We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a bad expereince”
Review of Sea Girt Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sea Girt Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sea Girt
Reviewed 25 August 2008

I was attending a wedding in Sea Girt and stayed there because it was a select hotel. After booking the reservation, my sister who lives in Sea Girt, warned me about staying there. She said her friends had a terrible experience. They made a reservation for a room with double beds, and when they arrive they were told there was no reservation. A family of 5 was put in a room with a single bed.

Well, the same exact things happened to us. We were told we never made a reservation but we were in luck, they had a room with a single bed. We were not given the wedding rate, we were charged $10 for a cot and the manager was rude.

I would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank scotchplains23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theseagirtlodge, Webmaster at Sea Girt Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Sea Girt Lodge during your recent visit to our area.

Upon receiving your review, the following steps were taken:

1) The management staff received additional training in how to record reservations which were made.

2) The management staff received additional training in how to treat our valued guests. Being rude to our guests is something which we will not tolerate.

3) The housekeeping staff received additional training in the level of cleanliness which we expect them to maintain.

I hope that the next time you are in our area you will again stay at Sea Girt Lodge. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2008

I searched for a lot of places to stay near the beach and all of them were very expensive but Sea Girt lodge had an amazingg location and I was a little scared that the rooms werent gona be clean bc of the `cheap rate but the room was clean, it was convenient and the pool was real clean. id def recommend it

Stayed: July 2008
1  Thank priyapatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2008

I spent 3 business weeks there in May. The rooms (i had 2 different ones) are clean, but the shower is a stall type and could use a new curtain, shower head and a boost in water pressure. There were plenty of towels, and sundries were always full. The water is hot, and it didn't run out. The staff was friendly and the motel was quiet. But I was there before Memorial Day. The heat and air conditioning worked as expected. Bottom line? if you need a place to shower and sleep this motel should be considered. If you need to do some serious work, you may need something bigger. TV and high speed internet were just ok. With a little more elbow grease on the details, the Lodge could probably pick up another star.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ImnoHoople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2008

This part of central NJ is rich in excellent B&Bs but motel poor. I visit the area often for family reasons and have always stayed at the Sea Girt Lodge with entire saisfaction. It was old, but well-maintained and welcoming. The advertsing pictures of the motel posted on the internet were accurate-- but no more. The spacious lobby and sunny, well-appointed breakfast area has been reduced to a dingy cubbyhole dominated by a surly guy sitting at a computer and talking with friends on his cellphone. The pleasant benches outside the rooms have disappeared.There has been an obvious change of ownership and the future looks like decline and fall. I was first assigned to a noisy, unsatisfactory room. The second room was slightly better, but the shampoo provided was a small, opened, half-used bottle of an offbrand. In the bedroom, a toilet paper banner trailed from the AC register to show the air was moving. My wife and I had to make do with a single key. Coffee in the lobby isn't available until 8 a.m., so at 7 I had to trek down to Starbucks.It looks like the new owners are trying to do everything on the cheap. I won't stay here again and can no longer recommend it to others. Pity .

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank ViajeroSomersPoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theseagirtlodge, Webmaster at Sea Girt Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sea Girt Lodge at which to stay during your recent visit to our area.

I am sorry to hear that you feel that the quality of our establishment has gone down since the new owners have taken over. The former owners always kept the place in such good condition.

Upon reading your response, the followings steps were taken:

2) The housekeeping staff received additional training regarding cleaning the rooms. There was emphasis on replacing the shampoos and lotions that have been opened with fresh unopened ones.

1) The person in charge of the breakfast area received additional training in the courteous way he is expected to treat our valued guests. He was also told to keep the personal phone calls for non-working hours.

I hope that the next time you visit in our area you will again decide to stay at Sea Girt Lodge. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2006

We had a great time at Sea Girt Lodge. Clean rooms, friendly staff, nice pool...even though it is in the middle of a parking lot. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank melissa3132015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
HAWTHORNE NJ
19
Reviewed 22 July 2005

We found this charming hotel after checking into a deplorable dump in the next town. We saw this on our way to dinner, turned around and checked it out. They had rooms available, so we stayed here instead. Everything was spotless. The pool was great after a day at the beach. Quiet atmosphere and family oriented. This was a great find and made our getaway just perfect. We will definately be back and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Gilbert, AZ
13
Reviewed 3 January 2005

Old roadside motel at high price, clean but out of date, rates expensive, nothing close by but strip malls.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theseagirtlodge, Webmaster at Sea Girt Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Sea Girt Lodge during your recent visit to our area.

I’m glad that you found our establishment to be clean, if somewhat dated.

I hope that the next time you are in our area you will again choose to stay at Sea Girt Lodge. I think you will be pleased.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sea Girt
1.9 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 7 in Spring Lake
681 reviews
1.9 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 7 in Spring Lake
433 reviews
2.7 mi away
Boardwalk Beach Inn
Boardwalk Beach Inn
#5 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sand Pebble Motor Lodge
Sand Pebble Motor Lodge
#4 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
221 reviews
5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Neptune
Red Roof Inn Neptune
#2 of 6 in Neptune
229 reviews
1.5 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#6 of 7 in Spring Lake
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Girt Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Girt Lodge

Address: 2168 Highway 35, Sea Girt, NJ 08750-1004
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Sea Girt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sea Girt
Price Range: £46 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Girt Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each season of the year presents great opportunities to bring your family or business associates to our newly and comfortably decorated, centrally air-conditioned and heated motel. Enjoy the beautiful beaches of Sea Girt, Spring Lake and Manasquan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sea Girt Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Girt Hotel Sea Girt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing