We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasantly surprised...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Girt Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea Girt Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sea Girt
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very pleasantly surprised...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

I was a little skeptical based on other reviews but was very pleasantly surprised when stayed at the Sea girt Lodge this weekend. When we arrived the woman at the front desk was very nice and helpful with some advise on the area. You can tell that the lodge has recently been remodeled. The room as totally redone with all new furniture and bedding. The room itself was very clean and neat. The bathroom was small was adequate and very clean which is what matters most. The location is good even though it is a little far from the beach areas. We were able to get to Point Pleasant, Sea Girt Beaches and Spring Lake with only a short drive. I really can't say anything negative about the lodge and would recommend it. The only reason it is not a 5 rating is that it is a very basic motel and not close to the beaches, but it met all of our needs.

Room Tip: Room 22 was in the corner and not in a busy location so not many people walked by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theseagirtlodge, Webmaster at Sea Girt Lodge, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your exceptionally kind comments about our remodeled hotel. I’m so pleased that you can find nothing negative to say about it. I’m pleased that you were 100 percent satisfied like so many other guests. We try to provide great value for simple, comfortable accommodations, and I’m glad you liked what we provide. We look forward to having you with us again soon.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    45
    20
    7
    28
See reviews for
43
35
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington dc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Our stay was horrendous. The hotel staff and management are the worst ever experienced. We will never go back. The rooms are over priced, which would be acceptable if the service was good. The location is okay. The rooms have some new furniture. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Burtwallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theseagirtlodge, Webmaster at Sea Girt Lodge, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for commenting about our recently refurbished hotel in Sea Girt, NJ. We take real pride in this property, as you can see, but we also take pride in providing expert customer service. You don’t specify how my staff failed you, but I sincerely apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We focus on providing great value, amenities and service to guests who appreciate what we’re able to offer.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sea Girt hotels

New City, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

People, this a place to sleep at and not the Taj Mahal! My husband and I have been coming to the Sea Girt Lodge for the last 15 years. We have seen many changes throughout the years. It has always been comfortable and very clean. I rather have a firm mattress then some of these places that have over used soft mattresses with dips in theirs!! The cleaning service was great. We left the room for breakfast and when we came back, the room was cleaned and had fresh towels. The place is quiet and not rowdy. I can understand the manager not wanting drunk teenagers there. I don't want them there either. The manager we have known for years and the women at the front desk for longer. They are nothing but respectful and only happy to help you.
For the people that complain about what is in the room, get a life. This is not your kitchen at home. The refrigerator is nice for a cold drink when you get home from the beach. Are you really going to iron? Come on, you're on vacation. This place is adequate for all your needs. I really don't think you stay in your room all day when you are on vacation. There is cable TV. Your are close to the beaches. There is great shopping nearby and at the New Jersey Premier Outlets (Exit 100A- 15 minutes away) and plenty of restaurants nearby. The price is reasonable. Place is clean and so is the pool. We have never had a A/C problem here. The room gets cold. What
more do you need? This place is great!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catlady1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed here for the 4th of July weekend. Understand that it is the holiday weekend, but we paid $220 a night for a mediocre shore hotel near strip malls. On top of that, the owner and the person working the front desk were incredibly unaccommodating and rude. After questioning a charge on the day we checked out, the owner told me that "I knew nothing and he knows everything." I can't make that up.

Needless to say, I will not be going back, nor would I recommend this hotel to any beach goer. Check out AirBnB, Homeaway, etc. because you can find a better place for your money!

Room Tip: Find a new hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nolan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theseagirtlodge, Webmaster at Sea Girt Lodge, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking time to comment. I’m terribly sorry that you experienced a lapse in customer service. You can be sure that the this problem has already been addressed, and you can expect much better treatment if you will give us the privilege of serving you again. We strive for complete customer satisfaction, and we clearly missed the mark in your case. For that, I apologize once again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

It is hard to please everyone all of the time, as it is obvious from the review below. My husband and I stayed there for 3 nights. This is the third time we have stayed and have never had a problem with either the staff or the room. Yes, the room is small, but you are only sleeping there, not living there. The rooms that we had were clean, well kept and comfortable. They seemed to have new chairs around the pool, and the pool was clean. Yes, the room has a hair dryer, iron and ironing board, cable tv, and a refrigerator, and no it doesn't have a coffee maker in the room, but you can walk to the Dunkin Donuts if you want coffee. The bathroom was small, but clean, with plenty of towels and toiletries. The price for the nights we stayed was very reasonable for our budget. I saw the staff trying to help guests who had a problem, and they were very friendly to us when we checked in.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This motel structure is older and used to be a cheap place, so the rooms are small enough that the ratio of bed surface to open floor area is approaching 1 (pretty high). It's been repainted (white and cream), redecorated (harmonious earth tones, but a lot of synthetics, except for the sheets which are gloriously clean and soft cotton), the bathroom tiles and paint have been inexpertly redone (yellow and white, but cracks running through some of the tiles and repairs with clear silicone caulking where the cream-colored grout had cracked), an older "heat lamp" fixture that doesn't work, and the windows have been replaced... with lift-out white hollow-metal-frame windows that require a great deal of jiggling and experimentation to get them to actually latch. Must mention that the shower enclosure could benefit from someone going over it with a grout brush once a month, as the cream-colored grout is gray and brown in the corners and along the seam inside the sill. Possibly, bleaching and then resealing the grout would help it resist mildew. The bathroom window does not latch securely enough to make one feel safe (it's all ground floor and the bathrooms face away from the common area). No screens, either. But the doors are pretty -- hunter green with an oval number plaque that has a little spray of flowers painted by the numbers -- someone is artistic but budget-conscious. The hutch that fits over the refrigerator is too big to fit into the available wall space, so it looms out a bit, exposing the particle board (but clean and new) nature of the "dark wood" furniture motif.

The pool's chain-link fence is padlocked at night (eww). The management has posted "quiet hours" and a number of rules that seem to imply that they expect their guests to be capable of all sorts of antisocial behavior... or else they are used to posted rules and feel properly proprietary by posting them... or a little of both. Reminds me of a rather nice restaurant in the Caribbean where, when I visited the lovely-looking restroom (lots of marble, golden lighting, space and cleanliness), someone had posted a sign saying "Management requests that ladies refrain from washing their feet or clothing in the sinks." ...???!!! But I digress...

The weirdest thing for me is the presence of a refrigerator, iron and hairdryer but a complete lack of any way to make coffee or tea in the room -- and bendy plastic water cups, not even ceramic mugs so that we can heat water in the communal microwave at the vending area. The man who checked us in (door labeled "office:" the desk separates the back of the space from the rest of the space, which is L-shaped but fairly small) seemed to have come from dinner with the family in an apartment behind the desk. He explained that no, there were no coffeemakers available for rooms, and that even if I purchased one and left it for people to "check out" in future, he would not make it available because "there is a coffee and tea maker in the lobby."

Well, when the machine is working, there is coffee in the room containing the office-desk, but "today the machine is broken." Also, the coffee/tea maker (indeed, the small L-shaped room) is only accessible until 11 pm, so if you are working late and need caffeine, best stock up before 9 pm (there's a friendly Starbucks about 1 block north of the hotel along Hwy 35, in a rather new upscale strip mall with a Victoria's Secret, Williams-Sonoma and an Ann Taylor).

So, if you will staying for a few days, go before 9 pm (when everything but bars/restaurants closes), buy coffee, condiments, and a Melitta coffee cone (about $3) and #2 filters (about $2) from the supermarket at the intersection of Sea Girt Ave and Hwy 35, then buy a microwave-safe mug or cup (or you can get all this in one stop if you drive north on Hwy 35 for 9 minutes to the Dollar Tree right next to the Super K-Mart). From then on, to heat your water, use the microwave in the "vending room" just west of the chain-link-fenced swimming pool.

There is also a Dunkin Donuts in the same strip mall as the supermarket, but it was closed when I visited the supermarket; guessing it's a "morning place." Come to think of it, there's a liquor store and a Chinese-Japanese restaurant in that same strip mall. The vending room contains the ice machine, a commercial-grade microwave oven, and ... a soda machine. There is nothing available that you'd actually put into a microwave, so it's just there for the convenience of the guests, presumably driven there by a need for soup or caffeine at 2 a.m. (and blessed with the foresight to bring along the necessary supplies including the cup/dish).

Given all the quirks, their rack rate is rather high ("dinner for six" prices) for two-person occupancy of a room with two queen beds. The strange disconnect in amenities may be one reason that rooms can actually be obtained for about "nice dinner for two" prices online.

Speaking of dinner, we ate at Rod's Olde Irish Tavern on Sea Girt Ave, which is really quite pretty and a locals' favorite, and wow, they have excellent fresh seafood and stunning steaks, and full-menu Italian as well as "Irish pub" food. There are several good restaurants even nearer, including a Thai place right across the street from the Starbucks. And it's two miles to public beach access -- at the ocean end of Trenton Blvd is where the Sea Girt boardwalk begins, heading northward, and open beach heading southward. Stay right when you cross the tracks to stay on Sea Girt Ave., then L onto Trenton and follow to the beach. Bring shade. Amenities are northward along the boardwalk. Enjoy Sea Girt, a lovely little gem of the Jersey shore!

Room Tip: There is A/C, seems like central air. Children must be accompanied by a responsible adult to use the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catamariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I had business in Spring Lake, NJ, and stayed at the Sea Girt, which was ten minutes from my business meetings (and the beach). I was pleasantly surprised when entering my room. Everything was perfectly clean. My bed was very acceptable with a semi-firm mattress. This was a clean, safe, and basic accommodation, which I would recommend to any fellow traveler Despite its obvious age, the ownership takes great pride in the maintenance of this hotel, which is also in a safe location, with lots of nice shopping and restaurants within half a mile in either direction. I would not recommend this hotel for children. The cable had limited channels. My wifi worked fine. No problems. Excellent value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnLima_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sea Girt
1.9 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
4.1 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#6 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
1.5 mi away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#5 of 6 in Spring Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
6.5 mi away
Courtyard Wall at Monmouth Shores Corporate Park
6.6 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#2 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Girt Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Girt Lodge

Property: Sea Girt Lodge
Address: 2168 Highway 35, Sea Girt, NJ 08750-1004
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Sea Girt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sea Girt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Girt Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each season of the year presents great opportunities to bring your family or business associates to our newly and comfortably decorated, centrally air-conditioned and heated motel. Enjoy the beautiful beaches of Sea Girt, Spring Lake and Manasquan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Sea Girt Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Girt Hotel Sea Girt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing