We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Irish Bar with suprisingly good food”

O'Donnell's Pour House
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$29
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: In 1999 the Ocean Drive proudly opened O'Donnell's Pour House right next door. As Sea Isle City's only Irish Pub, their focus is on an upscale casual dining experience, quality beverage and a pub like atmosphere where you can go to enjoy some live acoustic music, grab a perfect pint of Guinness and a booth for some conversation with your friends.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Irish Bar with suprisingly good food”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Tried O'Donnell's with a large group of adults. We enjoy good food more then bar food, so we ordered many of the special appetizers offered and special dinners and well as from off the regular menu.
One of our more particular palettes ordered the Chilean Sea Bass entree, locally caught with fresh vegetables. I huge success. The Bruchetta appetizer was also a hit as was the crab soup and catfish entree. The crab cakes were overcooked or I should say burnt on the outside and not that flavorful ( only setback out of 9 dinners) . The chicken marsala special was excellent and very juicy not dried out as most places serve down the shore. Overall I would give it 4 out of 5 stars for food.

The beers on tap were okay however we were expecting a few more craft beers to the selection. If they added a few great local beers from New England, PA and NY ( Long Trail, Weyerbacher, Brooklyn Brewery, etc) Overall on the scale of restaurants in Sea Isle City, I would say it is a 4 star establishment definitely worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank celebrateliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    30
    14
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Wow”
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

Truly an amazing meal. A menu that has a unique variety of food and flavors. Pub atmosphere with a family twist, but a great place to have a bear too. Thanks, we'll be back!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andre G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Isle City, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Always a great meal!”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

As a local, can attest to the consistent quality of the food and drink. I can honestly say that I have never had a bad meal here. The Chef is very creative and always comes up with interesting specials. Good selection of Irish whiskies. Friendly atmosphere, great wait staff. Can be a little noisy at times. Very nice outside bar with al fresco dining as well.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kdeely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, good times”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We popped into O'Donnell's Pour House at the beginning of our two week vacation in Sea Isle Coty for a cold beer. We were immediately unpressed upon opening the door. A nice wood and brasss interior was waiting or us, with flags of all the Counties of Ireland. The bartenders were very friendly and the beer nice and cold. We promised to be back...in fact we ended up going back several times. Our second visit we tried the food. We weren't expecting much, nothing more than pub fare BUT let me tell you how great the food is. Everyday they have specials along with an Irish meal of the day. We had several, salmon, chicken bruschetta, tilapia, sausage and penne and chicken quesadillas too! Everything was GREAT! We dined at the bar, we dined in the courtyard and both were great. I failed to mention that i have food allergies and that the wait staff was very attentive to my special needs! If you visit Sea Isle I highly recommend O'Donnell's for dinner and a cold drink.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MadisoniteFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Went Saturday got a reservation easily . Specials were good for restaurant week our great waiter read the specials and explained them with knowledge and enthusiasm. Had the tilefish with olive tapenade and it was delicious. I judge on cod beere as is have been disappointed before, the beere are served ice cold yeah.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank browneyedgirl93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed O'Donnell's Pour House also viewed

Sea Isle City, Cape May County
Sea Isle City, Cape May County
 
Sea Isle City, Cape May County
Sea Isle City, Cape May County
 
Sea Isle City, Cape May County
Sea Isle City, Cape May County
 

Been to O'Donnell's Pour House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing