end of the summer, and though 'our' room is completely booked, we're confident that any other room at the Beacon will equally satisfying.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cbevz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Ridge, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Just returned from an overnight at the Beacon. Very nice, clean, great staff and fabulous location. Room was comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was very good and nicely served. Beach badges, chairs, bicycles are a very great touch. It rained on Saturday, but the porch is comfy and the perfect place to wait for the Sun to come out. Pool is very soothing. I would definately stay at the Beacon again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor in the building that was away from the Parker House. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level 6 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Beacon House is in the perfect little beach town and is a great B&B. Really nice rooms, a wonderful pool, delicious breakfasts and very kind staff! If you stay during the week, they allow you to keep the beach passes for the day you check out and let you use the pool and changing cabana!
We have stayed here about 4 times and will return!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nuttyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sea Girt
0.7 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 6 in Spring Lake
644 reviews
0.6 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#4 of 6 in Spring Lake
49 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Spring Lake
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Spring Lake Inn
Spring Lake Inn
#4 of 8 in Spring Lake
267 reviews
0.5 mi away
White Lilac Inn
White Lilac Inn
#3 of 8 in Spring Lake
196 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Victorian at Spring Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Beacon House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 100 & 104 Beacon Blvd., Sea Girt, NJ 08750
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Sea Girt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sea Girt
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing