We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Beacon House: The perfect spot, time and again.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sea Girt
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beacon House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Sea Girt B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2006

The Beacon House Innkeeper and staff could not be more friendly, courteous or accommodating. All you have to do is ask. Its one block from the Ocean and now restored Sea Girt Light House (beach chairs and badges provided), with comfortable lounging areas on the shaded porches of the Beacon House's two buildings or on the lawn in between, or by the pool. Beacon House is in the center of all all the action across the street from the Parker House (hopping bar/restaurant/ raw bar - with VIP cards available from your inkeeper so you can CUT the very longgggg line that begins to form apres sun and builds through the night) The rooms are quaint, clean and have everything you need including private balconies in most, so you can check out the action or just kick back and tan. Oh, did I mention the TASTY breakfasts? They're included and have a different special menu everyday, or regular items if you ask (i.e. eggs, cereal, etc.). Ask if they're making their famous CREME BRULEE FRENCH TOAST, while you're there. Maybe you can talk them in to it, or you might have to settle for Quiche Lorraine. Its close too. A short trip (probably about 75 -90 minutes from NYC depending). We've been there before and we'll be back.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank forrest13bayonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 211 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2005

Beautiful old Victorian, friendly staff. Unbelievable breakfasts. Yumm.

2  Thank barbijd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Montclair, NJ
15
Reviewed 28 October 2005

My husband and I spend 2-3 weekends every summer at the Beacon House and wouldn't stay anywhere else. The location is the best, just a block from one of the nicest beaches in the state and across the street from great entertainment at the Parker House. Their pool is gorgeous and so quiet. Rooms are pretty and very clean. My favorites are Blue Hill Bay and Spruce Point with balconies, rocking chairs, and the best views of the ocean. We love to sit up high, sip a glass of wine, and watch the world go by. Breakfasts are yummy with so many extras beyond the main entree that we never have to give up beach time to get lunch! Candy, the innkeeper, is alwys willing to accommodate my husband's special dietary needs. She goes out of her way to make sure you've got everything you need for a perfect getaway. Just writing this makes me long for our next summer's stays at the Beacon House.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Monroe, NJ
13
Reviewed 5 October 2005

I recently reserved all eight rooms in the summer house at The Beacon House in Sea Girt for guests of my daughter's wedding. What a wonderful experience! The inviting parlor provided many hours of enjoyment for my friends. The porch was incredible and so relaxing rocking back and forth on the chairs. Everyone was happy with their accommodations and so smitten with the Beacon House. Each room was decorated differently and we found them all to be charming in their own way.

We all enjoyed breakfast together both days during our stay and everyone raved about the food. The coffee was hot and fresh. The sideboard held hard boiled eggs, cold cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit and a wide selection of teas. The main hot dishes were incredible...hot fresh peach compote and a baked egg/cheese dish with bacon and a muffin and juice the first day and a fruit cup, french toast stuffed with apples and raisins with a side of sausage and juice the next. Who could ask for more!

There is something special about this grand old place and I can't wait to go back for another weekend to enjoy all that it offers.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2005

My husband and I stayed at the Beacon House on Labor Day weekend, and booked the "superior" bedroom at $325 the night, tax included.
The Beacon House advertises itself as a charming Victorian Inn.
It is nothing but.
The "superior" bedroom had a queen size bed tucked in a narrow space and the only way to get into it was to climb from the foot of the bed. The mattress sagged in the middle.
Two rickety chairs and an old beat up dresser completed the decor. I guess this is their interpretation of "Victorian".
The bathroom was tiny, but that is ok. The hairs on the floor and everywhere on the bed blanket was not OK. It was disgusting.
We did not have a choice but to sleep it it after removing the bed cover and blanket, because upon our arrival at 2pm we had to rush to attend a wedding and only returned at night.
Breakfast the next morning was not any better. If you eat sausage and pancakes, I guess you would be happy. But we do not, and there was nothing to eat but boxed cereals, and upon asking, two pieces of toast. No butter, no jam, no juice, no egges, no choice but what the cook chooses to fix that morning.
Even though the Inn is located one block from the beach, it should not be a problem maintaining it clean. The floors were very dusty and dirty.
A bad and expensive experience. Couldn't wait to leave.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank papi2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sea Girt
1.3 mi away
Grand Victorian at Spring Lake
0.7 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 7 in Spring Lake
679 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sea Girt Lodge
Sea Girt Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sea Girt
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 100 & 104 Beacon Blvd., Sea Girt, NJ 08750
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Sea Girt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sea Girt
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing